Give me ONE reason NOT to upgrade - Logitech G502 Lightspeed Review

Share
Embed
  • Published on May 20, 2019
  • Lower your phone bill at linus.ting.com and get $25 in Ting credit
    Get 15% off on your Cablemod order with offer code MAY15 at lmg.gg/cablemod
    The Logitech G502 is maybe the best, most popular gaming mouse ever, but that doesn’t mean there’s no room for improvement. The G502 Lightspeed is the new wireless version with the HERO sensor, but can it compete with the DeathAdder, Finalmouse, or even Logi’s own G Pro Wireless?
    Buy Logitech G502 Lightspeed:
    On Amazon: geni.us/fntx
    On Newegg: geni.us/nvRXSiG
    Discuss on the forum: linustechtips.com/main/topic/1065532-give-me-one-reason-not-to-upgrade-logitech-g502-lightspeed-review/
    Our Affiliates, Referral Programs, and Sponsors: linustechtips.com/main/topic/75969-linus-tech-tips-affiliates-referral-programs-and-sponsors
    Get Private Internet Access today at geni.us/7lLuafK
    Displate metal posters: lmg.gg/displateltt
    Linus Tech Tips merchandise at www.LTTStore.com/
    Linus Tech Tips posters at crowdmade.com/linustechtips
    Our Test Benches on Amazon: www.amazon.com/shop/linustechtips
    Our production gear: geni.us/cvOS
    Twitter - twitter.com/linustech
    Facebook - facebook.com/LinusTech
    Instagram - instagram.com/linustech
    Twitch - www.twitch.tv/linustech
    Intro Screen Music Credit:
    Title: Laszlo - Supernova
    Video Link: ru-clip.net/video/PKfxmFU3lWY/video.html
    iTunes Download Link: itunes.apple.com/us/album/supernova/id936805712
    Artist Link: soundcloud.com/laszlomusic
    Outro Screen Music Credit: Approaching Nirvana - Sugar High ru-clip.net/user/approachingnirvana
  • Science & TechnologyScience & Technology

Comments • 4 070

  • Linus Tech Tips
    Linus Tech Tips  2 months ago +210

    Lower your phone bill at linus.ting.com and get $25 in Ting credit

    Get 15% off on your Cablemod order with offer code MAY15 at lmg.gg/cablemod

    • Sada Yukinaga
      Sada Yukinaga Month ago

      Screw off Linus I LOVE MY HYPER FAST SCROLL*spins the scroll wheel*

    • Tzuede Off the Cuff
      Tzuede Off the Cuff Month ago +1

      @P.I Pross Power on button? Bios enabled like Wake on Lan, And you can pair with it with external connection. All you need to do is sniff the traffic with airsnort and TX Wake on Button.

    • Tzuede Off the Cuff
      Tzuede Off the Cuff Month ago

      @Sc0ttishGamer88 AirSnort-NG and BTSnort will make short work of your setup. You can even run it from a phone.

    • Pangaea Menslijk
      Pangaea Menslijk Month ago

      Mint Mobile is a much better value than Ting honestly. With Mint, you can get unlimited talk/text with 2GB high speed data for $15/month.

    • brutalhonesty07
      brutalhonesty07 Month ago

      Mukul Manghani no, it has proteins in it which will burn and ruin your tech.

  • Nolan Young
    Nolan Young 6 hours ago

    Lol look at his monitor at 1:20 it’s still connected

  • Hazbi Selmani
    Hazbi Selmani 7 hours ago

    $150

  • Philippe van Zuylen
    Philippe van Zuylen 19 hours ago

    Wireless bungee jumping off the desk is always more painful than wired. One reason.

  • Livingston Yoon
    Livingston Yoon 20 hours ago +1

    Linus: NO reason Not to upgrade

    Me: i have asian parents.......(*tells them the price*)

    Asian parents: MOUSE?! u already have the free mouse from the local samsung store!
    150$!!!!! thats our weekly fee!!!!!

  • 飛騨zip / hidazip

    The only reason not to upgrade is the G HUB.

  • Scott Elliott
    Scott Elliott Day ago

    After a few years your expensive mouse develops double click problems just like a cheap one. (G903 experience)

  • Sebastian Samchez
    Sebastian Samchez 2 days ago

    Wired is better, so I don’t have to worry about my battery when I’m gaming

  • Atari5732
    Atari5732 2 days ago +2

    This mouse was well worth it for the 34.99 I paid for it on Amazon due to a listing error by Amazon.

    • Azmah852
      Azmah852 22 hours ago

      @Atari5732 You posted the one for the wired version. $35 is definitely a good deal but it's probably cut in price now that the wireless version is out. I got mine for $45 a couple years ago from Best Buy.

    • Alex
      Alex Day ago

      Atari5732 Looks like they fixed it now.

    • Atari5732
      Atari5732 2 days ago

      @Azmah852 I am shocked it's still incorrectly listed. Even the specs PDF is wrong. www.amazon.com/gp/product/B019OB663A/ref=ppx_yo_dt_b_asin_title_o01_s00?ie=UTF8&psc=1

  • WeDuBuS
    WeDuBuS 2 days ago +2

    Did anyone else watch the curser in the background move to

  • Angel H
    Angel H 3 days ago +2

    I just bought the Logitech G502 wired mouse from amazon for $32.99 with free shipping during their limited time sale. I love it. It's a really a great mouse for under $35.

  • aqynbc
    aqynbc 3 days ago

    Love Linus's channel...give you exactly what you should expect if you buy so and so. Brilliant.

  • Jordan Piette
    Jordan Piette 3 days ago +2

    That wallpaper doe 1:47 how can I get that

  • Nano Tox
    Nano Tox 4 days ago +1

    Just noting that the g502 wireless does not have a usb c connector. That's one reason not to upgrade

  • Hydrax
    Hydrax 5 days ago

    It’s insanely heavy

  • Nawras EpicDuel
    Nawras EpicDuel 5 days ago

    If I find the G502 hero (new) for $57 instead of 79.99 does it mean its fake?! (On Amazon).

    • CreativeUserNme
      CreativeUserNme 3 days ago

      Nawras EpicDuel the g502 hero is only $50. The g502 with lightspeed is $150. It’s the exact same mouse, one of them is just wireless.

  • Daniel He
    Daniel He 6 days ago +2

    Logitech should pay you for the advertisement, I only bought the mouse because of you guys.

  • Vice
    Vice 6 days ago

    i cut off my braided cable

  • Minatozaki Sana
    Minatozaki Sana 7 days ago

    2:56 My boi Beaulo is on the list yay

  • iiGonZo
    iiGonZo 8 days ago

    maybe for around $100, but for $150 gtfo

    • iiGonZo
      iiGonZo 7 days ago

      Daniel H. Damn... for 40 i would 100% get it. I have the wired hero version

    • Daniel H.
      Daniel H. 7 days ago

      I can get it for 40 and I am still wondering if I should ...

  • Hayden Roles
    Hayden Roles 8 days ago

    It's a hundred and fifty fucking dollars.

  • Zalgradis
    Zalgradis 8 days ago

    playing mmo you only want Razer naga

  • Grzegorz Tymul
    Grzegorz Tymul 8 days ago

    Every internal skeleton is endoskeleton. :)

  • cornenothome
    cornenothome 9 days ago

    When in the gaming industry will they get it? These 'flat' or horizontal mouses make the 2 bones in your lower arm crossed and all the ligaments with them. Which in gaming result in a lot of times, repetitive movement and with everything crossed little irritations happen. Irritations that become bigger over time and can result in serious rsi injuries. Just saying. Buy a vertical mouse whenever you use a mouse above average. Been CAD drafting/ 3D editing etc. and gaming a lot, so I am not promoting for other products here. Cheers!

  • DogeThis101
    DogeThis101 10 days ago

    Me: i use the logitech g502 and respect everyone else’s opinion :)
    Everyone: OMG.
    WhY wOuLd You uSe ThAt MouSe ItS wAy ToOoOoOoOo hEaAaVvVvVvyYyYyYyyY
    Me: ...

  • Exophis
    Exophis 10 days ago

    I'm still happily using my wired g403 I don't see myself upgrading any time soon

  • The Emo Emu
    The Emo Emu 11 days ago

    Any worthwhile options for a leftie? This mouse looks like horrible ergonomics for me.

    • Phalmoose
      Phalmoose 9 days ago

      The Emo Emu G903. Love it. I’m a lefty but use it in my right hand. The buttons can be removed and put to a lefty’s preference.

  • xZatera
    xZatera 11 days ago

    i onow im late but. Heres a reason why not to buy it: ITS DANG EXPENSIVE

  • Daja_Blue
    Daja_Blue 12 days ago

    Dont get me started ok I'm started dady one reason well first thing you dont have to change batteries so you wont disconnect during gaming, I prefer a wire to use a noose to end it all, I also enjoy the fact that gamers are sexy and hot because that has something to do with this conversation so my conclusion is anal

  • TheLoongsiu
    TheLoongsiu 13 days ago +1

    i personaly prefer heavy mouse, it feels more premium and less cheap plastic.

  • yamete kudasai
    yamete kudasai 13 days ago

    i actually dont notice the cable so wireless is just more expensive less performance for me..

    if i want to watch movies and something from far away i have cheap wireless that is always connected

  • Vail
    Vail 13 days ago

    You usually have to use a heavier mouse for FPS games so this is perfect for me

  • Hyperion
    Hyperion 14 days ago

    I prefer the G Pro wireless. It‘s lighter and cheaper, has low input lag, too and has a good shape for a lot of people. I think for fps gaming it‘s the better choise

  • Tazius
    Tazius 14 days ago

    G-Hub, that's the reason.

  • le disappointed frogue

    Imagine paying 150€ for a fucking GaMiNg MiCe

  • Marcel Scherzer
    Marcel Scherzer 15 days ago

    just replaced my apple mouse with a g502 wired mouse primarily because wireless mouses tend to run flat exactly when you need them most. Same reason I dislike the wireless headphone trend.

  • Ali Al Iraqi
    Ali Al Iraqi 16 days ago

    Best mouse

  • Marteeh
    Marteeh 16 days ago

    Cool features and material quality but its way too bulky and bad shell for a medium hand, fingertip grip

  • Minxx
    Minxx 17 days ago

    I’m using the hero and not changing

  • Luigifan64
    Luigifan64 17 days ago

    Because all this mouse has is being wireless but it’s $100 more than a wired one (I bought the wired version for $50 on sale). Even if it wasn’t on sale it’d still be far cheaper. Maybe if it goes on sale for under $100 I’d buy it.

  • Gloopl Surpl
    Gloopl Surpl 17 days ago +2

    I would sell my g502 proteus spectrum if the wire wasn't f****d

  • Michael Harto
    Michael Harto 17 days ago

    naah, i still love my G602

  • Xd_Spotlight
    Xd_Spotlight 19 days ago +1

    Can you review razer deathadder elite?

  • Mark Cemodanovs
    Mark Cemodanovs 20 days ago +2

    Does the slippery scroll wheel still need to be modded with one from a G500, or have they fixed that?

    • The Minty
      The Minty 17 days ago +1

      They changed it to a rubberized wheel for this model. The wheel is lighter too. I decided to get it myself because the slippery wheel on the wired version is terrible.

  • MARIOMAKER 77777
    MARIOMAKER 77777 23 days ago +1

    Yeah..that price..ill stick to my SpeedLink Decus for now...

  • Kunaak
    Kunaak 24 days ago

    you almost had me sold, I have hated wireless mice in the past and stick to wired... but technology and time do improve, so I was about to give it a shot... then that price... nah, I'm good, haha. I was fine with wired mice yesterday, I will be fine tommorow. They need to rethink that price if they ever want me to get one of their new mice.

  • eric kruse
    eric kruse 25 days ago

    LOL, my Ting estimate based on my average usage was $123 per month. I'll stick with my prepaid unlimited $40 per month plan...thanks,

  • Luciano Martinez
    Luciano Martinez 25 days ago

    There's just one problem:
    It costs *$150!!!!!!*

  • Mr.SpaceLizard The Lizard

    u HAVE TO change the batteries

  • Aqua
    Aqua 26 days ago

    just backorder a glorious model o

  • THEOFFICIAL _JC
    THEOFFICIAL _JC 26 days ago

    1:20 why is the mouse on the monitor moving🤣

  • Blooby.
    Blooby. 26 days ago

    1:10 lol u can see the mouse moving on the screen in the background

  • Spepticle
    Spepticle 26 days ago +1

    alright looking for a new mouse and don't know what to pick
    what would you guys take
    rival 650 or g502 lightspeed

    • Dominik Palka
      Dominik Palka 22 days ago

      650, but that is because my last mouse was the logitech g600 and was not reliable

    • Saitama Sensei
      Saitama Sensei 24 days ago +1

      My personal choice is the G502 Lightspeed. Maybe that's also because I'm a bit biased to Logitech products.
      But all that aside, if you don't really need 11 programmable buttons on a mouse you should probably just buy the Rival 650.

  • LuPa
    LuPa 26 days ago

    Its not too heavy , i am a gamer myself and i got the wired one , i am lem in csgo and i can say that it isnt too heavy

  • LuPa
    LuPa 26 days ago

    Price

  • Bonald9056
    Bonald9056 27 days ago

    I just upgraded my G502 to a G903 because I wanted a wireless mouse, wishing I could get a wireless G502. Guess what was announced just after I recieved my new mouse...

  • N30 Verg
    N30 Verg 27 days ago

    Jokes on you I have a Razer Basilisk and unless i upgrade to a Razer Mamba im not going to logitech!!! (Also i have a Razer Blackwidow V2, Would love to get the Blackwidow Elite or the Huntsman Elite) #Razerforlife #Razer #ForGamersByGamers

  • DEDDED
    DEDDED 27 days ago

    I like heavy mice tho

  • just a random guy who likes stuff

    I can give you 149 reasons.
    If you wanna hear one, just gimme one dollar.

  • Famous3064
    Famous3064 27 days ago

    The only thing i dont like about my 502 is the sleeve that goes around the cord. When i didnt have my destop i would use it on my laptop and the damn sleeve came loose from being snaged especially when i traveled. I could try to cut it off with razor blade but im worried i will cut into cord. I perfer corded more because i would probably risk loosing the wireless usb when i would travel or just siting on my bed and it snag on something

  • ChrisJonesy_
    ChrisJonesy_ 27 days ago

    Fuck off I have had this mouse since 2014 goddddddddd.........its so olddd.....but literally no reason to update it at all

  • Andri Elefsen
    Andri Elefsen 27 days ago

    g502 is not really that good i gotr the g pro wireless and its way better but if you like heavy mouses its then good and if your handicap on the keybord get it

  • Siddhant Bhargava
    Siddhant Bhargava 27 days ago

    Yo review glorious model o

  • nanomyou5
    nanomyou5 28 days ago

    G502 Hero is down to $50USD/€ in most places. Lightspeed is 3x the price...

  • Joan Ngumeta
    Joan Ngumeta 28 days ago

    Your testing subjects are bad at CS:GO.

  • Ryan Nowka
    Ryan Nowka 28 days ago

    Plugging finalmouse as "offering cheap mice"

  • kosta1605
    kosta1605 28 days ago

    Im good with spending $40 on my G403. Lol

  • Airqn
    Airqn 28 days ago

    Glorious Model O

  • Aris
    Aris 29 days ago

    My Guy got beat tf up

  • Lunah ;-;
    Lunah ;-; 29 days ago

    I just don't like charging my mouse

  • Anxiety Nova
    Anxiety Nova Month ago

    great i just bought the wired one xD

  • Layarion
    Layarion Month ago

    i don't like the retarded placement of the sniper button on the g502.

  • ReznoV Vazileski
    ReznoV Vazileski Month ago

    Here's the thing, when you compare a 150$ mouse to an 80$ mouse, give me 1 reason to not buy a 150$ mouse that's performing way better than the 80$ mouse instead of being "indistinguishable". Truth is, wire never bothered me too much, empty batteries, latency, and weight do, although I prefer a bit heavier of a mouse in that regard. I use incredibly high sensitivities and a huge mousepad so I can basically make a triple 360 left to right and while I do that quickly I don't want my mouse to lose even a micrometer of contact with the pad. Light mouses go all over the place with how I play games which is probably better when you like to reposition your mouse a few thousand times a game but I just don't xD I put it on 1 spot on the pad and it's pretty much the same location on the pad for the same location on the screen every single time, I pick it up once I gotta find that comfortable spot all over again.

  • Bazrrrr
    Bazrrrr Month ago

    I'm still torn as to whether to part with the trusty old G9 for one of these G502s. The button layout for the G502 is the most appealing part of it. G9s are like gold dust now and its very easy to refurb which makes me even more reluctant to part with it! It's only a mouse but damn I cant decide just yet.

  • Jeremiah Wilkins
    Jeremiah Wilkins Month ago +1

    I have two wired 502's, and specifically wouldn't upgrade because of the price

  • Zach Mikkelson
    Zach Mikkelson Month ago

    I am waiting for my glorius model o it is 67 grams

  • The Erebos
    The Erebos Month ago

    Am I the only one who is more focused on cursor moving on screen behind Linus than on Linus himself? :D

  • 2ndLastJedi
    2ndLastJedi Month ago

    602 here ;)

  • Ƹ̵̡Ӝ̵̨̄Ʒ
    Ƹ̵̡Ӝ̵̨̄Ʒ Month ago

    I love my G502 Lightspeed and it sure is a bit heavy... but the G Pro has a big DISEASE of "double click" which makes me impossible to consider it...

    Got the G502 for 100€ day one... don't ask me why Amazon.it did such a nice discount !

  • tezy0193
    tezy0193 Month ago

    Meh, wire > wireless

  • Kyle
    Kyle Month ago +3

    I swear I feel like I'm the only gamer out there who likes a heavy mouse. I've never wanted to take any of the weights out of my G502, G9x or G5.

  • MasterS
    MasterS Month ago +8

    I'm disappointed, Linus.

    You missed on the opportunity to say "check out that ting."

    What a Madworld we're living in.

  • EdmonPlays
    EdmonPlays Month ago

    Was the only one staring at the mouse cursor moving around in the beginning?

  • Anym
    Anym Month ago

    I'd go for logitech if they just had that secondary function button that Roccat has.

  • Anym
    Anym Month ago

    1 thing to not check out cablemod, is that I don't pay over $100 for literally 3 coloured cables

  • Dimitris Kaplanis
    Dimitris Kaplanis Month ago

    This is the second video I see finalmouse being advertised, all the while they've had no stock since their launch.

  • P44LAI
    P44LAI Month ago

    I used g502 over 3 years and upgraded it to g903 and couldn't be happier, its much lighter and better overall

  • 2slick 4u
    2slick 4u Month ago

    whats the keyboard in the backround??

  • Cook66
    Cook66 Month ago +1

    I have a reason, though I doubt anyone will ever read this. I've been using the G502 Lightspeed for a few weeks now and while I may have been very unlucky (along with a ton of other people) this is the worst mouse I've ever had the displeasure of using. I've been using the G502 for years and recently retired it for a G900 wireless, but was unhappy with the design of it, bad side buttons, middle buttons and overall shape.

    So the G502 Lightspeed would have solved all those issues, but the left mouse button is broken. It automatically double clicks at random times and also stops holding it down at random times, so its like playing russian roulette when clicking things that do something different when double clicking, like playing games, browsing the steam library or anything like that. The issue seems to be getting worse and worse and I'm currently waiting for a form to return it for a refund as I simply can't be dealing with an issue like this.

    • Matthew Jolly
      Matthew Jolly Month ago

      Do you use the charging mouse pad as well? Someone posted on Amazon that was an issue with them causing it to double click. No idea how true that is, I'm currently deciding if I want to upgrade from my wired G502 to a wireless... all the issues are making me rethink it. Tbh I doubt the charging pad would cause the double click issue.

  • UteZ
    UteZ Month ago

    Yes. I'm getting one to play Life is Strange.

  • FLICKPASS
    FLICKPASS Month ago

    Actually I have Razer Deathadder Essential

  • shin1300
    shin1300 Month ago +1

    wish they would update g602, i had mine for years now.

  • Mike Kojoori
    Mike Kojoori Month ago

    Believe it or not. i'm still using the original MX revolution. I like it so much that I bought four at the time. I've worn out the buttons on two now. Unfortunately, Logitec no longer supports it so I'm running old software which has some issues. I was thinking about a true dedicated gaming mouse. My primary concern is button placement as i don't think I've experienced any delays, since I play mmorpgs. By the way what is the difference between the 903 and the 502? Is it just the ambidextrous feature?

  • Niraj Chauhan
    Niraj Chauhan Month ago

    Razer death elite vs Logitech g502 hero?? which one is better for fps?

  • Split PVP
    Split PVP Month ago

    It weighs more than my first car

  • lordis belingsly
    lordis belingsly Month ago

    7:28 - rough neck so go check the wrong abide, watch yo step go flex and get a hold on your side, swallow your pride, dont let yo hip be act, you dont wanna see my arm when my hip be at, with artemis from the start of this runnin the game, james wess tamin the wess so remember the name

  • Blade2021
    Blade2021 Month ago

    Anyone else get distracted by the mouse moving on the screen in the background? No? Ya me neither.

    • Shmojoe14
      Shmojoe14 Month ago +1

      halt2021 can’t unsee it thank you lol

  • 온수나와라
    온수나와라 Month ago

    뭐라고요?

  • dudetelles
    dudetelles Month ago

    1:11 the cursor

  • Viedra Lavinova
    Viedra Lavinova Month ago

    I bought the G502 Hero for my first gaming pc, and love it so much. Everything I could ever ask for from a mouse, and even more.