Shazam! - Movie Review

Share
Embed
  • Published on Mar 25, 2019
  • Patreon: www.patreon.com/ChrisStuckmann
    Chris Stuckmann reviews Shazam!, starring Zachary Levi, Mark Strong, Jack Dylan Grazer, Asher Angel, Grace Fulton, Faithe Herman, Ian Chen, Jovan Armand, Cooper Andrews, Marta Milans. Directed by David F. Sandberg.
  • EntertainmentEntertainment

Comments • 3 960

  • Paul John Longua
    Paul John Longua 11 hours ago

    You're so young that you don't even remember the television show American hero. It totally has this flavor. Please watch American hero

  • Chrisfragger1
    Chrisfragger1 19 hours ago

    The REAL Captain Marvel movie.

    • Chrisfragger1
      Chrisfragger1 19 hours ago

      Chris, SO WHAT IF IT'S CAMP!? You know fans like camp, right?

  • Johnathan Jacobs

    This movie was terrible..aquaman was terrible..wonder woman is the only halfway decent d.c. movie...actually all superhero movies kinda suck ...I dont know what's going on with the world and popular cinema but it's not good....this movie I felt like I was watching a show on Nickelodeon that was trying to be cool but came out like garbage...not purposeful camp...they aren't poking fun at the superhero genre they are sucking ...how could you give this the same grade as alita battle angel ?

  • Hamid Raza
    Hamid Raza 2 days ago

    Bad acting, bad story and very bad thing... Paid review????????

    • _ DudaaN_
      _ DudaaN_ 23 hours ago +1

      Bruh acting and story were great,gtfo.

  • sleepy kitten
    sleepy kitten 3 days ago

    watch this movie with my boyfriend and we had alot of laughs and I also cried when he reunites with his mother. what a bitch.

  • Mutsor Tima
    Mutsor Tima 4 days ago

    Not exactly one of THE best superhero movies ever made... but it's still a whole lot better than the utterly terrible Spider-Man: Far From Home!

  • Sidhin Sivaraman
    Sidhin Sivaraman 5 days ago

    That bus scene was absolute rubbish

  • ItzVixey
    ItzVixey 5 days ago

    I thought Shazam was pretty decent. I didn’t think they’d introduce the Shazam Family in the first movie. But it made sense.
    Here’s the flaws:
    1) The Villain was weak. His backstory didn’t make me care for him at all, his motivation wasn’t very clear.
    2) The shift of tones in the movie was kind of off. For example, when he went to visit his mom, I feel like it was needed, but then again it wasn’t. That shift didn’t really work with what was going on.
    3) I feel like Shazam and Billy didn’t feel like the same person. Shazam didn’t really act how Billy acts.
    Overall I’d give Shazam a B. I definitely think it’s a step in the right direction for the DCEU.

  • Brian Eats Alot
    Brian Eats Alot 5 days ago

    This movie was ass wtf???

    • _ DudaaN_
      _ DudaaN_ 7 hours ago

      @Brian Eats Alot cgi was pretty impressive for its budget,villain was weak,but wouldn't call it bad,family aspect was great.i don't really know what you were expecting from shazam movie.

    • Brian Eats Alot
      Brian Eats Alot 7 hours ago

      Well i was watching it and it reminded me of Scooby doo the movie with bad cgi and horrible villains, I expected more i guess.😕

    • _ DudaaN_
      _ DudaaN_ 23 hours ago

      Why is that?

  • Kuldeep Thakur
    Kuldeep Thakur 5 days ago +1

    I like the movie though and enjoy it but the CGi sucks and I did not like shazam costume.

  • Sam Maxwell
    Sam Maxwell 5 days ago +1

    Anyone else have any issues with Mary in the Christmas fight scene somehow knowing that the 7 deadly sins were the source of his power? how did she know they were sins? she was never told and wouldn't have been able to figure it out...

  • rick louis
    rick louis 7 days ago

    Dcu is starting to figure it out in coming up and developing their own formula with movie making I really enjoy it. It’s not prefect but it’s was great

  • Mephisto Steiner
    Mephisto Steiner 7 days ago

    As always completly disagree. The movie is extremely cringy and the bad guy is laughable!

  • Arthur Morgan
    Arthur Morgan 7 days ago +3

    Movie was so cliché and lame

  • mighty
    mighty 7 days ago

    14 year old Billy acts like a 7 year old when become Shazam. WTF
    Shitty childish movie for kids.
    Forgettable movie

  • Absence Of Faith
    Absence Of Faith 8 days ago

    Garbage

  • iliaPayne
    iliaPayne 8 days ago

    "With Endgame coming out that's bound to be a very serious movie..."
    Comments that did not age well at all

  • Boon/Slang
    Boon/Slang 10 days ago

    How can someone like Annabelle Creation. That film is pure shit.

  • Ultimate Warrior X2
    Ultimate Warrior X2 13 days ago

    kid movie

  • Justin Katsopolis
    Justin Katsopolis 13 days ago

    I love this movie a ton I enjoyed it I cant wait to buy it on Blu Ray.

  • Jordan Epperson
    Jordan Epperson 14 days ago

    A fine review. It was good. I am a long time fan of the comic. However what about the issue with adult Billy/Shazam's character not matching up with young Billy's character. He said things that 14 year old Billy would never say based on the kid we got to know from the film. I am well-versed in the comics it was actually the first comic book series I ever got into. I let go of the things that don't match up with the comics because of course you have to, to translate into film. The two characters just didn't sync. It bothered me all through the film.

  • Michael Balchaitis
    Michael Balchaitis 14 days ago

    I have always felt this is what DC does best. Make really cheesy comedic movies. The DC characters are extremely corny. It's hard to take them seriously with all the tights and colorful flamboyant costumes. Shazam was really funny and hope DC continues making these movies.

  • Yanis Kaps
    Yanis Kaps 15 days ago

    I would give Shazam - A-

  • Earth Healers
    Earth Healers 15 days ago

    Worst movie ever

  • Ali Akhtari
    Ali Akhtari 15 days ago +1

    I saw it today, it's so much stupid and childish and most ridiculous movie that DC made ever.

  • Ali Akhtari
    Ali Akhtari 15 days ago +2

    shazam is the most stupid movie ever DC made.

  • El Rey Del Mundo
    El Rey Del Mundo 16 days ago

    I've never noticed whether or not you've used "get stuckmanized" as your super hero catchphrase before, but it's bad. It sounds more supervillain-ey.
    Anyway, I thought that the story was terribly written, although I get that they played up the cornyness factor for the movie, I found myself questioning the logic or possibility of almost everything that happened. I liked the little House Jr kid, but they really underutilized the villain.

  • Kdot prem
    Kdot prem 16 days ago

    this movie was rubbish

  • MAGACOP
    MAGACOP 16 days ago +1

    The movie was stupid and cheesy.
    Dont say its for kids either, there were deaths and cursing all over the place.

  • Ivan Nierez
    Ivan Nierez 17 days ago

    Yeah, sivana. I was expecting a more cunning adult but it goes well with the tone of the movie.
    I loved how he came back to bite old wizard in the rear. Good stuff. The low key for me was when he strolled into the conference room retelling the night of the accident(like yeah, we saw that minutes ago...). He could have done a little exposition speech on what was of his life all these years.

  • LAZZY
    LAZZY 18 days ago

    They could have done more with seven deadly sins but I guess writers didn't really focused on villian.

  • Yusuf mohmmed
    Yusuf mohmmed 18 days ago

    B

  • Dwayne Norman
    Dwayne Norman 18 days ago

    This movie is crap

  • Leonardo Bautista
    Leonardo Bautista 18 days ago

    Man his reviews suck now.

  • Alexander Šebela
    Alexander Šebela 18 days ago

    i was expecting a lot because chris like the movie but i was soo disappointed . So many stupidities and slow motions. First 1/2 movie was nice but second half terrible. How can main hero dodge lighting strike? Light travels a speed of 300 000km/h and he also got like 3 seconds to dodge from maybe 100m distance... i would give this movie a C-.

  • Cruzan9
    Cruzan9 19 days ago

    Were it not for Zachary Levi I wouldn't have given this movie a chance. He did not disappoint.

  • egoy34
    egoy34 21 day ago

    i think that number would be higher if the wizard shazam had an epic voice like kevin michael richardson.

  • BUTTErfly hiGH
    BUTTErfly hiGH 23 days ago

    Both Captain Marvel and Shazam were a huge disappointment for me...

  • fvillag1
    fvillag1 27 days ago

    You should said an F
    IT WAS INSULTING, UNFUNNY
    Destroying the creation of Mr. Parker and Mr. Peck permanently.

    • fvillag1
      fvillag1 23 days ago

      @Ryder Barton They were done well with Wonder Woman and Aquaman, I was expecting them to be good.
      Why not expect the best and respecting the creations of Mr. Parker and Mr. Peck the real creators of Captain Marvel??

    • Ryder Barton
      Ryder Barton 23 days ago +1

      fvillag1 Your Expectations went too high.

  • Joseph Gonzales
    Joseph Gonzales 28 days ago

    The first time I disagree with you

  • ADM chaos
    ADM chaos Month ago

    I loved every dc movie didn’t hate a single one

  • Jeffrey Fudge
    Jeffrey Fudge Month ago

    Dude a B this movie was horrible fell asleep the first 30 minutes

  • Kristofer Ramirez
    Kristofer Ramirez Month ago

    This movie deserved so much more. But then again people still prefered that captain marvel crap. It seems like nowadays marvel and disney movies are the only movies that matters now to critics and people.

    • Baris Bal
      Baris Bal 26 days ago

      i love both of them but i found CM *slightly* better

  • Nathan Crawshaw
    Nathan Crawshaw Month ago

    Its not really hard to believe he held that grudge all his life when you consider his father and brother would ridicule him everyday for costing his fathers legs and being in a wheelchair would constantly remind him of the wizard and how he told him that day he will never be worth anything so tries to tell people and convince them it's not his fault but the wizards but they don't believe him so he spends his life looking for proof and also to prove his worth.

  • Matt Sano - The Sword 'N The Rose

    Where do you get all of these awesome t-shirts man? Hell yea Star Fox

  • - Swayze -
    - Swayze - Month ago +1

    Gotta disagree strongly. This movie was absolutely horrible... cookie-cutter generic bullshit. And the CGI... omg !! The CGI is on Scorpion King level. Its laughable. I honestly dont understand how anyone above the age of 15 could actually like this trash. Terrible movie with a lame story.

  • EmperorTerran
    EmperorTerran Month ago +1

    Bad movie.
    Lead actor shazam while acting decently was not a good cast or the costume and overall look was bad. Look "Zachary Levi" on google images. He can be so handsome, yet in the movie he looks terrible, too old, too fat in the face, bad hair, no one wants to look like that. A forgettable 40 year old face... and superhero movies do want to make us "be" the protagonist.
    Dialogues were nothing special and jokes too far apart.
    The villain part was rather violent and rather sad too, it felt almost R-rated which is so stupid for light hearted comedy it was suppose to be.
    Really, parents hating their children for no apparent reason? It felt stupidly out of place.

    • - Swayze -
      - Swayze - Month ago

      @The badass terminator The badass terminator Filler is mindless storytelling/action which is just made to take kill time. This movie was something you can play in the background while you clean your house.

    • - Swayze -
      - Swayze - Month ago

      @The badass terminator The badass terminator That's no secret as I just admitted to this. I'm just curious as to why people actually like it. Its nothing but filler.

    • - Swayze -
      - Swayze - Month ago

      @The badass terminator The badass terminator What was good about it? Because I have a waaaaay longer list about what was horrible.

    • - Swayze -
      - Swayze - Month ago

      How about that A1 CGI though? LOL. This movie was absolute garbage. Im amazed at how many people actually enjoyed this. I dont get it

  • IGNACIO MALDONADO
    IGNACIO MALDONADO Month ago

    I hope a Dr Fate Film! along with The New Gods and if is possible, an Obsidian, or a Star Girl Movie.

    • IGNACIO MALDONADO
      IGNACIO MALDONADO Month ago

      @The badass terminator The badass terminator it can be very interesting

    • IGNACIO MALDONADO
      IGNACIO MALDONADO Month ago

      @The badass terminator The badass terminator that will be a Magnificent!!!

  • remynisce33
    remynisce33 Month ago

    Shazam rangers!

  • TyreeJackson2⃣6⃣

    Taco Bell is nasty

  • adamFIVE88
    adamFIVE88 Month ago

    I took away that he didn't really hold just a grudge, it was he almost had that power and he lost it, and his family made fun him for believing that his whole life, hence the board room scene.
    Edit; also no malice meant in this comment :)

  • Underrated Guy
    Underrated Guy Month ago

    Expected more from the movie

  • Kyle Love
    Kyle Love Month ago +4

    The very end scene of the movie at lunch is the best one. Unexpected cameo blew my mind

    • Ham Burglar
      Ham Burglar 24 days ago

      If only they could've panned up a foot.

  • Buzz Kill
    Buzz Kill Month ago +1

    shazam is meh and captain marvel is yuck

  • Paul Furey
    Paul Furey Month ago

    Love the last "word"....Freddie :)

  • Eduardo B. R.
    Eduardo B. R. Month ago +2

    Didn't like this very much i would prob give it a C- but that's because i am not into comedy movies, it gets boring so fast for me and i get eye's rolling almost all the time and it is just frustrating and i keep waiting for the movie to end :(

  • Kaio_Ken_X9000
    Kaio_Ken_X9000 Month ago

    You loved Wonder Woman? That movie was terrible

    • Jinil George
      Jinil George Month ago

      Ya someone finally..movie wasn't great..all the bad movies made the movie not so bad

  • ham wil
    ham wil Month ago +4

    Man I hated this movie. It frustrated and annoyed me. Shazam did nothing cool and the super villain was meant to be a world ender but only killed a room full of board members. The evil entities were these half finished grey monsters. The villain grabbed that evil eye thing and the wizard just waited for it to happen. Shazam's suit sucked (just compare to the comic). The dialog between the kids was very annoying, they argued what felt like most of the movie. Shazam is meant to be all powerful but "shared" his powers for the final boss fight which was anti climactic to say the least. The kid is nothing like the boy in the comic. Bad writing overall.

  • Abe Matt
    Abe Matt Month ago +2

    Dunno, I felt like this movie sucked so hard, just shitload of cliches mashed together, I think its fine for people who hasn’t seen any movies in their live, Shazam is so forgettable as a character, he looked like an adult trying to play teenager, not teenager in an adult body. Totally derivate movie with nothing new to offer neither in superhero movie genre nor as a movie overall

  • abhinav kumar
    abhinav kumar Month ago +1

    Just adding comedy to superhero movies doesn't make them good and not all dark superhero movies are bad. It's all about story, which this move lacked, big time.l

    • abhinav kumar
      abhinav kumar Month ago

      @The badass terminator The badass terminator there was nothing in the movie that was done to devlope character, the wizard couldn't find someone worthy so he just selected the first person, billy was sad and serious but shazam was all fun and goofy.

  • bill nguyen
    bill nguyen Month ago

    how come this villain dude looks more like Lex Luthor than the actual DCEU Lex Luthor?

  • Just A ShitPoster
    Just A ShitPoster Month ago

    I thought DC was all dark and serious guess I was wrong

  • Golden Boy
    Golden Boy Month ago +1

    It's weird that ppl like this movie, i feel like watching a kids movie. Like goosebumps or any Disney film.

  • Joe Northstar
    Joe Northstar Month ago

    Shazam is a kid which is nice market for kids.

  • Shadow The Human
    Shadow The Human Month ago

    No no no. Pure of heart where, just because it's funny(not really) doesn't make it great. Any real Shazam fan would know better.

  • Alex
    Alex Month ago

    I dont know, that's a pretty dense assessment of that paranormal scene. It was obvious what was happening there, they found people who experienced the same phenomena and were examining it much like how people who say theyve seen the same UFO or alien probe get interviewed for studies. I sometimes think your imagination needs a reset

  • hamid tajik
    hamid tajik Month ago +1

    the movie was honestly trash

  • Best Bout Gaming
    Best Bout Gaming Month ago

    Shazam: Best DCEU movie that doesn't feel like a DCEU movie.

  • Mikołaj500
    Mikołaj500 Month ago

    Wtf why the are so many haters in the comments, the movie is fun lol

  • The The
    The The Month ago

    So let’s get things straight! This is the universe where Superman, wonder-woman and batman exist and the Wizard is looking for candidates with pure of heart, to pass on his power too? Ummm so why aren’t they his first choice?
    Also Zachary Levi is what you get if you cross, Tim Robins with Paul Rudd 👍