The Gaming Laptop King - Asus Strix Scar III Review

Share
Embed
  • Published on Jun 5, 2019
  • Check out Displate's metal posters at lmg.gg/displateltt
    Use offer code LINUS to save 40% on Madrinas Coffee at www.madrinascoffee.com/linus
    With a 240Hz display the Asus Strix SCAR III is a treat to game on.. but is it good enough to beat the Razer Blade and Alienware m15?
    Buy the SCAR III
    On Amazon: geni.us/Ykag0D
    On Newegg: geni.us/4HOwG0
    Discuss on the forum: linustechtips.com/main/topic/1070201-the-new-best-gaming-laptop-rog-strix-scar-iii/
    Our Affiliates, Referral Programs, and Sponsors: linustechtips.com/main/topic/75969-linus-tech-tips-affiliates-referral-programs-and-sponsors
    Get Private Internet Access today at geni.us/7lLuafK
    Displate metal posters: lmg.gg/displateltt
    Linus Tech Tips merchandise at www.LTTStore.com/
    Linus Tech Tips posters at crowdmade.com/linustechtips
    Our Test Benches on Amazon: www.amazon.com/shop/linustechtips
    Our production gear: geni.us/cvOS
    Twitter - twitter.com/linustech
    Facebook - facebook.com/LinusTech
    Instagram - instagram.com/linustech
    Twitch - www.twitch.tv/linustech
    Intro Screen Music Credit:
    Title: Laszlo - Supernova
    Video Link: ru-clip.net/video/PKfxmFU3lWY/video.html
    iTunes Download Link: itunes.apple.com/us/album/supernova/id936805712
    Artist Link: soundcloud.com/laszlomusic
    Outro Screen Music Credit: Approaching Nirvana - Sugar High ru-clip.net/user/approachingnirvana
  • Science & TechnologyScience & Technology

Comments • 2 672

  • sandy1234853
    sandy1234853 Hour ago

    i personal never use a camera on a computer so i think its good that it has been removed if i need to video call someone my s10+ camera is more then good enough

  • Playboi Cashy
    Playboi Cashy 8 hours ago

    Almost bought this then I remembered Omegle 😭😭 wtf Asus ???!

  • Colby Roddam
    Colby Roddam 9 hours ago

    Asus makes the best labtops period. I have a scar 2 with a 1070 144hz and it runs flawlessly

  • Colby Roddam
    Colby Roddam 9 hours ago

    Well I put tape over my webcame anyways...who cares

  • D4V3 G
    D4V3 G 19 hours ago

    The Zephyrus S has the same specs (although I think only goes up to the hexacore 9750H processor) while also being lighter, thinner and without the excessive RGB. Likely the ideal alternative in my mind.

  • MrLegitFTW
    MrLegitFTW 21 hour ago

    No webcam pls

  • Peter Farah
    Peter Farah Day ago +1

    I bought the 17.3 inch model of it
    It comes with a webcam and a really cool gaming mouse ! No 244 Hz refresh rate but it is fine.
    Games wont hit that high of fps any way. So 144 is very good and beside a bigger screen is always welcomed.
    It has a core i7 9750H
    Full Rtx 2070
    16 gb of ram
    512 GB ssd
    2TB HDD
    for 2600$ (witch was a good price in my country compared to other stuff)

  • Tréa kure
    Tréa kure Day ago

    The specs used there are nowhere to be found over the internet... fraudulous advertisement?

  • TheTrueStep
    TheTrueStep 2 days ago

    Nobody:
    No one:
    Not a single soul:
    Linus: *WHERE THE FUCK IS THE WEBCAM*

  • Joe Momma
    Joe Momma 3 days ago

    I think it’s a great fuckin deal. I might buy one. I spent almost double that for my setup in December 2017.
    My set up: built in December/2017
    -8700k cpu overclocked to 4.8 w/1.25 core volt (not delidded)
    -EK-MLC Phoenix 280mm AIO w/cpu block (highest temps on 1 hr stress test 71 C. Idle at 31-33 C)
    -1080ti ftw3 hybrid (AIO w/fan on gpu)
    -G.skill z trident 16gb (2x8) 14-14-14-34 ram ddr4 3200
    -960 pro 512gb m.2
    -Seagate firecuda 2 Tb sshd
    -Evga 850w p2 psu
    -Phanteks Enthoo Pro m se
    - ASUS ROG Maximus X Hero (Wi-Fi AC) Z370 ATX Motherboard

    Peripherals
    -zowie Ben q xL2546 (240hz/1080p/DyAc) monitor
    -hyper x alpha cloud headset
    - zowie Ben q ec2-B mouse
    -ZOWIE BENQ CAMADE (BUNGEE)
    - Zowie Celeritas ii keyboard
    - zowie Ben q GS-R Large mouse pad.
    Total cost for everything: $3,806
    Gaming chair
    -secret lab omega 2018: $330
    $4,136 total cost with chair

  • Sylen
    Sylen 3 days ago

    Tone it down with the ginger-soyboy please.

  • Thaddeus Gerrish
    Thaddeus Gerrish 3 days ago

    I cant find this laptop with a i9 and 240hrz display anywhere your links dont even have them I only see i7 120hrz models???

    • nothing kayo
      nothing kayo 2 days ago

      @Shreyans Lagare 2lakh 43 thousand

    • Shreyans Lagare
      Shreyans Lagare 2 days ago

      @nothing kayo Where in India and how much did it cost?

    • nothing kayo
      nothing kayo 3 days ago

      I bought it from a local shop in India

  • Michael Pollard
    Michael Pollard 3 days ago

    Why hasn’t anyone done a review on the Asus hero 3 . I know it’s similar in specs and the difference I guess is the scar is 15.6 and the hero is 17.3 but are their any other pros and con?!?!?!

    • nothing kayo
      nothing kayo 2 days ago

      Nope, hero is simple finish scar is camo finish

  • Phares G
    Phares G 4 days ago

    i would like to enquire about an asus rog laptop with an i5 9300h gtx 1660ti 6gb vs one with i7 9750 gtx 1650 4gb with reference to CAD and render work and medium gaming. Which is the better option for the all-rounded use..?

    • Shamsudin Uzayr
      Shamsudin Uzayr 3 days ago +1

      Definitely with i7 due to extra core and thread , so you will get much better performance during workload. GTX 1650 also will handle most of games that you want to play Fortnite, LOL, Apex etc.

  • kabeer rajoria
    kabeer rajoria 4 days ago

    Asus rog strix g next please?

  • OOF Legend
    OOF Legend 4 days ago +2

    I got mine today with the gtx1650 with i7 for a great price

  • Ali Zafar
    Ali Zafar 5 days ago +1

    Me watching this video on a laptop which is being spied on through its 720p webcam...

  • Armando Jaime
    Armando Jaime 5 days ago

    Just a headsup, the Acer Predator Helios 300 is at 999 usd for amazon prime day, here is the link: amzn.to/2lxCMpx

  • freeme123go
    freeme123go 5 days ago

    zero i9's available in this model, edited, because i was being dumb.

  • middmax moli
    middmax moli 6 days ago +1

    good laptop . but its so expensive

    • pinacollision
      pinacollision 6 days ago +1

      middmax moli u could look forward on getting the asus strix g it’s more cheaper it’s comes with a gpu of 1660ti and 2060 on Xoticpc.com

  • Subscribe Flamingo
    Subscribe Flamingo 7 days ago +1

    Did you say "BMW design works?!"

  • Lena Play
    Lena Play 7 days ago

    screen shakes again? at $2k laptop!

  • PK
    PK 7 days ago +4

    *But the biggest question still remains......*


    *cAN iT mAkE aN oMeLeTTe?*

  • PK
    PK 7 days ago +2

    *But the biggest question still remains......*


    *cAN iT mAkE aN oMeLeTTe?*

  • Michel Guerrero
    Michel Guerrero 7 days ago +2

    I ordered and it’s so cool! I play with lumion doing 8k resolution renders. amazing performance.

  • Crazy Panda
    Crazy Panda 8 days ago

    Webcam? We don't need no stinkin' webcam!

  • Htike Sai Wai Lin
    Htike Sai Wai Lin 8 days ago +1

    Love this laptop, but RTx 2070 fail on m me .

  • spiddyman007
    spiddyman007 8 days ago

    How many fps can we get in black ops 4 tho

  • Hyōkkuda
    Hyōkkuda 8 days ago

    A 15.6” instead of a 17.3" and with no numpad on the side though. That's what kill it for me. :(
    Wait, never mind, there's also the Asus ROG Scar III G731GW-KB71 which is a 17.3". And still no numpad on the side. I kinda hate it when it's in the touchpad. :S

    • Hyōkkuda
      Hyōkkuda 2 days ago

      @nothing kayo , I always use the numpad as macro keys. I guess I could get used to this though.

    • nothing kayo
      nothing kayo 2 days ago

      Its actually pretty handy,
      And when you play games you play with mouse

  • Shoemcflex Theflex
    Shoemcflex Theflex 8 days ago

    Is their a 2080 option?

  • Leguency
    Leguency 8 days ago

    RTX 2070 on laptop boy fk yea

  • spiddyman007
    spiddyman007 8 days ago

    What real world performance is between a 2070 and a 2080 in a laptop

  • spiddyman007
    spiddyman007 8 days ago

    Don’t need webcam

  • Javit soi
    Javit soi 8 days ago

    Webcams are for older generation when we didn't use to have a front facing smartphones

  • Srijae Datta
    Srijae Datta 9 days ago +1

    Planning to buy RTX2060 version

  • Joe Momma
    Joe Momma 9 days ago

    What is the response time?
    I’m currently using the XL2546 and only play cs-go. It has a 1ms response time and I’m not willing to settle for anything higher.

  • Door-to-Door Hentai Salesman

    They should have removed the trackpad and improve the thermals.

  • TheMisterBlueberry
    TheMisterBlueberry 9 days ago +4

    bitcoin is up, gonna buy this for free

  • OÄD
    OÄD 10 days ago

    Thank God they removed the camera
    IDGAF about that, I prefer more screen, plz remove them from our phones too, I don't need a stupid Hitler mustache on top of my screen to spy on me.
    Cheers Asus 🍻, wp 👍

  • TheStrangerJr
    TheStrangerJr 10 days ago +2

    Anyone else having trouble finding the version with the i9-9880H? I can only find versions of this laptop with the i7-9750H -> cpu.userbenchmark.com/Compare/Intel-Core-i9-9880H-vs-Intel-Core-i7-9750H/m750169vsm766364

  • Corey Michaud
    Corey Michaud 10 days ago +2

    When is the Zephorous S Gx502 review coming?

  • Ice Guy
    Ice Guy 11 days ago

    My two youngest kids have less expensive Asus laptops. Both have had quality problems; one horrible quality problems. Are the higher end laptops any good after, say, a year?

    • nothing kayo
      nothing kayo 2 days ago

      Its just thst the battery life is avg

    • nothing kayo
      nothing kayo 2 days ago

      Higher end ones are awesome

    • done mansion
      done mansion 10 days ago +1

      Dont watch this video, he is a liar. There is big issue ASUS ROG STRIX G731GW
      CPU oveheating, bad performance, microstuttering. There is No point have Intel i9.

  • done mansion
    done mansion 11 days ago +1

    +linustechtips
    I have seen my own eyes laptop ASUS ROG STRIX G731GW 17,3" FHD 144Hz
    GeForce RTX 2070 8GB,Core i7-9750H it have very bad performance 1 0f 10 stars. Your video is fake.

    • nothing kayo
      nothing kayo Day ago

      @done mansion your poor ass couldn't afford it anyway

    • done mansion
      done mansion Day ago

      @nothing kayo
      Rip Asus rog

    • nothing kayo
      nothing kayo 2 days ago

      Fu bich, rog doesn't offer 2080 version

  • Alex
    Alex 11 days ago

    I can't seem to find the supposed i9 and 32GB ram variant using the links provided

    • Jake Hewitt
      Jake Hewitt 11 days ago +1

      Neither can I. Doesn't seem to be available yet.

  • Kirito KH
    Kirito KH 11 days ago

    Please help error when I install intel graphics driver ru-clip.net/video/vRrsRThQKVc/video.html

  • Dante Inouye
    Dante Inouye 12 days ago +1

    I have the 17" version of this.

    Gotta say, I love it for a different reason than the ones Linus mentions; it has all the included adapters, and the space for an extra 2.5 inch drive. Some laptops have this option from the factory, but don't include the bracket to mount the HDD (looking at you Area51M).

    Also, who uses laptop webcams anymore? If I've lived with the XPS 15 this whole time, and never found the webcam placement to be an issue, I don't think its relevant to me in particular...

    • DIFFERENT GAMER
      DIFFERENT GAMER 9 days ago

      I’m going to buy the same laptop but couldn’t find 17 inch one, can you please tell me where did you find it and for how much?

  • Oscar Mejia
    Oscar Mejia 12 days ago +1

    Anyone! Looking for a good gaming laptop Budget is 1 K Thanks in advance for help

    • MWW PlayZ
      MWW PlayZ 10 days ago

      get the helios 300 but its 1.2K

  • Hilal Mohideen
    Hilal Mohideen 12 days ago

    When’s this coming out? I want to get it in the 17.3” version

  • Compilation Hub
    Compilation Hub 13 days ago

    How it rate against HERO III?

  • ZEN ZEN
    ZEN ZEN 13 days ago +1

    I think Linus is in cahoots with the FBI.

  • Skilly YT
    Skilly YT 13 days ago

    Still could stream no webcam

  • The GS
    The GS 13 days ago

    Asus is protecting you from the FBI

  • my name is chef
    my name is chef 14 days ago

    5:58 gachiHYPER

  • Elyas GamingPC
    Elyas GamingPC 14 days ago

    costs 2500 Euros in Finland

  • firefoxo
    firefoxo 14 days ago +1

    I am searching for ASUS G531GV-DB76 and this comes up. ????

  • Manish Oraon
    Manish Oraon 15 days ago +2

    2:56 Oh Doom!!
    Is it a game that's running or just a video of it?

  • FRODO SWAGGINS
    FRODO SWAGGINS 15 days ago +2

    No webcam = No spying by the government

  • Hrishikesh Gupta
    Hrishikesh Gupta 15 days ago

    @Linus Tech Tips When are going to review the New Dell XPS 7590?

  • al
    al 16 days ago +1

    I will be purchasing the 17” version but with 16 gb ram and i79750h. It is only $1999. No need for an 8 core.

  • spooner Fpv
    spooner Fpv 16 days ago +3

    I am looking to buy a gaming laptop I have a budget of $1880 or £1500 uk I would appreciate your recommendations
    Cheers

    • spooner Fpv
      spooner Fpv 10 days ago

      I ended up buying the HP Omen 2060. I can take a Laptop to the Mother in Laws I can't take a desktop
      @V3doP4jzs

    • V3doP4jzs
      V3doP4jzs 10 days ago

      Acer Helios 300 (2019 version with 1660 ti).

    • Skilly YT
      Skilly YT 13 days ago

      Buy a desktop

  • R3 Volt
    R3 Volt 16 days ago +1

    Looks like the panel isn't IPS, it's an "IPS Level" TN display.

  • ShinerBock2007
    ShinerBock2007 16 days ago

    How the hell do you not know how to type?? Freaking baby ass middle finger typers.... who in the hell uses middle finger to press the t y w and s????? So many more I can't even breathe..... Ez Thumbs down for me....freaking Neanderthals....

  • L D
    L D 16 days ago

    So here is the thing, it has no g-sync. so.

  • Jack 007
    Jack 007 16 days ago

    TOP 10 LAPTOPS FOR STUDENTS IN 2019 | BEST STUDENT LAPTOPS 2019
    Current Price & More Info (best price) ►
    10. Dell XPS 13 9360 13.3" Full HD Anti-Glare InfinityEdge Touchscreen Laptop Intel 7th Gen
    ● US ► amzn.to/2WASzRk

    9. Acer Aspire 5, 15.6" Full HD, 8th Gen Intel Core i5-8250U
    ● US ► amzn.to/2MKSRFk

    8. ASUS VivoBook Thin and Lightweight FHD WideView Laptop, 8th Gen Intel Core i5-8250U
    ● US ► amzn.to/2WD58QV

    7. Apple 13" MacBook Air, 1.8GHz Intel Core i5 Dual Core Processor
    ● US ► amzn.to/2XGY6Ha

    6. Microsoft Surface Pro (Intel Core i7, 8GB RAM, 256GB) - Newest Version
    ● US ► amzn.to/2X8qh4Q

    5. HP Spectre x360 15-CH011DX 4K 2 in 1 Touch Screen Laptop - Intel Core i7-8550U
    ● US ► amzn.to/2XHhcNu

    4. ASUS VivoBook Pro Thin & Light Laptop, 17.3" Full HD, Intel i7-8550U Processor
    ● US ► amzn.to/2MKETn5

    3. Huawei MateBook X Pro Signature Edition Thin & Light Laptop, 13.9" 3K Touch, 8th Gen i7-8550U
    ● US ► amzn.to/2WDT6BK

    2. MSI GV62 8RD-034 15.6" Thin and Light Gaming Laptop, GeForce GTX 1050Ti 4G, Intel i7-8750H (6 Cores)
    ● US ► amzn.to/2MVr9Gi

    1. GIGABYTE Aero 15X v8-BK4 15" Ultra Slim Gaming Laptop 144Hz IPS Anti-Glare FHD Display
    ● US ► amzn.to/2XLJ03e

  • VarisTheHacker
    VarisTheHacker 16 days ago

    Bought MSI GS65 with 8750, 512, 16, 2060 for $2000. It hurts just to see all this for $2400.

  • Dank Memer
    Dank Memer 17 days ago

    #teamyview

  • James Karst
    James Karst 17 days ago +2

    did you seriously used Lukes amethyst stones from his ROCK RIG UPDATE??

    • James Karst
      James Karst 14 days ago

      Me and ine more guy tha noticed it

  • Ugo
    Ugo 17 days ago

    Anyone out there that could help me.
    Im thinking of purchasing this - www.mwave.com.au/product/asus-tuf-gaming-fx505dd-156-gaming-laptop-r53550h-8gb-256gb-gtx1050-black-ac23993
    But im not quite sure if it could run games that r out now at 30fps or more?

  • kurgan
    kurgan 17 days ago

    if you think people like webcams, you are a moron linus

  • Champymarty
    Champymarty 17 days ago

    I cant find a way to ship this laptop to Montréal, CAN. Can someone help me ?

  • Ashish Paka
    Ashish Paka 18 days ago

    hey linus!! I bought a Dell G7 7790 17" laptop(RTX 2060,Intel i7-9750H(2.6Ghz),16 GB RAM.)
    Couldn't find any reviews about it. So my question is how long can I play a game(say PUBG) without thermal throttling?
    A video is too much to ask. A reply would be great. #linus

  • Klout wanabee Snooze
    Klout wanabee Snooze 18 days ago

    Would this be good for editing and streaming?

  • Fiko Senjaya
    Fiko Senjaya 18 days ago

    hi linus,
    can you review asus zephyrus s gx502 please..

  • Artifacted Creations
    Artifacted Creations 18 days ago

    Haven't been able to find an I9 yet

  • Atal Gyawali
    Atal Gyawali 18 days ago +1

    Linus do a video in best webcam for this laptop under $70

  • R3 Volt
    R3 Volt 19 days ago

    I can't find the Scar 3 with an i9. Is this pre-release? Even the links from Asus's page to buy only go to I7 models.

    • R3 Volt
      R3 Volt 18 days ago

      @Artifacted Creations where are you refreshing? Asus page says not yet available, maybe they are talking about the i9

    • Artifacted Creations
      Artifacted Creations 18 days ago

      Same I have been refreshing for a week, maybe intel really can't produce them fast enough

  • Dude Augustus
    Dude Augustus 19 days ago +1

    No Webcam is awesome!!!
    FBI guys puked on their computer screen seeing my face anyways.

  • SportbikerNZ
    SportbikerNZ 19 days ago

    I don't use a webcam, but I'd certainly rather have one than none, just in case. No doubt they are dirt cheap anyway.

  • Brandon Castillo
    Brandon Castillo 21 day ago

    Hey guys does the " new Acer Predator Helios 300 2019" competes with this laptop?

  • chiman bangali
    chiman bangali 21 day ago

    I would rather have aluminum body then those fancy LED who helps destroy the battery life...I don't care about webcame.... because I can use my.phone instead ...

  • Katie Persons
    Katie Persons 22 days ago

    $2400 is kind of a lot for a RTX 2070.

  • Alexandr
    Alexandr 22 days ago

    asus laptop designed by BMW, well //M performance gaming

  • Nicholas Bleker
    Nicholas Bleker 22 days ago

    I wish that they'd lose the RGB shit at the bottom of the laptop as that would cut battery use and would give Asus the opportunity to use the cooling solution that they have with their Zephyrus lineup, which would help cooling and drastically cut down on fan noise. I also think that the screen should be moved down a bit so they can add a webcam to the top as the space at the bottom of the screen can be better served to not be there, and instead have the display of the screen take it up to give room for a webcam at the top and center of the laptop. Lastly, they should've had thunderbolt 3 for this laptop for obvious reasons.

  • Mobile Cyclop
    Mobile Cyclop 22 days ago +1

    For what you need these stupid pc cameras

  • Happy Life WISH
    Happy Life WISH 22 days ago

    and i also like..... taps L

  • Goalatio
    Goalatio 22 days ago

    Hows the thermals? Thinking about upgrading from a Helios 500 Ryzen because I want something smaller.

  • Eddie Villalobos
    Eddie Villalobos 22 days ago

    Can someone please link me to the exact model from the video?

  • Diego Ottaviani
    Diego Ottaviani 23 days ago

    I just bought a Scar II with a full 2070 and an i7 8750h in it, it's amazing. Compared to this Scar III, it hasn't the "magic key" feature, and a 144hz display, but for the price I think it's better. You still get a 2070 mobile version and a full-size keyboard, It's relatively slim and not really that loud. If you wanna buy this Scar III and you care about money, think twice.
    Edit: I forgot to mention it, it has a ✨WEBCAM✨ (not really that good, but at least there is)

  • The Life Base
    The Life Base 23 days ago

    great video! I already added to my playlist. keep doing this!

  • aang and korrra equals raagnarrrok

    Is this better than the zephurus

  • Gameboy
    Gameboy 23 days ago

    Can we video edit on this?

  • Balram Krishna Kumar
    Balram Krishna Kumar 23 days ago

    I went to the store to check it out myself, for some odd reason the laptop display feels taller which shouldn't be the case

  • Sam TuBer
    Sam TuBer 23 days ago

    Webcams are like old toys.
    You’ll never use it but also don’t want to get rid of.

    Grow up Linus. Let go of yesterday for a better tomorrow.

  • B Johnson
    B Johnson 23 days ago

    So without thunderbolt.... no external gpu

  • Your Mum
    Your Mum 23 days ago

    I was fine till i saw the price

  • Leon Tablet
    Leon Tablet 23 days ago

    No games?!

  • Arios Tew
    Arios Tew 23 days ago

    Hi, is the Asus Gx502 doesnt exist in the market right now ? Cause i didnt saw this one in internet, but the price and oficial website already have it, just wonder why this good laptop doesnt get promoted.

  • boi dank
    boi dank 23 days ago

    No one wants a damn webcam. I have never used mine and never will, I have a phone for that.

  • Eonic GameBike
    Eonic GameBike 24 days ago

    i can hear the camera man breathing

  • YaKoStar
    YaKoStar 24 days ago

    Can you connect an external 240hz monitor to this?