Apple just got REKT by… themselves - Powerbeats Pro Review

Share
Embed
  • Published on May 19, 2019
  • Thanks to Skillshare for sponsoring this video! The first 500 of our subscribers to use this link: skl.sh/2LFQQdl will get a 2-month free trial!
    Add Honey for FREE and start saving today at joinhoney.com/ltt
    Thanks Honey for sponsoring!
    The new 2nd gen Airpods were impressive, but Apple's new Powerbeats Pro are even MORE impressive, especially for active users. But are they good enough to impress non-athletes?
    Buy the Powerbeats Pro Totally Wireless Headphones:
    On Amazon: geni.us/XiAAmM
    Discuss on the forum: linustechtips.com/main/topic/1065255-apple-just-got-rekt-by%E2%80%A6-themselves-powerbeats-pro-review/
    Our Affiliates, Referral Programs, and Sponsors: linustechtips.com/main/topic/75969-linus-tech-tips-affiliates-referral-programs-and-sponsors
    Get Private Internet Access today at geni.us/7lLuafK
    Displate metal posters: lmg.gg/displateltt
    Linus Tech Tips merchandise at www.LTTStore.com/
    Linus Tech Tips posters at crowdmade.com/linustechtips
    Our Test Benches on Amazon: www.amazon.com/shop/linustechtips
    Our production gear: geni.us/cvOS
    Twitter - twitter.com/linustech
    Facebook - facebook.com/LinusTech
    Instagram - instagram.com/linustech
    Twitch - www.twitch.tv/linustech
    Intro Screen Music Credit:
    Title: Laszlo - Supernova
    Video Link: ru-clip.net/video/PKfxmFU3lWY/video.html
    iTunes Download Link: itunes.apple.com/us/album/supernova/id936805712
    Artist Link: soundcloud.com/laszlomusic
    Outro Screen Music Credit: Approaching Nirvana - Sugar High ru-clip.net/user/approachingnirvana
  • Science & TechnologyScience & Technology

Comments • 3 046

  • Seagull 78
    Seagull 78 3 months ago +5281

    pretty sure 400 is not 50 more than 250

    • Brian Cunningham
      Brian Cunningham Month ago

      I was thinking that too lol

    • Person Dude
      Person Dude Month ago

      M Isa your joke is hilarious

    • Person Dude
      Person Dude Month ago

      M Isa so 300 usd is 400 cad but 250 Powerbeats will be same in Canada? 250 vs 300, Canada= 330 vs 400

    • David Penquite
      David Penquite Month ago

      M Isa what they’re saying is in Canada it’s $400 CAD while in US it’s $300

    • Zes Jerome
      Zes Jerome 2 months ago

      wrr, anys ok

  • Komolhasan Rabby
    Komolhasan Rabby 17 hours ago

    I am totally disappointed with this product.. beats is missing its beat this time

  • Ivan Übermensch
    Ivan Übermensch 20 hours ago

    Cargo pants aren’t a thing anymore?! What about cargo shorts? First my jean shorts, now this?!!

  • Elijah Lucero
    Elijah Lucero Day ago

    This review is crap. Apple didn’t do anything crazy here. If your an athlete or just like working out to music, get Jaybirds , there way better and more sweat resistance and leagues ahead in audio quality that these PowerBeats pros. I bought the pro’s and was thoroughly disappointed and they were my first beats I ever bought. I went back got a refund and got Jaybirds and it was night and day and also you can adjust the low, mids, and high settings as well. And you can also check out other people’s audio settings and download them to your Jaybirds wirelessly. Also it has IPX7 sweat and water protection, so if your working out crazily or if water gets on them it isn’t even an issue. Beats are a joke it’s only popular because of the brand name that there made “By Dre”. Don’t fall for this review and spend 250 dollars. Instead get the superior Jaybird workout earbuds at only 110$ for the X4 model.

  • Cordell Frank
    Cordell Frank 3 days ago

    Just got my for box price

  • itfben
    itfben 7 days ago

    This is the first in 6 reviews that I have seen which interesting pointed out these PowerBeats don't show up in Apple's "FIND MY..."

  • slashtiger1
    slashtiger1 7 days ago

    Senheiser Momentum review if you please...!

  • King Saya
    King Saya 7 days ago

    That case will fit in your pocket if your a fat ass like me

  • T HOFF
    T HOFF 7 days ago

    Senn MTWs are insanely good. Just go for the best. I am a headphone junkie with almost all of these and for in ears, no comparison. They are THE best.

  • George Ft
    George Ft 9 days ago

    Hi all , i would like to ask if there is any possibility of replacement the battery after 2 years ( i am asking because i saw on beats official site that you can replace the battery for 70 dollars ) Thank you

  • yooser naime
    yooser naime 9 days ago

    Drat! Apple ownership prevents me from buying these.

  • A.95 !!
    A.95 !! 10 days ago

    Am I the only one who is experiencing this problem? I bought this pair of headphones, and I noticed that there’s a problem with them while I am working out. The problem was with the connectivity. They disconnect for 2 to 3 seconds. Also, the sound sometimes changes, and it feels like it is coming from a deep place. I returned them to Apple and get new ones, and still the problem is there with the second pair of headphones.

  • vince Sny sny
    vince Sny sny 10 days ago

    No u can download the beats app and u see evertjing. Haha

  • Phatec
    Phatec 14 days ago

    My Powerbeats pro’s are so comfortable I sometimes forget I’m wearing them.

  • NinjaBacon Pro
    NinjaBacon Pro 14 days ago

    Rilys a she?

  • kurgan
    kurgan 15 days ago

    black is always bigger than white :)

  • Pandoran Bias
    Pandoran Bias 15 days ago

    Sadly i can't wear any earbuds that have hooks. I have extra cartilage that makes a tiny spike on the back of my ear. It sucks.

  • Yazen Al gheithy
    Yazen Al gheithy 16 days ago

    I miss polar peak

  • weranbutteroverthedeadbunny**throughVenus//

    anyone use these for full marathon or half ultra 50k running before?

  • iTsBlue
    iTsBlue 19 days ago +1

    I want one

  • Joey
    Joey 19 days ago

    Wow... just found your channel. It's awesome. Great job dude! Thank you and Congratulations!!

  • Abraham Varghese
    Abraham Varghese 21 day ago

    which 3rd party app(battery percentage) works for android.. pls advise

    • Mads Poulsen MP
      Mads Poulsen MP 19 days ago

      @Abraham Varghese it's just Calles Beats in the Play Store.

    • Abraham Varghese
      Abraham Varghese 19 days ago

      @Mads Poulsen MP could you please post the link to that app here ?

    • Mads Poulsen MP
      Mads Poulsen MP 20 days ago

      Beats own app Calles beats

  • Zegar safi
    Zegar safi 22 days ago

    My airpods is just broke now

  • Liam Branton
    Liam Branton 23 days ago

    You had me until you said lightning port

  • GetAGrip
    GetAGrip 23 days ago

    .... I like cargo pants.

  • Findoherty0697
    Findoherty0697 23 days ago +1

    5:31 VERY true
    Also love the way you used the Apple font

  • fredEVOIX
    fredEVOIX 23 days ago

    non hook earbuds don't stay 5min in my ears momentum would probably last 5s so interesting to me

  • Lucian Woolley
    Lucian Woolley 24 days ago

    You can download the beats app on android to see battery percentage In a similar way as an iOS device but doesn't conect the same

  • Lucas Sciacchitano
    Lucas Sciacchitano 26 days ago

    Material irritates the skin

  • Joe Momma
    Joe Momma 27 days ago

    I have the AirPods and those are fuckin nice. I’m gonna go buy me a pair

  • Herald Wekesa
    Herald Wekesa 27 days ago

    "No one has a homepod." lol

  • renegade_ace
    renegade_ace 28 days ago

    I have a google pixel and mine keep skipping. Any idea what's wrong?

  • nate123450
    nate123450 29 days ago +1

    I like how u review in a nerdy style. Especially with the jokes

  • ItzSebas
    ItzSebas Month ago

    Beats?! Naah, I pass....

  • ???? ¿¿¿¿
    ???? ¿¿¿¿ Month ago

    So they still sound sub par ?

  • junior valladares
    junior valladares Month ago

    I feel like the Powerbeats don’t have enough bass

  • Henry Kam
    Henry Kam Month ago

    Want to see how this stands against the Sony WF-1000XM3

    • Vinh Bui
      Vinh Bui Month ago

      Henry Kam honesty Sony will crush them in sound but the beats will be more for the active lifestyle

  • Markus Webb
    Markus Webb Month ago

    deep ear penetration... ill show you deep ear penetration with my apple earbuds......... notice how i didnt say earpods or airpods.

  • Domster
    Domster Month ago

    Just bought them today... pretty awesome. Really worth all the time I saved up for it

    • Domster
      Domster 25 days ago

      Not the kind that noise cancelling headsets can give you. And it’ll also depend on the ear inserts you choose. I actually don’t want the noise cancelling feature because I don’t want to get run over by a car when I run. I opted for the smallest of the four and even then I needed to twist it a bit counterclockwise for my left and clockwise for my right so I can have more ambient sound come in. But that’s only when I want to hear maximum ambient.
      One thing I can see an improvement on is the ease of the play/pause button. It’s too easy to press, but it’s not that bad to be a dealbreaker for me.

    • Tayfun Kuloglu
      Tayfun Kuloglu 26 days ago

      Domster how is it audio quality? Do have it noise cancelling?

  • Romefeller
    Romefeller Month ago

    i got airpods recently. one fell out of my ear at the gym today now im sold on the powerbeats

  • Samed
    Samed Month ago

    The huge charging case is a readon enaigh to not buy them

  • TheMaan2008
    TheMaan2008 Month ago

    Just wondering & out of curiosity, is the sound noise-cancelling? I mean can others hear what you're hearing?

  • Below May
    Below May Month ago

    “She did try” xd

  • Night Hawk130
    Night Hawk130 Month ago

    30 minutes is 9 hours

  • weston407
    weston407 Month ago

    just bought them, love them so far, but the first thing that came to mind was that i wished they had an app with some sort of way to control the behind-the-scenes stuff.

    • Michael Olimski
      Michael Olimski Month ago

      Hi, did I make a mistake wearing them? I send them back because there's a bad isolation to outside. When I turn up the volume more than 50% you can hear the music outside. Do you have the same issue?

  • mjc0961
    mjc0961 Month ago

    Lightning port? Trash.

  • 刘danny
    刘danny Month ago

    may i have cooperation with you?

  • Zeke Lopez
    Zeke Lopez Month ago

    Wtf is going on? He's not shitting on this product from top to bottom. Idk how to feel.

  • Tajwar Rahman
    Tajwar Rahman Month ago

    first time seeing linus not taking a shit the size of a dinosaur feces on apple

  • Clockwork Ninja
    Clockwork Ninja Month ago

    I'd be a lot more inclined to buy the PowerBeats if that case wasn't absolutely ginormous.

  • Lucas Entertainment

    Can they just release the other colours ugh so annoying

  • themahonster
    themahonster Month ago

    They look silly

  • Fernando Gonzalez
    Fernando Gonzalez Month ago

    I prefer my AirPods 2 over these. I just purchased them from the Apple store got home was excited and it was a major let down. My AirPods sound better or the same as Powerbeats pro just without the extra bass. I thought it would be a huge difference but meh returning them tomorrow

  • J Angeles
    J Angeles Month ago

    Believe it or not the bass is actually flat. Apple tuned them to the latest research that shows in-ears need a sub bass boost. Beats haven’t been about bass since apple acquired them. They are actually more reference sounding than the momentum wireless even though those are good too. The weakest link in the sound of the beats is the treble past 10k. I must add Sennheiser is really bad when it comes to in ears, the ie80 was so overrated and overpriced that Chinese knockoffs today have identical sound. With the momentum wireless they made a lot of progress but apple has a better sound team for in-ears. The momentum have boosted artificial treble that some so called audiophiles tend to like but it’s not flat. Sennheiser can’t be beat when it comes to full size headphones though

  • David Cortés DaFailboatFan

    I can’t hear this video with my LOUIS VUITTON PODS BROKE BOI

  • Duckstar
    Duckstar Month ago

    Poofter

  • Daniel
    Daniel Month ago

    I had mine for a month now and when I do cardio with a hoodie I get so sweaty that’s it’s the equivalent of putting it in a bucket of water I’m surprised they still work. Hopefully I won’t have to use the warranty

  • Genysmen runner
    Genysmen runner Month ago +1

    Please review the senheisser momentum true wireless and b&o e8

  • Paul White
    Paul White Month ago

    REKT: so 2016

  • khcstewie
    khcstewie Month ago

    I'm very late, but I'd love to see a review of the Sennheiser true wireless!

  • Venom_A1
    Venom_A1 Month ago

    So u need both in for them to keep playing your music?

  • Sailingsnail
    Sailingsnail Month ago

    6:50 lmao

  • letgouvgod
    letgouvgod Month ago

    I watched a review in which he demonstrated find my iPhone. And accessed EQ.

  • darbs brown
    darbs brown Month ago

    just get a pair of comply ear bud tips and you'll have way better noise isolation if that's what you're looking for] also, usually way more comfy than silicon tips, but alas, to ea their own;]

  • Sin JB
    Sin JB Month ago

    God I was so excited to buy the power beats pro got them and was disappointed with the sound quality :( , back to my AirPods for the mean time until something better actually comes along

  • Daniel Sprengart
    Daniel Sprengart Month ago

    What are alternatives for a bus and courtyard kind of guy??

  • BeaverKing
    BeaverKing Month ago

    C’mon now Linus, athletes aren’t nerds.

  • dj seven47sa
    dj seven47sa Month ago

    Sauna proof???

  • Gaven Boparai
    Gaven Boparai Month ago

    Are power beats pro unhealthy for you?

  • SpeedTech Inc.
    SpeedTech Inc. Month ago

    Tell homeboy to clean out his damn 👂 😂😂😂

  • supercrazymario404
    supercrazymario404 Month ago

    My favorite part is that after 2 years when the batteries degrade to crap like my AirPods have, the batteries aren’t impossible to replace since they’re only soldered with 2 wires (not as convenient as the Galaxy Buds, but way better than the tick welded and heavily glued in ones of the AirPods) and removing the cover over the main part isn’t too hard. Plus the fact that the cells are 200mWh compared to 93mWh means these will retain a decent capacity for many years and it’ll probably be 5 years before they become annoyingly low in capacity. And with the extra sound quality, these are definitely good and I’ll buy them real soon

  • Zatuo
    Zatuo Month ago

    Deep ear penetration

  • Federico Pagani
    Federico Pagani Month ago

    beats x are bomb, if you don't mind the cable

  • Daniel swaroop
    Daniel swaroop Month ago

    2:41 "She tried" 😲