This SILENT PC is Crazy Fast! - Monsterlabo The First Review

Share
Embed
  • Published on Apr 2, 2019
  • Get an unrestricted 30-day free trial of FreshBooks at www.freshbooks.com/techtips
    Sign up for Private Internet Access VPN at lmg.gg/pialinus1
    Our review of MonsterLabo's "The First" passively cooled PC case.
    Buy MonsterLabo's the First:
    On their site: lmg.gg/8KVh1
    Buy AMD Ryzen 2700x:
    On Amazon: lmg.gg/8KVhW
    On Newegg: lmg.gg/8KVhY
    Buy ASUS RTX 2070s:
    On Amazon: lmg.gg/8KVhj
    On Newegg: lmg.gg/8KVhp
    Buy ASUS X470 Motherboards:
    On Amazon: lmg.gg/8KVhT
    On Newegg: lmg.gg/8KVhN
    Buy Corsair Power Supplies:
    On Amazon: lmg.gg/8KVhJ
    On Newegg: lmg.gg/8KVhL
    Buy Samsung NVMe SSDs:
    On Amazon: lmg.gg/8KVhZ
    On Newegg: lmg.gg/8KVhB
    Discuss on the forum: linustechtips.com/main/topic/1050973-this-silent-pc-is-crazy-fast/
    Our Affiliates, Referral Programs, and Sponsors: linustechtips.com/main/topic/75969-linus-tech-tips-affiliates-referral-programs-and-sponsors
    Get Private Internet Access today at geni.us/7lLuafK
    Linus Tech Tips merchandise at www.LTTStore.com/
    Linus Tech Tips posters at crowdmade.com/linustechtips
    Our Test Benches on Amazon: www.amazon.com/shop/linustechtips
    Our production gear: geni.us/cvOS
    Twitter - twitter.com/linustech
    Facebook - facebook.com/LinusTech
    Instagram - instagram.com/linustech
    Twitch - www.twitch.tv/linustech
    Intro Screen Music Credit:
    Title: Laszlo - Supernova
    Video Link: ru-clip.net/video/PKfxmFU3lWY/video.html
    iTunes Download Link: itunes.apple.com/us/album/supernova/id936805712
    Artist Link: soundcloud.com/laszlomusic
    Outro Screen Music Credit: Approaching Nirvana - Sugar High ru-clip.net/user/approachingnirvana
  • Science & TechnologyScience & Technology

Comments • 1 971

  • IraQ Nid
    IraQ Nid Month ago

    Am I the first to see a resemblance to a Tie Fighter's wing panel and the custom case used in this video?

  • mattpaul37
    mattpaul37 Month ago +1

    🥰😍🤩

  • OOO MMM
    OOO MMM 2 months ago

    Lol, love the little dance at 7:30

  • Jon Donnelly
    Jon Donnelly 2 months ago

    Noctua are bringing out a passive heatsink soon. With the bonus you don't have any brown fans to complain about. I want that.

  • Pingman
    Pingman 2 months ago

    Construction looks a bit janky :/

  • Tommy Two Tones
    Tommy Two Tones 3 months ago

    Fan humming can be very calming

  • Sam Ellis
    Sam Ellis 3 months ago

    such a brill vid guys keep up the good work and you will flower like my channel

  • Markus Braunholz
    Markus Braunholz 3 months ago

    that thing is trash... sorry but its what i think about this beta product. At this Price....

  • Sean Langley
    Sean Langley 3 months ago

    I've noticed this on one of my builds too. When it's not under load, the Noctua CPU fan is basically silent and the PSU is at like 40% load so it essentially is a silent build...except for the GPU whine...

  • Michael Graves
    Michael Graves 3 months ago

    If you really want to check out fanless high-performance, you need to try an Airtop-PC3. I;ve had an original Airtop for a couple years. It's awesome. 4x 2.5" SSDs, 2x M.2, 2 x M-SATA, nVidia GTX, Intel 630, can drive 7x 4K outputs. fitpc.com/shop/index?tag=Airtop3

  • iordache silviu
    iordache silviu 3 months ago

    you suck. kidding. but i put dislike just to make you feel bad:D

  • Rick Brannigan
    Rick Brannigan 3 months ago

    I like this guy, but he is in love with himself. I bet he's late for work every morning because he keeps catching his reflection in shiny surfaces...

  • Michael Camerson
    Michael Camerson 3 months ago

    meh

  • Hynek Borůvka
    Hynek Borůvka 3 months ago +1

    James frankly is much better wingman than solo host. Just let others host and invite James to every video just to chill out.

  • Benjamin Austnes Narum
    Benjamin Austnes Narum 4 months ago

    @Linus Tech Tips

    I built a computer back in 2017, which I use for video and image editing, CAD, 3D, rendering, digital art, and *music production and editing*. I also play games on it (I guess mixing work and play was a bad idea in the long run, but anyway...)

    I have an issue with audio interference.
    Corsair Carbide Series 400C Mid-Tower
    Corsair Hydro Series H100i
    Asus Maximus VIII Hero Intel Z170
    Core i5-6600K
    Palit GameRock G-Force 1080 GDDR5
    Corsair Vengeance 2x8G 3200MHz DDR4
    EVGA SuperNova 650 G2 80+ Gold
    Kingston 120G SSDNow UV400 (OS Drive)
    Toshiba P300 3TB Backup Drive
    WD Blue 1TB Backup / Work Drive
    Acer Predator XB271HUbmiprz IPS

    Audio is through an external interface; an M-Audio 2x2M connected directly to the motherboard using USB-C.

    The PSU seems to be the main culprit; the transformer hums EM interference into the room, but it also bleeds into the outlet, which affects audio hardware connected to said outlet.
    I also suspect the MB, GPU, and HDDs of causing unwanted noise.

    There is also noise generated when I perform tasks on the computer; as in when I move the mouse or a panel around; this is related to the performance settings; if turned to 'power saver' much of the noise caused by tasks disappear, but if set to 'high performance' it is constant.

    Do you have any tips on what I can do in order to reduce/remove the interference?
    Isolation transformer? Ground lifts? Faraday cage? Change parts? Build a bunker? I'm open to anything.

  • mjc0961
    mjc0961 4 months ago

    "Passively cooled"
    Clearly at least one Noctua fan installed. 😑 Does MonsterLabo think we're all stupid?

  • Nick Gray
    Nick Gray 4 months ago

    The first, a lot like metallica's 'One', or my freshman year gpa before highschool killed my will to live. Looks like first are sometimes the bests

  • Schpankme Verimuch
    Schpankme Verimuch 4 months ago

    painful

  • 710thcentury digitalboy

    so to review:
    1. butt fucking ugly!!!
    2. gigantic pain in the ass to build in/with due to entirely avoidable ignorant decisions
    3. insanely restrictive compatibility.
    why bother, this is half assed at best.

  • 6ivapribiq
    6ivapribiq 4 months ago

    I would rather put my pc in the fridge two rooms away from my gaming room.

  • Jim Bond
    Jim Bond 4 months ago +1

    Summing up the overview, it's a mess and is not complete.

  • ChloeWade
    ChloeWade 4 months ago

    AMD sucks

  • FDN
    FDN 4 months ago

    james is borring

  • Meow Meow
    Meow Meow 4 months ago

    We need more James review

  • BullseyeHun
    BullseyeHun 4 months ago

    Wasn't there a Zalman passive house like 10+ years ago, that could do similar things?

  • Mosen C.
    Mosen C. 4 months ago

    annoying childish

  • boogschd
    boogschd 4 months ago

    james sounds like barry from the bee movie

  • Bradley Bisby-mountain
    Bradley Bisby-mountain 4 months ago

    Luke : yo guys what is that guy doing here?
    Linus: just the electrician.
    James: no dude you hired me.
    Luke: whaaaaaaaaat the hell
    I’m calling this Luke gets replaced by James in everything.

  • Mishappp
    Mishappp 4 months ago

    I helped my cousin build one of these, fucking thing is hot garbage. Its quiet but fuck me its annoying to put together.

  • Alpha Gamma Dingdong
    Alpha Gamma Dingdong 4 months ago

    Get a sturdier table please

  • Soldatoflife
    Soldatoflife 4 months ago

    I like seeing someone else under the spotlight presenting a video. The text seems similar to what Linus would say. Makes me think of how SciShow does it.

  • MrRaymau5
    MrRaymau5 4 months ago

    James is cool

  • Darko22
    Darko22 4 months ago

    rainbow barf needs to end its 2019 all ready

  • Imran Hasan
    Imran Hasan 4 months ago

    What did you do to linus?

  • Xvipz
    Xvipz 4 months ago

    oh ok

  • LA Plays
    LA Plays 4 months ago

    It looks like a D.I.Y Mac Pro

  • Rory B. Bellows
    Rory B. Bellows 4 months ago

    You're not Linus. What is this? Some guys Tech Tips?

  • Shienei
    Shienei 4 months ago

    It's SUPER distracting when he looks slightly right of the camera it's so annoying

  • Giovanni Lee
    Giovanni Lee 4 months ago

    +1 for calling it like it is. RGB === 'Rainbow Barf';

  • James Rounding
    James Rounding 4 months ago

    How about no...what a piece of garbage.

  • Peace Master
    Peace Master 4 months ago

    Your hitch pitched voice is more irritating than the GPU coil whine !! Linus don't let this hyper fake-beard come on LTT videos please, I feel like punching his face ! Bring Linus back !

  • Beauregard Slim
    Beauregard Slim 4 months ago

    Anybody else think face-hugger from Alien?

  • mookie
    mookie 4 months ago

    the fabric tape was probably for acoustics. of course you thoughtlessly throw it away xD

  • Howard Leen
    Howard Leen 4 months ago

    I couldn't sit through the 180 degree monitor video by James but I could sit this one. The breaks in his speech is irritating, so is his laugh and pitch bouncy voice. To be fair though, Linus was probably this irritating in the early days. I'm sure James will improve over time (just space out his videos) :)

  • dragonball slayer326
    dragonball slayer326 4 months ago

    Really fantastic video please do more videos like this please

  • dragonball slayer326
    dragonball slayer326 4 months ago

    Looks like puberty hit a toll on Linus

  • jhowell1030
    jhowell1030 4 months ago

    Listening to this guy deliver a script is just painful. He's about as smooth as a hand slipping into a garbage disposal.

  • Matt Sebastiao
    Matt Sebastiao 4 months ago

    Enjoyed the video but the script sounds like it was made for Linus.

  • FrnchFriez
    FrnchFriez 4 months ago

    This guy should do a tech lingerie video with him being the main model

  • acequat
    acequat 4 months ago

    Linus and OtherLinus

  • Freedbot
    Freedbot 4 months ago

    Good job on the video, but the product itself isn't really all that interesting due to it's unpolished nature.

  • WildStyle
    WildStyle 4 months ago

    Wait, wait, wait, you can get a mobo that doesn't have / or has removable audio section? More of this pls.

  • House Station Live .com

    it's not silent. i saw a fan. i'm disappointed. back to my shuttle limited pentium shit ^^

  • ricky v
    ricky v 4 months ago +3

    I am all for companies trying new things. I would like to try to kind of case out. Maybe, as a second or third gen model though. (:

  • CaptainBiplane
    CaptainBiplane 4 months ago

    sometimes people look a bit different when dying their hair, but wow Linus looks like a different person now

  • dzsozeTTa
    dzsozeTTa 4 months ago

    To get rid off coilwhine just simply run furmark for 2 to 3 hours. :)

  • Kuro Karo
    Kuro Karo 4 months ago

    Looks like a nice case, but the IO options are a bit weak. Not even one USB-C? Only one USB 3.0?

  • Madinventer
    Madinventer 4 months ago

    music at around 0:20 ??

  • Christian
    Christian 4 months ago

    Kermit?

  • WeedMIC
    WeedMIC 4 months ago

    Rainbow barf - added to vocab

  • Justin
    Justin 4 months ago

    im annoyed the top audio jacks are not labelled

  • niels kingmans
    niels kingmans 4 months ago

    cool to see james host his own videos. I think ltt did it in a great way. we get to know all the staff from videos gradually so this doesn't feel like an abrupt change.

  • jimbobbyrnes
    jimbobbyrnes 4 months ago

    see NOW you can cook pizza.

  • Democritus86
    Democritus86 4 months ago

    Or maybe find a GPU with no coilwhine?

  • Jetsetlemming
    Jetsetlemming 4 months ago

    Okay but what the hell is "coil whine"? C'mon you guys are supposed to explain tech to me.

  • Lolly Stacey
    Lolly Stacey 4 months ago

    jesus the heat pipes turned him on a little too much

  • geht nix
    geht nix 4 months ago

    you do a good job, i m good with that , peace :>

  • Jordan Eilbert
    Jordan Eilbert 4 months ago

    cooling an i9900k? Passively? huh...good luck. My guess before looking at it: 100C on the i9900k

  • Hex Rag
    Hex Rag 4 months ago

    i just use a huge rad so all i have running is a water pump in a sound deadening box.... as damn near to silent as i need it with no fans

  • yeshwanth rahul
    yeshwanth rahul 4 months ago

    Speaking of 'inaudible'....Our sponsor for today's show 'Audible'....

  • Tim Owen
    Tim Owen 4 months ago

    I see a fan - not silent.

  • CringeChannel101
    CringeChannel101 4 months ago

    1:43 he says limining instead of limiting

  • apocalypseap
    apocalypseap 4 months ago

    Also, shitty power button for only 420 us dollars. BUY NOW!

  • apocalypseap
    apocalypseap 4 months ago

    Why is your video SQUISHED? DID YOUR MOM SIT ON IT??

  • Krenon
    Krenon 4 months ago

    F for lazer James