The Beginning of the End - Surface Pro X Review

Share
Embed
  • Published on Dec 9, 2019
  • Use code LINUS to get $6 off your first box at lmg.gg/comicgarage
    Check out NVIDIA GeForce RTX Powered ORIGIN PC's at bit.ly/2XhXMiL
    The Surface Pro X represents the best of what Windows 10 on Arm has to offer. Unfortunately, the best needs to get better.
    Buy Surface Pro X:
    On Amazon: geni.us/DjbV4jZ
    On Microsoft Store: geni.us/ysDAW
    Purchases made through some store links may provide some compensation to Linus Media Group.
    Discuss on the forum: linustechtips.com/main/topic/1132778-the-beginning-of-the-end-%E2%80%93-surface-pro-x-review/
    Our Affiliates, Referral Programs, and Sponsors: lmg.gg/sponsors
    Get a Displate Metal Print at lmg.gg/displateltt
    Get a 30-day free trial of Amazon Prime at lmg.gg/8KV1v
    Linus Tech Tips merchandise at www.LTTStore.com/
    Our Test Benches on Amazon: www.amazon.com/shop/linustechtips
    Our production gear: geni.us/cvOS
    Twitter - linustech
    Facebook - LinusTech
    Instagram - linustech
    Twitch - www.twitch.tv/linustech
    Intro Screen Music Credit:
    Title: Laszlo - Supernova
    Video Link: ru-clip.net/video/PKfxmFU3lWY/video.html
    iTunes Download Link: itunes.apple.com/us/album/supernova/id936805712
    Artist Link: soundcloud.com/laszlomusic
    Outro Screen Music Credit: Approaching Nirvana - Sugar High ru-clip.net/user/approachingnirvana
  • Science & TechnologyScience & Technology

Comments • 2 921

  • Dalton
    Dalton 19 hours ago

    So it would be great for running things that a Raspberry Pi on Linux could run since they're all ARM apps but without the headphone jack and with limited Windows 10 support that would suck.

  • ReachForTheSky
    ReachForTheSky 22 hours ago

    Remember when you would emulate Android on PC? Now mobile technology is able to emulate PC, what a time to be alive.

  • Gustav Sjöstedt

    So anyway that was a lie 1:42

  • Peter Rodriguez
    Peter Rodriguez Day ago

    Best review of this product. Thank you. Decision made.

  • Ray Navarre
    Ray Navarre 2 days ago

    It will be the beginning of the end of Microsoft Corporation.

  • Ray Navarre
    Ray Navarre 2 days ago

    Yes it can run solitaire smoothly.

  • Jason Hindle
    Jason Hindle 3 days ago

    ARM native apps are pretty much everything to these devices. I get the sense Apple will beat Microsoft to very workable ARM based laptops and desktops. They’ve done this twice already, becoming the masters of emulation, and just in time recompilation, in the process of doing this.

    • andy byard
      andy byard Day ago

      The SPX is already a workable solution (for some people, myself included) but I agree Apple will do the transition better, as you stated they have a track record of managing massive transitions and more importantly I think they have the patience to wait until it is ready for the mainstream user. Right now the SPX really should have a 'Buyer beware' sticker, an Apple device won't need that.

  • Jean Macdobea
    Jean Macdobea 3 days ago +1

    intel is moving for the better so IT WILL GO ON AS A POWERFUL-PROCESSOR and NOT go away !!..

  • R H
    R H 3 days ago

    Windows app’s ......nope, using it as a laptop......nope. Its just a windows (failed attempt) tablet

  • Michael Simmons
    Michael Simmons 3 days ago

    My surface Pro with core i5 is fanless.

  • JesusSavedJoshua
    JesusSavedJoshua 5 days ago

    When will someone get a clue and actually create a surface pro that is affordable for everyone and powerful at the same time?

  • svfutbol20
    svfutbol20 6 days ago

    I wanna grab all manufacturers by their collective shoulders and shake them, saying “WE DON’T CARE HOW THIN IT IS, WE WANT BATTERY LIFE AND PERFORMANCE YOU TWATS”

    • svfutbol20
      svfutbol20 Day ago

      andy byard Battery tech hasn’t advanced much at all, whereas power management from hardware has. There will always be the problem of having too small a battery or too large a device. If it feels perfect at first, it will only get worse as time goes on because of the natural degradation of lithium batteries. Then you have the problem of cooling in thin devices also. Personally I’d rather have a machine that is thicker and heavier, which will make it last longer.

    • andy byard
      andy byard Day ago

      I'm imagining at Toshiba T5300 sized laptop with an i7, multi day battery and biceps like popeye ;) Personally, enough battery to last a 'long' work day and performance that means I don't want to throw the device out of the window (Surface Go!) and thin enough to replace the notepad & pen from my bag and I'm a happy bunny.

  • Dawid van Straaten
    Dawid van Straaten 6 days ago

    An extremely thin and light triumph it seems... Is it a triumph a though? Power to performance ratio it is insanely costly. Can’t see who the audience for super stuttering machine from the “future” is.

  • G H
    G H 7 days ago

    I was thinking "Hmmm, not yet; maybe in the second or third gen"... and then lost me at no headphone jack. Honestly Microsoft, don't emulate Apple.

  • rolf johansen
    rolf johansen 7 days ago

    He did a better job than Linus!

  • KAI
    KAI 7 days ago

    How to make something expensive:
    *add a X to it*

  • Ilman Ahmad
    Ilman Ahmad 8 days ago

    6:10 really funny

  • 6 String Terror
    6 String Terror 8 days ago

    Intel needs someone to check them, prices crazy...

  • Marko Lendic
    Marko Lendic 8 days ago

    This guy is funny

  • Joshua Bernil
    Joshua Bernil 9 days ago

    So I'm not usually on here but I thought the guy @ 0:30 is Linus but I'm assuming he's not (??)

  • Smagin Andrew
    Smagin Andrew 9 days ago

    What a garbage "computer". 1400$ device can't run x64 programs that exist since 2003 and runs x86 programs, which are most programs, with problems. Emulation also eliminates the main advantage of surface pro - low power usage. And reviewer says that it's OK notebook. I'm starting to mistrust Linus Media Group

  • Armand Bireaud
    Armand Bireaud 10 days ago

    So wait the surface pro after 5 years still has native windows app that don't work ? I thought that was just for the original surface years ago. What a joke

  • Matt Neil
    Matt Neil 12 days ago +1

    I watched a dozen reviews about how the surface pro x sucks... I only use this device as a quick grab unit that has LTE and can handle all of my Microsoft office APPS. This is not a desktop or laptop replacement. This laptop is a (for lack of better words a backup gun) super light, instant on Perfect to get you out of a jam. This is a perfect business machine.
    I dont edit videos, play games or frigg around .. This machine is perfect for me.. I also have every other surface product so theres that. - a regular dude.

  • Kosmos Anims
    Kosmos Anims 13 days ago

    Lol I still have a working Surface RT, and it sucks ASS

  • Baron Von Grijffenbourg

    Still better than anything Apple is pulling out of its hairy crack these days.. Add a touchscreen to mac already ya turtle-neck wearing weirdos.

  • David Engle
    David Engle 14 days ago

    Wow 🤨

  • Battle
    Battle 16 days ago

    guess ill stick to the pro 7 when i decide to upgrade from the Surface Go lol

  • ctse26
    ctse26 17 days ago

    emulation runs a lot slower than native x86 applications no matter how well you can optimize it... if the surface X came with a core m processor, then it would be a more enticing device since it would be able to run x86 natively :D

  • ctse26
    ctse26 17 days ago

    So intel got cucked hard... amd and qualcom is being picked over intel now.

    *surprise pikachu face* :O!!!

  • ArchonNick
    ArchonNick 19 days ago +1

    Why buy this? For less money u can get a "normal" laptop.

  • DannyK426
    DannyK426 19 days ago

    and at 3:20 i am not longer interested. thanks guys! thumbs up for a life saving review.

  • Micaela Butron
    Micaela Butron 22 days ago

    Who would buy this?

  • Archie Wei
    Archie Wei 22 days ago

    Arm just need more time until native 64 bit.

  • Eggamyer
    Eggamyer 23 days ago +1

    Microsoft makes me hate my life.

  • thejsa
    thejsa 23 days ago

    It's definitely still early days for Windows 10 on Arm and the emulation only supporting x86 is a stumbling block for now, but once software starts getting recompiled to run natively on the Arm64 processors (they are 64-bit chips) I think there's a lot of potential for the platform.

  • Tihomir Valkanov
    Tihomir Valkanov 23 days ago

    iPad Pro for me please, thanks!

  • Moonwired
    Moonwired 23 days ago

    So it’s preforms worse and costs more? Should really make it cheaper so they sell and they can develop the tech. Nobody in their right mind would buy this

  • Sebastian O.
    Sebastian O. 24 days ago

    We Wuz Kangz yo!

  • SakzmaHolic
    SakzmaHolic 24 days ago

    He sounds like Linus 😵

  • Arjan van Wieringen
    Arjan van Wieringen 24 days ago

    Linus + Chris Evans + Sam Rockwell = this guy

  • shiny quest
    shiny quest 24 days ago

    Great review thank you

  • Matthew Orrell
    Matthew Orrell 25 days ago

    I'm going to be honest here if you are looking at this review for any other reason that you have nothing else better to do, get an iPad. That's going to be the case until Arm is properly supported. At least an iPad can run a version of Photoshop (though it still doesn't have a headphone jack).

  • Lance Vance
    Lance Vance 25 days ago

    7:46 "MINOR ANNOYANCES". wtf!!!!

  • Truth Keeper Films
    Truth Keeper Films 26 days ago +2

    That’s sad that in 2019, there are still companies who get product launches massively wrong. Like that’s very bad. It’s almost a useless tablet

  • dustojnikhummer
    dustojnikhummer 26 days ago +1

    The thing about this is... People say "Microsoft! Start fresh! Get rid of that Win95 stuff from Windows 10!" but the same people then turn around and "Wait, it does not run Win32 apps? What is the fucking point then?"

  • Quang Nguyễn
    Quang Nguyễn 26 days ago

    ru-clip.net/video/pFJoXEdsBAA/video.html

  • Nocturnal Guy
    Nocturnal Guy 26 days ago

    Never! I'll stick with the bulky Surface Pro 7!

  • balty_7
    balty_7 27 days ago

    Surface Laptop 3 review?!?

  • Noowis
    Noowis 27 days ago +3

    This guy sounds like linus but with a cold

  • Daniel Schroedinger
    Daniel Schroedinger 28 days ago +6

    1800 bucks for a machine that is almost usable.
    Who do you think you are? Apple?

    • svfutbol20
      svfutbol20 6 days ago +1

      Daniel Schroedinger I don’t understand either, the i5 version is like $700

  • IMAGINE
    IMAGINE 28 days ago +2

    I am loving the Surface Pro X. Just sold my iPad Pro. It doesn't get its due in these reviews.

    • David Phelps
      David Phelps 24 days ago +1

      I agree with you Imagine. I found this review very misleading and slanted. I have purchased one myself and absolutely love it. Had there been a current generation Surface Intel version that also had LTE and all day battery life, I might have considered it. However, they don't and no one knows when they "might". For the very few programs that I can't run on this device I already had a cloud gaming PC that I can log into with the Surface Pro X and accomplish those tasks. That LTE makes it very handy to connect to that cloud PC anywhere without having to worry about finding "safe" public wifi. Also everyone needs to get over the flippin headphone jack. They are going away. Maybe we should all get pissed because machines don't come with cd roms and 3.5 floppy disk drives as well.

  • KMSMista
    KMSMista 28 days ago

    what a piece of garbage. just get an ipad.

  • Machistmo
    Machistmo 29 days ago

    MS Hardware, RUN!

  • Tristan Quin
    Tristan Quin 29 days ago

    Still waiting on that surface laptop 3 review

  • Josue Gonzalez
    Josue Gonzalez Month ago +24

    For a second I thought Linus put on a cap, lost the 90’s boy band look and learned to grow facial hair.


    I was wrong.

  • Dick Cheney
    Dick Cheney Month ago

    A thread on a 9900k would laugh at that CPU.

  • gameflux
    gameflux Month ago

    No thank you !

  • Peter Parker
    Peter Parker Month ago

    Am glad I bought surface pro 7 i7 16GB 256GB, got different options for pens, keyboards and carry cases, why waste money on getting pro x which has so much less to offer? Less power less performance, lack of native x86 apps, just for battery life and LTE? What good is that gonna do?

  • Jens
    Jens Month ago +1

    Hey! He's not Linus!
    Sounds similar to Linus tho.
    But visual and texture feels different somehow...

  • Jish
    Jish Month ago

    I have to ask. Why bother with this thing? What reason (other than design) wouldn’t you just buy a pro 7?