Apple 6K Pro Display XDR Review - The Perfect Compromise

Share
Embed
  • Our Long Term Review of the Pro Display XDR 6K with Mac Pro
    Browse all of Micro Center’s products: bit.ly/39G29Ki
    Find a location near you to order a Mac Pro configuration in store: bit.ly/36wwYPM
    Browse all Apple Products: bit.ly/2uoet1I
    Renewed LG 5K Ultrafine on Amazon ($899) ➡ geni.us/Xp6VVg
    Pro Display XDR on Amazon ($4999) ➡ geni.us/f2HTR
    Shop on Amazon ➡ geni.us/b6e15j
    Shop on B&H ➡ bhpho.to/2kfoI34
    Shop on Adorama ➡ bit.ly/2R7qezq
    10% off unlimited yearly music licensing on Soundstripe (what I use for all my videos) use coupon code "Max" here: soundstripe.grsm.io/e/6lv
    Shot with (Amazon) ➡ geni.us/viUc7
    Lens (B&H) ➡ bhpho.to/2DZerxL
    Mic (Amazon)➡ bit.ly/2tmCVgk
    If you enjoy our content please consider supporting us on Patreon. Even $2 a month helps us make more and better content for you!
    www.patreon.com/MaxYuryev
    -~-~~-~~~-~~-~-
    PRIVACY POLICY and FULL DISCLOSURE:
    °Max Tech is a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for sites to earn advertising fees by advertising and linking to amazon.com
    °Max Tech is a participant in the B&H Photo Video affiliate program that provides an advertising commission if you purchase through our links.
    °If you purchase something from our affiliate links will get a small commission with no extra cost to you. This makes it possible for us to make more videos. Thank you!
    °We DO NOT collect, store, use, or share any data about you.
    -~-~~-~~~-~~-~-

Comments • 80

  • Max Tech
    Max Tech  2 months ago +5

    Since so many of you are asking, here are the budget priced but great sounding and looking studio speakers in the video: geni.us/pqtXxr

    • Xperience Pureness
      Xperience Pureness Month ago

      This display from Asus has better specs than Apple pro monitor, cheaper and comes with all the accessories including the stand ru-clip.net/video/BcVmvwCye9A/video.html

    • Mattia Righetti
      Mattia Righetti 2 months ago +1

      Max Tech wallpaper at 5:32?

  • Eypc to Xeon
    Eypc to Xeon Month ago

    Your review is just shit as hell.. I don't need to spend for the overpriced 6k shit as there is plenty of 5k nice looking display, even oled.. I can get amazing Dell 8k monitor even at a less price tag! Paid applesheep promoting to all uneducated sheeps 😂😂😂

  • kakashi1300
    kakashi1300 Month ago

    This product is currently in limbo in terms of what's it for. A professional reviewer dropped the hammer on this very hard and is a hard "NO" for pro use. Therefore this is much more suitable for content consumption. But it's too expensive for that soo...

  • Ata Seddigh Mohammadi

    Can you compare XDR to Asus PA32UC? It has double the Local dimming zones so it should have less blooming, right?

    • Ata Seddigh Mohammadi
      Ata Seddigh Mohammadi Month ago

      PA32UCG is also 120hz with 1600 nits of peak brightness and pre HDR-1400 certified.

  • mahlstadt
    mahlstadt Month ago

    I just want to watch RU-clip and surf the net on this machine

  • Victor Barron
    Victor Barron Month ago

    That one film display may be for Hollywood and movies.
    But looking at the price....
    I can get a pretty decked out Mac Pro and 2 of Apples displays.
    Or almost a Tesla truck.
    But I’m still over here with $20 in my pocket so I can’t say much 🙃

  • hungrynapps
    hungrynapps Month ago

    Wow something that make a apple product sound cheap ..

  • Cjon wickham
    Cjon wickham Month ago

    Its RIP off stand and monitor....its just 60hz and not 8k just 6k...just high contrast ratio...10 bit makes it reference pro display?..not worth $6k plus $1k stand. Just for photo edit...not sure great for maya and forget gaming dropped video or graphics frames fps/hz...not for red raw 8k video unless scale up or compressed scale down? Not big deal 1000 to 1600 nits others have 1000 nits. Its JUST 60hz!!!...buy 720 or old lcd monitor. Dell 32" 8k 60hz monitor for $5-6k. The 27 inch 4k 144hz like asus or Acer and dell 32 inch 8k 60hz ....not many options not full use 4k or 8k and expensive from $1200-6k not worth it now. Best at 2k.

  • Mc Mcx
    Mc Mcx Month ago

    The display delivers more accurate colors than professional OLED monitors. I'm gonna get one to watch movies and photo editing. Matt displays are terrible.

  • Legominder
    Legominder 2 months ago

    The point is that also the human eye with its lense and perception has a limit of contrast gradients it can still dissolve. So in most cases one can't see the blooming.
    But I like stars!

  • Suddhadeep Sarkar
    Suddhadeep Sarkar 2 months ago

    Really good video
    Will this thing be any good on windows?

  • Macc Cueto
    Macc Cueto 2 months ago

    How small does 6k looks on 32 inches, is what i wonder!!!! if you have to scale it down to 5k or 4k to be able to see, how does it compare with other 32inches 4k displays(with similar specs) like Asus ProArt? Questions that you should answer when dropping $6k+ on a monitor.

  • martinXY
    martinXY 2 months ago +1

    Seriously deep dive. Well done.

  • Alden Hoot
    Alden Hoot 2 months ago

    This was an absolutely fantastic review! You covered virtually everything I wanted to hear about with one semi-exception. You show on screen the Forbes interview with Grant Petty near the end when you're saying "On the other hand, if this display can perform closer to a now $22 one [...] and programs like Davinci Resolve, for the first time ever, are confident enough to allow it to be used without the external hardware"
    That IS still an *if* though isn't it? Have Apple/Black Magic/Adobe come out and said they think it's okay to relax their previous recommendation that all critical judgements be based off of a display connected to a dedicated video I/O box? I mean if you're only ever delivering HDR to RU-clip, what would it matter whether it's not *quite* all there? But for folks trying to deliver to the festival circuit or other outlets, it doesn't sound like there's been much movement to embrace the PD XDR... That said, it would be super cool if Apple were to finally bridge this gap, I'm just waiting to hear from someone in the industry that they think it's actually viable... not going to hold my breath though.

  • kouji yamada
    kouji yamada 2 months ago

    jealous

  • Nik Andrew
    Nik Andrew 2 months ago

    where did the desktop pattern come from?

  • JKayser
    JKayser 2 months ago

    Glad my computer needs are more than met by the iPad.

  • Edwin Delgado
    Edwin Delgado 2 months ago

    OK rich dude.

  • N O
    N O 2 months ago

    hard to say its worth it, when you don't even make 3k a month.

  • Ivan K
    Ivan K 2 months ago

    Very good review, thanks. Not sure that understand you right - you said 30% of what apple locks you in when doing HDR. This means 500nits (~30% from 1600) or 30 from 500 (which very low then). When then this 1600 is used? In normal use when watching HDR content only?

  • うずまき ナルト
    うずまき ナルト 2 months ago

    Passive cooling? Seriously, you made the same error in a previous video on the Pro Display XDR. Makes the rest of your judgement questionable when you can't even get basic specs right.

    • うずまき ナルト
      うずまき ナルト 2 months ago

      Rengaruu “There are fans inside both the Mac Pro and the Pro Display XDR, but with the screen, they are solely to cool certain unspecified components. Ternus and Ligtenberg say that it is the bored metal holes that mean the LED panels can run brightly without problems.” More on www.google.com.my/amp/s/appleinsider.com/articles/19/12/11/apple-engineers-reveal-how-they-prevent-mac-pro-overheat/amp/
      I also watched the live Apple keynote announcing the Pro Display XDR and it was mentioned there’s a fan inside. Several people also pointed out the error in Max Tech’s previous video and they are still getting it so wrong.

    • Rengaruu
      Rengaruu 2 months ago +1

      Huh, what's wrong with it? The Pro Display XDR is in fact passively cooled as it doesn't need a fan thanks to its large backside surface area.

  • Paul Anderson
    Paul Anderson 2 months ago +2

    Your videos are really something special. I love the honesty. You cut through all the bs, and just call a product for what it is. - This is by far, the best and most informative review I've seen.

  • Ron Hoppner
    Ron Hoppner 2 months ago +1

    Where'd the wallpaper in the video thumbnail come from???

  • Jazter
    Jazter 2 months ago +2

    I'm a huge fan of the scripts that you guys write for your videos. That, along with the video editing and the cadence in which you speak make it very easy for someone who's not very knowledgeable in pro tech life, but is interested in new tech such as myself, able to follow along very easily.
    Other videos I watch, sometimes the reviewers speak in a way that makes me feel like I should know everything already, while others seem to stumble across some knowledge and it's not explained well enough.
    Thank you for your always fair and unbiased reviews

  • Jukka
    Jukka 2 months ago

    Tempted to get the XDR to replace my old Thunderbolt display. I only do coding, so the pro features would go to waste, but the design and quality of this thing is bar none. But it's still a hard pill to swallow due to the price. If there was a lower spec 5K version of the Pro display, I would order in a heartbeat.

    • Alden Hoot
      Alden Hoot 2 months ago

      *If* you've got the $ there are worse things to buy. Getting up to, or staying at what Apple calls "Retina Display" resolutions (varies by size of screen and viewing distance) will have a significant impact in your speed and accuracy while reading, so imagine there could be some actual benefit even if most of what you do is staring at text all day.

  • XxMsrSzprzxX
    XxMsrSzprzxX 2 months ago

    Excellent video. This thing is the jack of all trades.

  • Keith Walls
    Keith Walls 2 months ago

    Have you tested the monitor with the Blackmagic eGPU Pro?

  • Chaosmelone44
    Chaosmelone44 2 months ago

    How to waste more than 75.000$ for a PC with a display (monitor).

  • Gianluca Mazzarolo
    Gianluca Mazzarolo 2 months ago

    So, long story short: this monitor is amazing for hi-end grading of commercials and shorts as long as brightness is in grading mode or at 30-ish %, correct?

    • Alden Hoot
      Alden Hoot 2 months ago

      The real tipping point is destination. There really aren't that many HDR compatible delivery methods yet (especially ones that have consistent support across all, or even most HDR displays). It'd be amazing for grading HDR content intended for the web, and especially mobile viewing since iPhones & iPads + RU-clip is probably the most ubiquitous method out there right now. If you want to grade for Netflix, Cable or terrestrial Broadcast, I don't think the folks you'd be working with would consider the Pro Display XDR to be an acceptable solution... At least not yet.

    • Gianluca Mazzarolo
      Gianluca Mazzarolo 2 months ago

      @Max Tech Thank you for the clarification!

    • Max Tech
      Max Tech  2 months ago +1

      It’s amazing at any brightness in normal lighting conditions but if you are working in pitch black or a very dim room it’s also amazing In any scenario at 50% brightness or below (and Apple locks you in at a dimmer amount when grading just like you should be at with any monitor) and you can even use it at 100% for most scenes or things as well (if you want to burn your retinas lol) But IF you have the brightness up and if you have very small spots that are white on a pure black background especially if it’s a sharp line or spot you can have some glowing as I showed but not as bad as many others did with inaccurately taken photos.

  • Hi-Fi Insider
    Hi-Fi Insider 2 months ago +1

    @max can you please test the quality of HDR movies playback from iTunes/AppleTV app on Mac?

  • Hi-Fi Insider
    Hi-Fi Insider 2 months ago

    I want a 30" iMac 5K and 15" iPad Pro

    • Max Tech
      Max Tech  2 months ago

      I would LOVE a 30” iMac Pro!

  • Troy Donaldson
    Troy Donaldson 2 months ago +5

    This was a super informative and well done review. Best one I've seen.

  • John Snow
    John Snow 2 months ago

    Max, I was at the Apple flagship store here in Chicago, checking out the Pro Display XDR. Really, really disappointed the brightness was identical to my 2017 5K iMc and LG 5K display. If I understand you correctly, the Pro Display XDR will default at about 500 nits and will to get brighter unless you're working with HDR. If that's true, I have zero interest and will stick with my 5K displays, as all the XDR is for normal users is a larger 4K or 5K display.
    6K didn't blow me away like I thought it would---the display just looked like the 32 inch version of the 5K iMac or LG---just a larger retina display. I can see it being useful if you work with HDR or need to edit video in 4K, but for normal users? The XDR seems to be just a larger Retina display. :(

    • Max Tech
      Max Tech  2 months ago

      Yea I’d your not using the 10 bit colors and HDR a lot of the money spent is wasted.

    • John Snow
      John Snow 2 months ago

      @Max Tech Yeah, this is a no go for me. Thanks for explaining it---again, I was super disappointed when I got up to the machine and realized it was basically the same as my LG 4K and 5K--just larger.

    • Max Tech
      Max Tech  2 months ago +2

      Your exactly right. The PPI is exactly the same as the 5K they just compensated for the extra size and the brightness is also the same since I guess that’s the proper amount for SDR and they think it’s good for normal uses. As I said in the video personally I wish they let it get brighter. Check out or comparison with the 5K. 6K Pro Display XDR vs 5K LG Ultrafine - Worth $4700 More? ru-clip.net/video/kLKOOFaI0gY/video.html

  • TJF Denver
    TJF Denver 2 months ago

    I'm sticking with my massive 13" amber green screen

  • snappycattimesten
    snappycattimesten 2 months ago +2

    8:26 shots fired at that hack who’s name won’t be mentioned.

  • RunFor OurLives
    RunFor OurLives 2 months ago

    Why would Apple make a $2500 monitor when a typical config that they sell costs $15-20k?
    People buy MacPro to get the best. 6k monitor offers the best.
    Makes perfect sense.
    If you want a cheap ass monitor, just get yourself a commodity monitor from Dell or AOC etc ...

    • Max Tech
      Max Tech  2 months ago

      To sell it to all the rest of the iMac, Mac Mini, and MacBook owners which there are way more of.

  • El Nino
    El Nino 2 months ago

    Can i use the xdr display with a mac mini with a egpu?

    • Max Tech
      Max Tech  2 months ago

      Yes I would suggest the BM eGPU’s.

  • Vladimir
    Vladimir 2 months ago

    Thank you for the answer to Mac Pro 2013. Your review its honest and really professional, don't change in the future :-)

  • Roman Suvorov
    Roman Suvorov 2 months ago

    XDR is an amazing display from a designer point if view.
    XDR Design is outstanding.

  • P G
    P G 2 months ago

    Price= Two kidneys..😂

  • Life in Japan
    Life in Japan 2 months ago

    This is an absolutely fantastic review. Great comparisons and insights! Thanks for your hard work!

  • Azam Jamal
    Azam Jamal 2 months ago

    the stand is not that good, it seems that you're have not seen other stands because you did not to think to even before this

  • DK zhao
    DK zhao 2 months ago +1

    What‘s wallpaper for the link cover

  • Allan Sh
    Allan Sh 2 months ago

    I am still pissed that the highest resolution available for Mac users is measly 6K.

  • anten edilbert
    anten edilbert 2 months ago +1

    Good that you brought this. We in Cinema use Eizo hdr10+ monitors that cost 35000$ or 25 lakhs after tax and duty in India. Apple's XDR CAN'T EVEN get closer to color and brightness. But they had balls to compare that with high end reference monitors. But hey they're disrupting the market really good. Now LG has to down the cost with hdr ultrawides too. And Eizo will also think this around. Man but I'm still expecting you to kill this Mac pro and xdr with threadripper rig and Nvidia rtx 6000 or 8000 that costs way less. We'll I've the knowledge but the brands don't sponsor me to do this but you can man. Please try and do it.

  • I agree with you and,
    I agree with you and, 2 months ago

    Ew. Regular maxes out at 500nits? That’s sooo lame.

  • matsuken91
    matsuken91 2 months ago +1

    Your eyebrows looks so sour again

  • Adam Piotrowski
    Adam Piotrowski 2 months ago

    mic is clipping.why?

    • Max Tech
      Max Tech  2 months ago

      Unfortunately yes and we couldn’t reshoot. We got a new shotgun and it’s 10db more sensitive. We turned down the gain but looks like I was a bit too loud when talking.

  • Greg Goodenough
    Greg Goodenough 2 months ago

    I just don't understand why other manufacturers don't have a glossy/glass display option along side their matte options on their high end monitors. I've even reached out to manufacturers requesting a custom option and paying more, but never heard back.

  • Michael Shaw
    Michael Shaw 2 months ago +1

    where'd you get that wallpaper ?

  • Le Chat Botté
    Le Chat Botté 2 months ago

    it is not passive cooling it has fans built in , at those brightness levels it gets really hot mate.

  • doe nil
    doe nil 2 months ago +1

    hey Max Tech where Do you download your wallpapers

  • Martin Parzen Film
    Martin Parzen Film 2 months ago

    i would definitely going with two color correct monitors like eizo instead of one of these, because macos with mac display and color sync isnt the perfect solution for grading. so instad of 6000 dollars for this display i would go with a decklink card and two color correction monitors, same price.

    • uhohoverflow
      uhohoverflow 2 months ago

      And an absolutely cluttered desk.

  • Mattia Righetti
    Mattia Righetti 2 months ago +8

    5:32 I need that wallpaper! Can you share the link to it?

    • Alexis
      Alexis 2 months ago +2

      I want it too !

  • itsah e4666
    itsah e4666 2 months ago

    lmfao, fuck that. there's much better displays for under 6k.

  • kevin02167
    kevin02167 2 months ago +11

    I was today’s days old when I learned that “blooming” wasn’t my eyes being weird

  • Max Muro
    Max Muro 2 months ago

    I love this monitor. But to expensive

  • Michael Peterson
    Michael Peterson 2 months ago

    What speakers are those?

    • Max Tech
      Max Tech  2 months ago

      right here! geni.us/NBGOaz

  • Fast Cars
    Fast Cars 2 months ago +5

    Hello MAX, where i can download this beautiful wallpaper? Thank you

    • DK zhao
      DK zhao Month ago

      @Rage tell me plz :))

    • Rage
      Rage 2 months ago +1

      I found it but its a stock photo and needs purchasing

  • Andreas R. Hoffmann
    Andreas R. Hoffmann 2 months ago

    Hello,
    the problem I see is that Apple doesn't sell a Mac and a display for the "rest of us".
    Imagine this Apple line up:
    Mac Pro
    Mac
    Mac mini
    MacBook Pro
    MacBook
    iPad Pro
    iPad
    But,what most of "you"don't know is that Apple is inherently evil.
    Btw.did you know that Steve Wozniak is a freemason aka worshiper of satan?
    Let's take a look at one official freemason website:
    freemasonry.bcy.ca/biography/wozniak_s/wozniak_s.html
    and of course:
    www.businessinsider.com/the-most-influential-freemasons-2014-3?r=DE&IR=T
    Now ask yourself why the first Apple Computer was soled for 666,66 Dollars.....
    Apple is one of satan's own companies.
    Ask yourself do you want hope and everlasting life?
    If your answer is yes please repent and be born again!
    Only Jesus Christ can give you hope,save you and give everlasting life.
    Here you go:
    John 3:16
    16 For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life.
    17 For God sent not his Son into the world to condemn the world; but that the world through him might be saved.
    18 He that believeth on him is not condemned: but he that believeth not is condemned already, because he hath not believed in the name of the only begotten Son of God.
    19 And this is the condemnation, that light is come into the world, and men loved darkness rather than light, because their deeds were evil.
    20 For every one that doeth evil hateth the light, neither cometh to the light, lest his deeds should be reproved.
    21 But he that doeth truth cometh to the light, that his deeds may be made manifest, that they are wrought in God.
    Romans 10:9
    9 That if thou shalt confess with thy mouth the Lord Jesus, and shalt believe in thine heart that God hath raised him from the dead, thou shalt be saved.
    10 For with the heart man believeth unto righteousness; and with the mouth confession is made unto salvation.
    11 For the scripture saith, Whosoever believeth on him shall not be ashamed.
    1 Thessalonians 4:13
    13 But I would not have you to be ignorant, brethren, concerning them which are asleep, that ye sorrow not, even as others which have no hope.
    14 For if we believe that Jesus died and rose again, even so them also which sleep in Jesus will God bring with him.
    15 For this we say unto you by the word of the Lord, that we which are alive and remain unto the coming of the Lord shall not prevent them which are asleep.
    16 For the Lord himself shall descend from heaven with a shout, with the voice of the archangel, and with the trump of God: and the dead in Christ shall rise first:
    17 Then we which are alive and remain shall be caught up together with them in the clouds, to meet the Lord in the air: and so shall we ever be with the Lord.
    18 Wherefore comfort one another with these words.
    Now the most important question of your life is this "where do you want to spend eternity?
    In hell or with Jesus Christ?
    Today is your day of salvation!
    Here is your invitation to the biggest party of all time!
    drive.google.com/file/d/1eQf9i0L3gt4OYfMJgbKUOZrkyNjG6sBx/view?usp=drivesdk
    drive.google.com/file/d/1vCpu4cLbsw3uxPUCecaoS7-V3ZW3LsMs/view?usp=drivesdk
    www.kingjamesbibleonline.org
    🔜✈️🕊👰🎩💍🐑👑🎉🥳🎆🎇🎊🎂🍾
    Maranatha

  • NUT Corporation
    NUT Corporation 2 months ago

    They blew the traditional apple design into this generic pc design

  • Miguel Ibaceta
    Miguel Ibaceta 2 months ago

    Hi, nice job! however at 10:50 there was a problem with the video and sound there

    • Kyle Cronin
      Kyle Cronin 2 months ago

      Miguel Ibaceta Looks OK to me. He was just showing a photo of a reference monitor on the desk of a pro

  • Zeldagigafan
    Zeldagigafan 2 months ago

    IMO, the biggest drawback of this display is the lack of an OSD. The OSD provides a platform agnostic experience, and I do see this being the biggest reason why many people avoid it, even if they do have a bias towards the Mac platform, but do occasionally use non-bootcamp Windows. And to a certain "Ryan Rife" when he said "you're comparing it to something that is nearly 10x more expensive" (8:15) That's what Apple started by comparing it to a display that is $43k

  • Alain Ding
    Alain Ding 2 months ago

    The design really looks fantastic! But how about dust getting into the display due to the lattice back? How will you deal with that? One option is to clean it like every other day... 😅

  • Interceptor
    Interceptor 2 months ago +5

    It's basically a 6k LG nano ips display with local dimming....

    • Interceptor
      Interceptor 2 months ago

      That it brings some minor flaws like linus pointed out. But it is very cheap compared to the other high end monitors. Unfortunately no windows support...

    • uhohoverflow
      uhohoverflow 2 months ago +1

      … your point being …?

  • George Senda
    George Senda 2 months ago +1

    The constant pitching of the Micro Center is annoying. Do it at the end of the video please.
    Nearest one to Northern California is in Tustin, Ca. so its useless to us up here as much of their products are for pick up only.

  • 1K Subscribers Challenge
    1K Subscribers Challenge 2 months ago +1

    6k must be lit

  • Mikhail Fayto
    Mikhail Fayto 2 months ago

    Thanks for review! But please, say the model of your speakers! :)

    • Max Tech
      Max Tech  2 months ago

      right here! geni.us/NBGOaz

  • Ice Fall
    Ice Fall 2 months ago +1

    Watched this on my MacBook Air 13".


    Still impressed with the MB Air.

    • Alden Hoot
      Alden Hoot 2 months ago +1

      Use mine every day too. Nice uncomplicated machine.

  • Jon Pais
    Jon Pais 2 months ago

    I’ve got Sony, so can’t even create HDR content. Those thinking of saving money by purchasing the PA32UCX will be shocked to learn they’ll need to spend an additional $2,295.00 in peripherals to use it with a Mac. 😅

    • DUST35
      DUST35 2 months ago

      @Max Tech For color grading it should work as with any other computer monitor / grading display where you use a dedicated video card? You might not even need a card that supports HDMI 2.0a (for PQ-HDR) if the monitor can select that HDR mode manually... To see my workflow please check out this playlist 'How to create HDR video': ru-clip.net/p/PL4xt37zaK8Ztp2wMRuBVakrqLLPII-Aze

    • Max Tech
      Max Tech  2 months ago

      Hey John. Did you see my comment on your blog? I want to get one or more of those Asus for a comparison. Do you think that you HAVE to have that addition to do prosumer HDR grading or just better to?

  • Twigy
    Twigy 2 months ago +5

    Can I have the link to the wallpaper from the thumbnail ?

  • Bryce Steiner
    Bryce Steiner 2 months ago +3

    the grading was interesting when the cell pictures were comparing to other reference monitors. You could clearly see the Apple display was set much brighter than the others.Of course, there will be blooming. If the other monitors could even go that bright, which they can't, then i bet they would be much more comparable.

    • Bryce Steiner
      Bryce Steiner 2 months ago

      @Le Chat Botté How was I wrong? The image from the cell phone camera shows the Apple display is set to being brighter - look how the colors are blown.
      I didn't say anything about what you are talking about - only the comparisons between the three.

    • Le Chat Botté
      Le Chat Botté 2 months ago

      you are totally wrong , apple marketed their display for hdr content and hdr needs alot of brightness and they didnt succed at removing the blooming thats why the real pro displays are still going to succed sorry mate.

  • Abdurahim Mando
    Abdurahim Mando 2 months ago +5

    This is the best Pro Display XDR review I have seen so far. Thank you for the awesome work!

  • Mark Toia
    Mark Toia 2 months ago +8

    Thank you, I've been testing the XDR for a while now, before launch, and you are smack on with your summery, Good on you. Well done.

    • DUST35
      DUST35 2 months ago

      Are you doing any HDR content Mark? I would like to see more pros uploading in HDR to RU-clip. 🙂

    • Lloyd Athill III
      Lloyd Athill III 2 months ago

      *summary

  • Reid Nantes
    Reid Nantes 2 months ago +10

    Though it may not be a display for large Hollywood studios, it’s perfect for Smaller studios. Just wished they made something like a Pro Display HDR that fit better with people like coders who want a high quality external display to go with their MacBook Pro.

    • Jonas Borho
      Jonas Borho 2 months ago +2

      Reid Nantes because you need HDR for coding, sure why not

  • kevinbs05
    kevinbs05 2 months ago

    ultra high resolution for coding buy the 8k monitor... I would never use that to code or anything, hell I'd use a cheap 1080p monitor and buy more powerful hardware to code.

  • Aegon The Conqueror
    Aegon The Conqueror 2 months ago

    Question: I have the XDR Display and have a 16 inch macbook pro but I can't watch videos on youtube in HDR. How can I fix it so that I can watch videos in hdr ?

    • Jon Pais
      Jon Pais 2 months ago

      Aegon The Conqueror Apple’s Safari does not support 4K RU-clip playback or VP9 codec. Have you tried Chrome?

    • Max Tech
      Max Tech  2 months ago +1

      Which browser are you using?

  • Йордан Кирачен

    a well made video! Excellent job

  • OB
    OB 2 months ago

    I want it so bad,y. Gorgeous display.

  • Hardware Software
    Hardware Software 2 months ago

    So... XDR isn't comparable to reference monitors but it worth it as a $5000 monitor?

    • Max Tech
      Max Tech  2 months ago

      Hardware Software For many people like us the XDR will do just as good of a job for grading HDR footage while being great as a standard all around display for many different use cases. The reference monitors don’t make any sense not only because of the price but we wouldn’t be able to maximize their capabilities anyways and the XDR will do just as good of a Job. We’re uploading online and people are watching videos on their phones and computers not for movie theaters but even in that case you could use an XDR unless the company your working for has specific requirements.