The Gaming Laptop King - Asus Strix Scar III Review

Share
Embed
  • Published on Jun 5, 2019
  • Check out Displate's metal posters at lmg.gg/displateltt
    Use offer code LINUS to save 40% on Madrinas Coffee at www.madrinascoffee.com/linus
    With a 240Hz display the Asus Strix SCAR III is a treat to game on.. but is it good enough to beat the Razer Blade and Alienware m15?
    Buy the SCAR III
    On Amazon: geni.us/Ykag0D
    On Newegg: geni.us/4HOwG0
    Discuss on the forum: linustechtips.com/main/topic/1070201-the-new-best-gaming-laptop-rog-strix-scar-iii/
    Our Affiliates, Referral Programs, and Sponsors: linustechtips.com/main/topic/75969-linus-tech-tips-affiliates-referral-programs-and-sponsors
    Get Private Internet Access today at geni.us/7lLuafK
    Displate metal posters: lmg.gg/displateltt
    Linus Tech Tips merchandise at www.LTTStore.com/
    Linus Tech Tips posters at crowdmade.com/linustechtips
    Our Test Benches on Amazon: www.amazon.com/shop/linustechtips
    Our production gear: geni.us/cvOS
    Twitter - linustech
    Facebook - LinusTech
    Instagram - linustech
    Twitch - www.twitch.tv/linustech
    Intro Screen Music Credit:
    Title: Laszlo - Supernova
    Video Link: ru-clip.net/video/PKfxmFU3lWY/video.html
    iTunes Download Link: itunes.apple.com/us/album/supernova/id936805712
    Artist Link: soundcloud.com/laszlomusic
    Outro Screen Music Credit: Approaching Nirvana - Sugar High ru-clip.net/user/approachingnirvana
  • Science & TechnologyScience & Technology

Comments • 3 024

  • Some Guy
    Some Guy Hour ago

    Asus laptop always heats up too much

  • Jayed-Al Sabit
    Jayed-Al Sabit Hour ago

    I have the Asus Rog strix hero 3. If you could review that it would be great.

  • Classic Joker
    Classic Joker 3 days ago

    Linus has the smoothest sponsor transitions

  • Hejar Khalid
    Hejar Khalid 4 days ago

    I use webcam once a year, but i still do!

  • Omar Nader
    Omar Nader 4 days ago

    fucking 240hz....

  • Emperor Beaducwealm
    Emperor Beaducwealm 5 days ago +1

    No webcam? This will save me about one inch of electrical tape.

  • Viliam Beňa
    Viliam Beňa 6 days ago +1

    Having no webcam is actually better , no privacy thing issues and let's be honest those notebooks ones are thrash , you need to buy external anyways

  • Platonic Snail
    Platonic Snail 6 days ago

    5:57 gachiGASM

  • Giggles4692
    Giggles4692 6 days ago

    Eurocom has the best gaming laptops because they have desktop version gpu's in their laptop.
    All other companies use the shitty laptop version of the gpu's.

  • Stefan Forsgren
    Stefan Forsgren 6 days ago

    Removing the webcam was a genius move. I need this machine

  • RoomerJ
    RoomerJ 7 days ago +1

    "Darn close to 240hz" at Doom Vulcan, Csgo and hot even overwatch. Wow...

  • Jason Williams
    Jason Williams 8 days ago

    I’m looking at possibly getting this laptop. Before I do I’d like to find out if the battery discharges while the laptop is plugged in and playing games? My previous laptop did that and I don’t want to go through the hassle again.

  • Perry Bater
    Perry Bater 9 days ago

    can you get this with a 17" display

    • a j
      a j 7 days ago

      bestbuy has one on sale right now as a black friday deal. not as beefed up as he has, but check it out.

  • Gian Carlo
    Gian Carlo 9 days ago

    Hello !!! can I buy laptop from U.S. ??? and were ??? I living in Denmark ...

  • MasterStranger1 ❷⓿❶❾

    No webcam well i do have a phone and it does have a purpose

  • Alexander Ivaylov
    Alexander Ivaylov 10 days ago

    i wish acer predetor started to pick up the pace there not even in compare

  • Robbin Pringle
    Robbin Pringle 10 days ago

    just buy a friggin webcam

  • Arius Phoenix
    Arius Phoenix 10 days ago

    I just want to know if I can play VR games on it. No one has done a video on it

  • Actually_
    Actually_ 11 days ago

    I hate webcams on laptops anyways

  • LeMonke _
    LeMonke _ 11 days ago +1

    $2k i’m just tryna play some roblox....


    nah just kidding, but 2k

  • Tomás VENTURI
    Tomás VENTURI 12 days ago

    Msi gs76 0932 or scar iii please help

  • SETHU S NAIR
    SETHU S NAIR 12 days ago

    ASUS : bottom bezel webcam on scar 2
    REVIEWERS: don't impliment a webcam if you can't do it properly..
    ASUS: removed webcam in scar 3
    REVIEWERS:some thing was better than nothing
    ASUS:WTF😵

  • Michael Hadac
    Michael Hadac 13 days ago

    No CD ROM Optical drives anymore?
    Had to ad a new Junky CD Rom Drive above my ASUS Rog..
    I hate that! All technicians and PC sellers that are trying to brainwash me with new computers without CD Rom. They say: Oh, you can keep your photos or movies on your computer now or on the External drives or USB. I say Bull to all that!
    I make backups, photos and videos so I can give them to my family and friends. I don’t want to buy an expensive or large capacity USB's to give away. There is nothing wrong with CD Drive in the Desktop Tower. Want make thinner Lab Tops? Go ahead, but make some with CD Rom too.
    Large USB cost are about $9.00 to $25.00 dollars! 100 DVD cost is about $30.00. So, do I buy 10 expensive USB for $250.00 bucks, or .25 DVD to give to my family and friends? In short, I hate all PC makers that are taking this wonderful product away from us!
    If you agree with my view, spread the word. Bring DVD’s back!

  • tww00
    tww00 13 days ago

    Is it upgradeable with 2x32GB modules to have 64GB RAM?!

  • John Joe
    John Joe 14 days ago

    i hate the new laptop trend of thin flimsy lid hinges. They're likely to break easily.

  • penroc3
    penroc3 16 days ago

    just ordered this should be here tomorrow

  • Stephen Sine
    Stephen Sine 16 days ago

    Anyone know about user upgrades?

  • Samuel Paredes
    Samuel Paredes 16 days ago

    You can play VR on it right? Or no... I need to know before I buy this.

  • Louis Elsworth
    Louis Elsworth 17 days ago

    Does anyone know the response time of the display on this laptop? Also is there much input lag? Thanks in advance

  • Jackjude
    Jackjude 17 days ago

    Gaming is kicking around waiting for new gen consoles, this wont be able to run new games at 240fps when the new consoles emerge. These type things are just gilding the lily, of experiences which are based around 2012 mid-range tech.

  • Bruce Leroy
    Bruce Leroy 17 days ago

    No thunderbolt 3? let down and deal breaker for me.

  • Karstel
    Karstel 19 days ago

    I have the 144hz version but have inverse ghosting, can someone please help

  • Zekken
    Zekken 20 days ago

    im debating whether or not to get this laptop or the razor blade 15. help pls?

  • HaikalisHaikal 149
    HaikalisHaikal 149 20 days ago

    i dont care about the webcam because sometime i feel the fbi always watching me

  • reyesgohard
    reyesgohard 21 day ago

    Can someone let me know which is the exact model reviewed here?

  • Cody Harris
    Cody Harris 21 day ago

    Would you take this or the Zephyrus GX701??

  • ChrisP Bacon
    ChrisP Bacon 21 day ago

    Techtubers: this included webcam is straight garbage, dont use it
    Manufacturers: * removes garbage webcam *
    Techtubers: * surprised pikachu *

  • Gurwinder singh
    Gurwinder singh 21 day ago

    Is this laptop good for creativity and editing ?

  • Patryk Latos
    Patryk Latos 24 days ago

    Soooo can someone tell me how long will it work good
    If ya kno what I mean...

  • Nekku 007
    Nekku 007 24 days ago +1

    can somebody give me this laptop.

  • Nekku 007
    Nekku 007 24 days ago +1

    hi

  • Dodgy potato
    Dodgy potato 24 days ago

    lies the human eye can see up to 1000 frames per second but can accurately guess up to 150Hz

  • creeperkillermartin1
    creeperkillermartin1 25 days ago

    I think they should have at least included a webcam in the box, or maybe sold separately. A lot of people need it even if I wouldn't it's nice to have just in case.

  • Tomas Kts
    Tomas Kts 25 days ago

    Hey. It is possible disable touchpad numpad function? I accidentally every time touching this...

  • GODofGrace1
    GODofGrace1 27 days ago

    you may keep in mind that many people that look at these vids are of modest income club. Maybe you should do more vids of laptops and pc's with a more reasonable pricetag, instead of coming up with mostly ridiculously overpriced stuff only the rich can afford.

  • i like giraffes
    i like giraffes 27 days ago

    Bruh no webcam and shadow Ye. Boi this is the best laptop for crime

  • mdnor matnor
    mdnor matnor 27 days ago

    £€$ 2k laptops game lag®©%√π
    👇
    👇
    👇
    👎

  • Matt Danyliw
    Matt Danyliw 28 days ago

    Will this be more powerful then the new gen consoles coming out ? Debating skipping the consoles and just getting a pc.

  • Ismael Hamid
    Ismael Hamid 28 days ago

    It really felt good watching this after purchasing this laptop.

  • FBI OPEN UP YOU SICK FUCK

    My MSI G65 is still a beast so I’m good for now.

  • Luke Chen Shui
    Luke Chen Shui Month ago

    I honestly don't really agree with the ppl in the comments celebrating the removal of the webcam. I've needed one maybe three times in the last two years. In all cases holding up my phone to my face for the video call for long periods of time would've been uncomfortable as fuck. I also didn't need the highest quality webcam. The other person being able to see my face is just fine.
    If you don't need the webcam, just tape it up or something. It's a nice to have for when u need it

  • Zach Masuda
    Zach Masuda Month ago

    Damn I need to get that coffee

  • Krane
    Krane Month ago

    Thanks for the port gen. update. Extremely necessary when choosing peripherals.

  • Blackdarkdarker bleach

    no webcam means no one can spy on me through the camera while I'm taking a shit and browsing dark web

  • pasta_and_butter
    pasta_and_butter Month ago

    LTT really got Doom Eternal early, huh...

  • oreo chan
    oreo chan Month ago

    who tf care about webcam lol i never used it

  • Le Lee Chun
    Le Lee Chun Month ago

    Acer helios 300 or this machine , which one better ?

  • Real Square
    Real Square Month ago +1

    No one cares about the hz of the laptop screen all what matters if how powerful it is just plug it into a monitor

    • Krane
      Krane Month ago

      Like hooking a trailer up to your SUV to give it more cargo space? Really?

  • Willy141250
    Willy141250 Month ago

    Does anyone know if it is still this great of a laptop with a rtx 2060 instead of 2070?

  • The King of Potatoes
    The King of Potatoes Month ago +1

    Honestly, I'd rather use an external webcam in just every scenario anyways and with the security it adds it ends up being a FEATURE for me rather than a turn off