It Chapter Two - Movie Review

Share
Embed
  • Published on Sep 6, 2019
  • Chris Stuckmann reviews It Chapter Two, starring Bill Skarsgård, Jessica Chastain, James McAvoy, Bill Hader, Isaiah Mustafa, Jay Ryan, James Ransone, Andy Bean, Jaeden Martell, Wyatt Oleff, Jack Dylan Grazer, Finn Wolfhard, Sophia Lillis, Chosen Jacobs, Jeremy Ray Taylor. Directed by Andy Muschietti.
  • EntertainmentEntertainment

Comments • 5 393

  • colin the dog from SPACED

    2/3s quite good...last 1/3 had me rolling my eyes (not in an IT way)

  • Miss Banshee
    Miss Banshee 7 hours ago +1

    Finally saw it last night, and YES, "uneven" is the best word for it. It's wonderful in parts, incomprehensible and boring at others. Was it editing? Script? A combination of both? Probably that. But man, I FELT those 2 hours and 45 minutes. I liked it, don't get me wrong, but yes. Uneven.

  • Professor Fez
    Professor Fez 11 hours ago

    Nah, this one sucked. It was a essentially written as a comedy with occasional gross bits.

  • ShanaJahsintaWalters

    I am 39 and I'm still scared of roaches.

  • Iron Threads
    Iron Threads 2 days ago +1

    Good casting, bad writing. Writers have no clue how to write horror or suspense and turned it into a fucking self parody. Also a total rehash of the old original IT movie.

  • Sid Sloth
    Sid Sloth 2 days ago

    I just found richie hilarious, I dunno if he was supposed to be, but literally everything he said was funny.

  • Mike Sloop
    Mike Sloop 3 days ago

    I walked out of It Chapter Two because it was so shockingly inferior to Chapter One.

  • Yunior Gamboa
    Yunior Gamboa 3 days ago

    This movie was a major disappointment
    The only impressive thing I could think of is the make up of IT and how similar the adult cast looked to the 1st movie

  • The Big One
    The Big One 5 days ago

    Chris Stuckman’s head is disproportionately large. Or is it just an optical illusion since his arms are so scrawny? You decide!

  • dsmyify
    dsmyify 5 days ago

    It was ruined by the blatant reference to The Thing, took me right out the moment. Didn't mind the spider head as such, but the line, Balmers line, that's The Thing. Just be your own movie.

  • Bodhi
    Bodhi 6 days ago

    It's called the Freddy Krueger Syndrome: and Hollywood still doesn't get it...!!! Something that once was scary or terrifying... Is right in your face you see the whole character which is not scary anymore..🙄🙄🙄🙄😴😴😴😴

  • F SkyMod
    F SkyMod 7 days ago

    For me it was a bit like a cross over between a blockbuster(with really good special effects) and a modern horror movie and the result was....not as good as the fisrt one. It was too long, not necessary so scary, not really surprising.... It's entertaining but not amazing i could say. Anyway, creepy creatures, blood, jumpscares, it's not enough to build a very good horror movie.

  • jmorris023
    jmorris023 8 days ago

    dis movie was poop

  • demonsangells
    demonsangells 10 days ago

    I agree that it wasn't as scary as the first movie due to the perspective shift, but IT chapter 2 touched me much deeper than the first one did. Also, I certainly did not feel its length, I was invested from the get-go till the very end.

  • madzangels
    madzangels 10 days ago

    my girlfriend felt my length during this movie

  • Emerald Eyes
    Emerald Eyes 11 days ago

    Aside from Bill Skarsgard and the kid actors from the 1st movie, Bill Hader was the best part of It Chap Two. I found myself bored with a lot of this sequel. James McAvoy, who I love, was too good for this film.

  • dcta51
    dcta51 11 days ago

    Imagine if Ari Aster directed it.

    • dcta51
      dcta51 7 days ago

      @alban ier no, a little bitches head would come off and this movie would've been much scarier 😂.

    • alban ier
      alban ier 8 days ago

      Then nothing would happen

  • John Wonder
    John Wonder 11 days ago

    I have no negatives with this movie..I love long movies you can settle into..LOTR were long and I love That

  • Nelson
    Nelson 11 days ago +4

    I never got bored with the movie, I feel like they really tried to stay true to the book in a lot of scenes which I can appreciate. The movie felt more like a dark comedy than an actual horror like the first.

  • Quincy Frost
    Quincy Frost 12 days ago

    Hmm

  • Resident Reveler
    Resident Reveler 14 days ago

    The movie was BORING. Had to watch it in 3 viewings.

  • rajesh1174
    rajesh1174 14 days ago

    I just saw it 2 on a plane and it was hilarious

  • Katty Koo
    Katty Koo 14 days ago

    Adult Ben was just hotter than fuck.

  • Windex
    Windex 14 days ago

    It's mostly a character story about childhood trauma. I thought you'd appreciate that considering your thoughts in your "The problem with horror movies today" video.

  • Peter Bodenham
    Peter Bodenham 16 days ago +2

    I actually prefer the second part.

  • Ashli Pope
    Ashli Pope 16 days ago

    Let's get real.. It sucked COMPLETELY.

  • sbi168
    sbi168 17 days ago

    Decent review but I disagree. I thought it was not too long at all, if anything I thought it need to be longer, specifically the Henry bowers part. Henry had a good start in the asylum but then he seemed to vanish for ages before reappearing and then dying shortly after. Ut felt like that was trimmed to much.
    Incidently I watched in imax and didn't notice cgi on characters, but maybe because I wasn't aware it was a thing?

  • Jessica Kugler
    Jessica Kugler 18 days ago

    I just watched It Chapter Two. I liked it. I think it is a bit to long. It was good. I think the first film is so much better imo

  • Marc Egholm
    Marc Egholm 19 days ago +2

    Casting was perfect. Visuals were really good. That's about it.

  • Radical Rainbow
    Radical Rainbow 19 days ago +1

    So so bad! The disgusting exploitation of gay bashing. The CGI amused me more than scared me ( that old woman was hysterical) 1 3/4 hours would have been to long. It’s dross

  • Rebecca Mathews
    Rebecca Mathews 20 days ago +1

    Ok but the scene of Pennywise luring the little girl underneath the bleachers is done INCREDIBLY well, easily the best part of the film

  • MinuteBrice
    MinuteBrice 22 days ago +2

    I had no idea if this movie was supposed to be funny or scary.

  • Guillermo Baldosano
    Guillermo Baldosano 22 days ago

    I just watched prt2 last night... Ummmmm, out of 5 balloons I give it 1.5 red balloons... Felt like I was watching a bad sci-fi channel movie

  • David Bird
    David Bird 22 days ago +1

    Maybe IT wasn't meant to be made into a movie at all some things are better left on the pages

  • Darth Haggis
    Darth Haggis 23 days ago

    Movie sucked. 3 hour film and the fucking clown is in it maybe 5 total minutes

  • Jonathan
    Jonathan 23 days ago

    nice cowboybebop shirt

  • sowavy24
    sowavy24 24 days ago

    The thing that ruined it was the lack of practical moves your in a rush trying to save a kids life so you hike it but don’t got a minute for someone to drive you there🤦🏾‍♂️

  • Cool Kaapa
    Cool Kaapa 25 days ago

    I personally loved the movie. I wish the ending was different though.

  • ANANTHAKRISHNAN V N
    ANANTHAKRISHNAN V N 26 days ago

    Could you please review Indian movie tumbbad(2018)

  • Amber_pops133 Xoxo
    Amber_pops133 Xoxo 26 days ago

    The young actors who were the Losers Club in chapter one grew tremendously in the 2 years following filming. They had to be digitally 'de-aged' in some scenes as they looked significantly older than before.
    When adult Richie enters the abandoned theater, there is a shot where an old delapidated You've Got Mail poster is behind him. If you look closely, the torn parts of the poster spell out "IT".
    Stephen King calls the film not a sequel but the second half to It.
    The casting for the adult Losers Club was overwhelmingly praised mainly due to the physical resemblances to the child actors. One of the issues that some people had with the It (1990) miniseries was that most of the adult actors looked nothing like the child actors.
    Jay Ryan used to work as a clown and would make balloon animals for the children.
    The death of Adrian Mellon is said to be one of the most disturbing scenes in the entire film.
    Bill Skarsgård stated in an interview that even after filming had wrapped, he would have nightmares of Pennywise. In these nightmares, he would have to battle Pennywise just as the characters in the film do.

  • 747lch
    747lch 27 days ago

    There is some disastrous CGI in this movie, pretty much ruined it for me

  • First Name Last Name
    First Name Last Name 27 days ago +2

    I really think Mike was used for nothing but exposition. He was barely shown in any of the flashback scenes and his adult character said nothing but vague statements and expositionary dialogue. He had no personality.

  • Patrick Lange
    Patrick Lange 28 days ago

    I thought it was alright movie.

  • Cloud Air
    Cloud Air 29 days ago

    had too much disgusting gay stuff in the movie

  • Angel M
    Angel M 29 days ago +1

    I would’ve liked an IT origins movie more than IT chapter two, I’m more Interested in where and how IT came to be

  • O.G. 1love
    O.G. 1love 29 days ago +1

    I was coo with the time length 💯

  • drumrocka
    drumrocka 29 days ago

    It also looked like they didn't do the de-aging for all of the scenes.
    The kids looked different from one scene to the next.
    It was pretty sloppy.

  • trmblingblustar
    trmblingblustar Month ago

    I got the feeling that the studio was involved way too much in this film, forcing it to be pretty much a remake of the first film with older characters. The flashbacks to the kids I felt were thrown in just because people liked the first film, and it really detracted from what the adults were through. The scary parts were, again, copies of the first because either the studio or the writers didn't want it to be a huge departure from the first film. Obviously an adult would still be scared by a huge CGI monster in real life, but it isn't as scary for the audience as if the movie used real suspense to mess with the adults. Adults aren't scared of the same things kids are. We don't imagine monsters chasing us (must don't anyway). We fear old age, financial ruin, rejection, loss of status, disease, death of loved ones, ect. There were so many ways Pennywise could have messed with the adults using these fears that would have made the movie much more compelling and different from the first.

  • drdeath223
    drdeath223 Month ago

    This sucked. Not scary, preachy SJW crap.

  • Takenyao123
    Takenyao123 Month ago

    It was defeated with hate speech.

  • Frejborg
    Frejborg Month ago

    Don't start overthinking movies, Chris. The movie was good, very enjoyable, a little long, with fantastic special effects, and enough depth of characters. It's not a masterpiece, but it was really good.
    The special effects alone are reason to watch this movie. It was really great. This isn't really a horror in my opinion. I mean, like a horror-drama, and it works as that.
    I hope you're not pandering to your audience.. many movie critics are incredibly lame, and obtuse in their nitpicking, and inability to enjoy films for what they are.

    You didn't even mention how the film has some real in-your-face tropes of "toxic masculinity", with over the top scenes of violence toward sodomites, the creepy father who's obsessed with his daughter, making you feel like he might molest her at any moment.. and some other scenes as well. This was what I did not appreciate in this movie.

  • Sean R
    Sean R Month ago

    I was laughing most of this movie. Am I the only one who thought this was just kind of disappointing?

  • Nick Croce
    Nick Croce Month ago

    This movie absolutely sucked. I was so disappointed. Nothing worked for me. Speech after speach, barely any penny wise, a terrible ending. Ugghhh

  • Jake Perpetua
    Jake Perpetua Month ago

    So this guy talks about the “cool antique shop scene” as if it wasn’t cool. But he fails to realize that that entire scene is a cameo for Stephen King. Stephen King is the shop owner my dude. And I understand if you didn’t like the scene but he should recognize that the shop owner is the Stephen Kong’s cameo and that is clearly the only reason it was in the movie

  • DjJokerr
    DjJokerr Month ago

    You'll Float too Stuckmann!

  • XenoKaiju
    XenoKaiju Month ago

    Chris isn't very good at this swearing thing.

  • The Home Cinema Engineer

    Personally i had no problem with the run time I wanted more!
    also I think IT was just about as good as the first IT movie!

  • Monica Pfannes
    Monica Pfannes Month ago

    Too many quips

  • Luis Acosta
    Luis Acosta Month ago +7

    Too long, many scenes dragged on when they didn’t need to, anticlimactic final battle with penny wise, and heavy reliance on CGI. Yep, just gonna watch the first one again

  • Jessica Anderson
    Jessica Anderson Month ago +9

    The acting was great, casting was perfect. However, the amount of CGI in this movie is overwhelming. I wasnt even slightly creeped out by the horror scenes. I was entertained but felt like I was rolling my eyes through half of it. It was completely noticeable when the younger characters were edited. I was like, why are their faces all weird and blurry and voices sound so weird? It seemed like bev was the only one noticeably unaltered. I think a C+ is fair