Is Apple Even TRYING?? - Airpods 2 Review

Share
Embed
  • Published on Apr 17, 2019
  • Get yourself a Dbrand skin at dbrand.com/LinusDropTips
    Use code LTT and save 20% until April 30th on Game and Web hosting at pebblehost.com/ltt
    Apple released the second-gen Airpods with little fanfare - so are the new Airpods secretly great, or just another overpriced gadget for Apple fanboys?
    Buy the new Airpods:
    On Amazon: geni.us/JiW2ios
    On Newegg: geni.us/9Mn6
    Discuss on the forum: linustechtips.com/main/topic/1055647-is-apple-even-trying-%E2%80%93-airpods-2-review/
    Our Affiliates, Referral Programs, and Sponsors: linustechtips.com/main/topic/75969-linus-tech-tips-affiliates-referral-programs-and-sponsors
    Get Private Internet Access today at geni.us/7lLuafK
    Displate metal posters: lmg.gg/displateltt
    Linus Tech Tips merchandise at www.LTTStore.com/
    Linus Tech Tips posters at crowdmade.com/linustechtips
    Our Test Benches on Amazon: www.amazon.com/shop/linustechtips
    Our production gear: geni.us/cvOS
    Twitter - twitter.com/linustech
    Facebook - facebook.com/LinusTech
    Instagram - instagram.com/linustech
    Twitch - www.twitch.tv/linustech
    Intro Screen Music Credit:
    Title: Laszlo - Supernova
    Video Link: ru-clip.net/video/PKfxmFU3lWY/video.html
    iTunes Download Link: itunes.apple.com/us/album/supernova/id936805712
    Artist Link: soundcloud.com/laszlomusic
    Outro Screen Music Credit: Approaching Nirvana - Sugar High ru-clip.net/user/approachingnirvana
  • Science & TechnologyScience & Technology

Comments • 5 428

  • shadfurman
    shadfurman 8 hours ago

    My $6 monoprice headphones got something crossed and they'll randomly turn clear up or clear down, or back and forth.
    I sleep with them in, I can say this is not a happy way to be woke up.
    I thought for sure my phone had a virus or something, but I swapped them out for an old pair (with only one working headphone) and the problem went away.
    They don't even have a volume control, my best guess is there is a flake of metal crossing the pins somewhere or something. I think that's how volume controls on headphones usually work.

  • Darthmufin
    Darthmufin 13 hours ago

    Ah yes two tiny things not attached to a string or anything so you have two things to lose instead of one. Great idea.

  • i stole your memes
    i stole your memes 19 hours ago +1

    Androids are for poor lol

  • kmd subs
    kmd subs Day ago

    I would lose those things in less than a week.

  • Zane Hackim
    Zane Hackim Day ago

    Bruh my Powerbeats 2 have 12 hour battery life

  • InfiniteSauce
    InfiniteSauce Day ago +1

    Yeaah... Airpods 2 just mean Airpods 1 will get cheaper, which means I'll just get the Airpods 1...

  • flanery
    flanery Day ago

    5:13 "Cheap" ^^

  • Pandu Monium
    Pandu Monium 2 days ago +1

    Yep. I'm one of those people that ISN'T symmetrical. I'm getting Galaxy Buds.

  • アニメカワイ
    アニメカワイ 2 days ago

    If it doesn’t fit your ear, tough luck

  • Wombat
    Wombat 2 days ago

    Your ears look dumb..

  • WillieBaw
    WillieBaw 2 days ago

    Love that click bait thumbnail ecks dee

  • Zachary Miles
    Zachary Miles 2 days ago

    First true wireless earbuds* instantly* NO

  • Gregory Mountain
    Gregory Mountain 2 days ago

    does anyone know what song the intro music around 1:20 is?

  • ZenX100
    ZenX100 2 days ago

    It's just a smaller Bluetooth buds, that thing the cbi uses

  • S 6 V 9 N
    S 6 V 9 N 3 days ago

    I put my earbuds in backwards.

  • Yusuf Aslanyurek
    Yusuf Aslanyurek 3 days ago

    almost everyone losing one of them. they don't fit the ear perfectly and that's why there is 0 noise cancelation, not even supression. I'll get sennheiser momentium wireless which costs a bit more but sound quality, ergonomy and noise canceling is just perfect.

  • SSG TempeRz
    SSG TempeRz 3 days ago

    well apple tends to recycle and reuse the same design for years until competitors design something better that blows them out the water

  • Mig 28
    Mig 28 3 days ago

    New Airpods?
    OMG! I knew it! Apple and Nintendo are one and the same!
    They both sell overpriced products!
    And they both hate giving their customers freedom!

  • Casey
    Casey 3 days ago

    The innovation died with Steve Jobs. He was the innovator/inventor. Apple is merely the updaters now.

    • Mig 28
      Mig 28 3 days ago

      People need to stop worshipping other people!
      Steve Jobs was the man with the money, not the man in the lab!
      All phones have technology that had thousands of inventions made by many, many, many people. And not one of them was named Stevey Joby!

  • Threelly AI
    Threelly AI 3 days ago

    Extraterrestrial Composition 👽 🎶
    chrome.google.com/webstore/detail/threelly-ai-for-youtube/dfohlnjmjiipcppekkbhbabjbnikkibo

  • MagikGimp
    MagikGimp 3 days ago

    *BUY THEM YOU FUCKS*

  • Shawayne Stewart
    Shawayne Stewart 4 days ago

    0:41 💀

  • Ultra Gaming
    Ultra Gaming 4 days ago +1

    * People expecting the airpods 2 to look different than the first *
    * Apple makes the airpods 2 look like the first *
    AND THAT'S A VICTORY ROYALE
    * Steve Jobs Fortnite dancing in he's grave *

    • Morgan Freeman
      Morgan Freeman 4 days ago +1

      Ultra Gaming Wow you are extremely not funny

  • Thelonius
    Thelonius 4 days ago

    None of Apple's earphones have ever stayed in my ears. I need the silicon capped in ear buds.

  • lovil likes chicken invaders two

    my ears are too small


    smash like video smash dislike comment

  • Heejun Suh
    Heejun Suh 5 days ago +1

    airpods are ugly
    it looked like the bottom part of it is meling down

    • Brady Higgins
      Brady Higgins 3 days ago

      Heejun Suh galaxy buds are ugly
      They look like apple users shit them out

  • Ross Dew
    Ross Dew 5 days ago

    think of it as an s upgrade numpty not a number upgrade

  • Crystal Writter
    Crystal Writter 5 days ago

    Who said they were?

  • Ethan Crowley
    Ethan Crowley 5 days ago

    Yeah, apple sucks. Such a Control crazy, money hog company that likes to steal and sue customers if they want to have a third party person fix their phone for $50 and not apples $1300. I hate you Apple.

  • Spooks
    Spooks 5 days ago

    I just got a pair a week ago and used them twice until I was forced to one man it due to my left AirPod mysteriously losing its ability to charge
    and honestly AirPods aren't worth the crippling anxiety that comes with wearing them, just thinking about the fact that I spent enough money to buy two pairs of shoes on one floating earbud... I'm going to starve to death when I go to college, if I even make it.

    • Mig 28
      Mig 28 3 days ago

      College?


      What is that?

  • Hamel
    Hamel 5 days ago

    Just grow up and get a set of Jabras lmao

  • homer1075
    homer1075 5 days ago

    at the end of the day, airpods still look dumb.

  • Shabbernigdo Xingjian

    I cant imagine having a set of ear buds not connected by a cable. I mean i lose the ones with a 4 foot cable fairly often. there is no way in hell ide be able to keep these things from being lost for more then a few days at best.

  • kztar621
    kztar621 5 days ago

    Did you know that you can get a wide range of sound-cancelling wireless headphones with better build and sound quality for a fraction of the price of these pieces of shit?

    Why do people even buy this crap?

  • Callum Balodis
    Callum Balodis 5 days ago

    What’s with the earrings?

  • Sylvi Wolff
    Sylvi Wolff 6 days ago +1

    Watching this on my Galaxy S10 with my Galaxy buds 🤷‍♀️

    • Josh Draws
      Josh Draws 2 days ago

      You have airpods in your profile pic though...

  • Aryaman Urs
    Aryaman Urs 6 days ago

    This is how dumb Siri is..At 6:05 when the guy says Hey Siri..Siri was actually fricking triggered on my phone..lyk wtf

  • Ticijan Negovan
    Ticijan Negovan 6 days ago

    dip em in gold xD

  • MAGNETIC
    MAGNETIC 6 days ago

    I'ma stick with Samsung

  • Jughead Is Hot AF
    Jughead Is Hot AF 6 days ago

    Were paying less for more we get wires AND earbuds AND get our phone saved 8D beat that A I R P O D S

  • Erdi Roblox & More!
    Erdi Roblox & More! 6 days ago

    Android is life

  • Chrypto
    Chrypto 7 days ago

    >wireless charging

  • EMB Veno
    EMB Veno 7 days ago

    4:42 how james charles cries, but this is better

  • D T
    D T 7 days ago +4

    Good ole apple lol. Releases the same thing and just places a different number at the end 😂

  • AlexDabestgamer 131
    AlexDabestgamer 131 7 days ago

    Im sorry i own an s10+ if only i had money to BUY AN I PHONE 😂

  • Zac Quitzau
    Zac Quitzau 7 days ago

    My airpods constantly disconnect and the microphones stopped working.
    Cant wait to save for something else.
    Fuck apple.

  • Joel Caputo
    Joel Caputo 7 days ago

    I have a dbrand skin for my phone. I highly reccomend it.

  • Jesse Landreth
    Jesse Landreth 8 days ago

    Ok I'm not at apple user and have never touched airpods before but how on earth are these such a big thing?! They look so uncomfortable, little to no seal, cheap electronics and drivers for terrible sound quality, ugly as heck and the price.... How?

  • MrXometalox
    MrXometalox 8 days ago

    yeah but what about the fact that you look like a total idiot while wearing them? (also, its usually a teenager who didn't pay for them with their own money using them, never seen an actual adult wear them.)

  • vincent fong
    vincent fong 8 days ago

    After my iPhone 4 and iPad mini and macbook pro and apple tv , I had No desire to buy any apple product anymore. Instead , I can constantly buy new android phones and Bluetooth headset and laptops .

  • James Smith
    James Smith 8 days ago

    Hahaha how am I gonna show everybody how loaded I am? Hahaha

  • Brett Clift
    Brett Clift 8 days ago

    I work in a retail store and the often get incorrectly stocked because they are impossible to tell apart.

  • if_flyer 2017
    if_flyer 2017 8 days ago

    4:00 I saw a kid drop his friends AirPods, his friend just brushed it off, and the kid just payed him $100

  • Thaddeus Lehman
    Thaddeus Lehman 8 days ago

    Apple is for losers now anyway

  • John Kilpatrick
    John Kilpatrick 8 days ago

    So what is the “cover” on the AirPods case?

  • Jace Vo
    Jace Vo 8 days ago

    Powerbeats pro

  • Anton Zinn
    Anton Zinn 8 days ago

    You habe a lot of ears.

  • yolo mein
    yolo mein 8 days ago +2

    Apple releases slightly improved earbuds which people were satisfied with
    Linus: is Apple even trying!
    Samsung releases a phone who’s main folding feature breaks itself
    Linus: looks the other way

  • Eli29
    Eli29 9 days ago

    was that a minecraft ad? XD

  • Fx4ever02
    Fx4ever02 9 days ago

    Try the Bose free soundsports! Thank me later🔥🔥.

  • Bubbaboo27
    Bubbaboo27 9 days ago +12

    I’ll just stick with my TidePods

  • koji kabuto
    koji kabuto 9 days ago

    06:07 Hey asshole, Siri is just 5 years old. LOL

  • studivan
    studivan 9 days ago

    AirPods II are the headphones they promised with a charging case a year ago, they were waiting to release them with the Airpower, but since there is no Airpower they just released them, as I remember Apple never released them stating the were better AirPods they just released them without any fanfare, So any wild expectations were solely in the media's mind.

  • Sam Medimusic
    Sam Medimusic 9 days ago +2

    so good you really again point out of arrogate Apple is

  • Falenir
    Falenir 9 days ago

    "Something about mary" Ben Stiller... cum on ear scene. Yup... that's what you look like with these in... like you have a wad of jizz on your ear. Nice.

  • CrotaSon OfOryx
    CrotaSon OfOryx 9 days ago

    Am I the only one who thinks that they sound shitty?

  • LOSERS R DUMB
    LOSERS R DUMB 10 days ago

    Excuse me my phone is an s9+ we are not poor ok our phones cost more then chicken stupid Apple phones but I do have airpods:) cause I like airpods more then galaxy buds

    • VLight
      VLight 8 days ago

      You're in the exact same position that I'm in. I have AirPods, with an S9+, because I got AirPods when I still had an iPhone. AirPods are truly amazing, and the main reason I love them so much, is that I can have them in for a long time, without them hurting my ears. Once my AirPods reach the end of its life span, I'll probably get some Jaybirds, since I have no intention of using an iPhone ever again.

  • 300DBenz
    300DBenz 10 days ago

    The more “advanced” Apple music devices get, the more determined I am to keep using my “obsolete” iPod Classic.
    Headphone jack (FTW!)
    Plays lossless, high quality audio. (160gb of it)
    Plays music without internet connection.
    Only one battery to charge.

  • Lazar Games
    Lazar Games 10 days ago

    We all know galaxy buds are better

  • Neo Theone
    Neo Theone 10 days ago +1

    Why is this host too angry !! Chillax its just headphones...

  • the9file
    the9file 10 days ago

    05:24 I would rather my iDevices NOT be completely conspicuous.

  • Peter Monev
    Peter Monev 10 days ago

    You should make a video on the new generation galaxy buds

  • Jackston
    Jackston 10 days ago

    i prefer my 3 year old crappy headphones

  • D Collop
    D Collop 10 days ago +1

    Airpod users: I have a few issues
    Apple: meh, here's an upgrade. It's exactly the same

  • Easy_E420
    Easy_E420 10 days ago

    put a little flex seal and they fit perfectly

  • OmegaGamingNetwork
    OmegaGamingNetwork 10 days ago +2

    Yep, I'll stick with my far superior audio quality wired headphones and continue laughing at the suckers buying overpriced crap likes these and beats.

    • OmegaGamingNetwork
      OmegaGamingNetwork 8 days ago +1

      +A random Human being You would be wrong. I've tried them, they are over priced shit. This actually isn't even a debatable thing unless you are an idiot. Bluetooth audio is empirically worse in quality due to compression than the wired equivalent.

    • A random Human being
      A random Human being 8 days ago

      OmegaGamingNetwork you Wouldn’t say that if you tried them.

  • Gary Morrison
    Gary Morrison 11 days ago

    Yeah, the Ear Pods fit my ears only so-so, and it’s wise of you to point out that that greatly affects the resulting audio quality!

  • BeamingBetelgeuse XD
    BeamingBetelgeuse XD 11 days ago +1

    7:39 Canadians eh?

  • MySSDRocks
    MySSDRocks 11 days ago

    Is it just me, or are Apple headphones made for people with giant inner ears ? not sure who they modelled them on, Hodor ?...

  • Shaun Johnson
    Shaun Johnson 11 days ago

    Go for the copies. i60 tws. Perfect copy of the new AirPods 2. Wireless charging and work with Siri as well! Sound quality the same as the AirPods! Apple are a con!

    • Shaun Johnson
      Shaun Johnson 6 days ago

      Tr3vor far from it. lol! I just won’t be mugged off buying these.

    • Tr3vor
      Tr3vor 7 days ago

      Shaun Johnson I smell broke

  • JozzyOzzy
    JozzyOzzy 11 days ago

    Did anyone think this was a Ryan Traharn video from the thumbnail

  • Tankertimers 06
    Tankertimers 06 11 days ago

    why is he always so negative

  • cruxer666
    cruxer666 11 days ago

    got galaxy buds for free with my S10+, I am so poor and uneducated...

  • Lily
    Lily 11 days ago +1

    They're still the most popular earbuds on the market because everyone loses them...

  • Bin al-Flecki
    Bin al-Flecki 11 days ago

    Love when this guy rips into Apple.

  • thewindow6
    thewindow6 11 days ago

    Why would they update the airpods without doing something about the sound quality? Other headphones at their price point outshine them tenfold here

  • DerpEye
    DerpEye 11 days ago +8

    Air pods are the most popular wireless earbuds, because Android users don't need wireless earbuds, mostly. And the audio jackless Android smartphones don't actually sell so well, you don't see them much around.

  • YellowSkinz
    YellowSkinz 11 days ago

    Awesome review 👍

  • Elmer Gloo
    Elmer Gloo 11 days ago

    I wanted Bluetooth earbuds until I found the EarStudio DAC/Amp on Amazon. Better sound quality through my wired earphones. I just clip the EarStudio to my collar on my shirt and zip tie my good earphones cable to be shorter. Not as convenient as completely wireless earbuds, but you can’t get better sound quality otherwise.

  • Zach Z
    Zach Z 12 days ago

    OnePlus Bullets Wireless >>>

  • onlym8s YT
    onlym8s YT 12 days ago +1

    I use galaxy buds why am I here

  • Shinigami Lee
    Shinigami Lee 12 days ago

    The same flush em down the toilet as they fall off your head when you least expected it technology.

  • Tywin Lannister
    Tywin Lannister 12 days ago

    Wah. My ears will hurt getting so much wireless radiation directly in to the ears. I’ll stick with wired ones.

  • TechCentral Unboxing
    TechCentral Unboxing 12 days ago

    I love the timing of the sponsor in every video

  • Vojta
    Vojta 12 days ago +2

    7:25 you have to sacrifice a sheep to summon a genius from the depths of hell and he will update it for you

  • Trenton Quant
    Trenton Quant 12 days ago

    Heard the Gen 3 ones come with those rubber plugs instead of how they currently fit in your ear. It’s apparently for a new noise cancel feature.

  • D3VILZ
    D3VILZ 12 days ago

    the only thing that matter for me is the sound quality so i'am gonna take those Galaxy Buds

  • N/A N/A
    N/A N/A 12 days ago

    Why does riley looks like cobie smulders in this video?

  • Riiftz
    Riiftz 12 days ago

    Apple was not one of the first companies to make Airpods. So many companies made them before Apple

  • King Mannar
    King Mannar 12 days ago

    you have to open and update