Kindle Oasis Review: The Bookworm's Best Bud

Share
Embed
  • Published on May 3, 2018
  • The idea of a deluxe e-reader is almost an oxymoron, up there with “hot ice and wondrous strange snow.” The popular notion is that if you have enough money for something like the Kindle Oasis you probably already own an iPad with the Kindle app on it - and if you don’t, then you settle for a more affordable Kindle that gets the job done almost as well. But having spent 2 months with all the conveniences of the 4G-enabled Kindle Oasis, I have to say I’d have a hard time going back to any other e-reader. I’m MrMobile and this is the Kindle Oasis
    [2017] Review.

    [SPONSOR]
    This video is brought to you by Thrifter, a new way to save money by shopping based on value (and not hype). Visit Thrifter for great deals on everything from gadgets to home goods, at thrifter.com.

    [SUBSCRIBE TO MRMOBILE]
    ru-clip.net/channel/UCSOpcUkE-is7u7c4AkLgqTw

    [ABOUT MRMOBILE'S KINDLE OASIS REVIEW]
    MrMobile's Kindle Oasis Review was produced following two months with a Kindle Oasis 2017 review device provided by Amazon. The device was cellular model CW96BW and received one software update during the test period. It was tested in the US, Italy and South Korea.

    [PRODUCTS IN THIS VIDEO]
    Amazon Kindle Oasis [Amazon]:
    mrmobile.tech/4nl
    Kobo AURA One [Kobo]:
    mrmobile.tech/2j

    [MUSIC]
    "Feels Like A Comeback" by Brightside Studio, available on Premium Beat: www.premiumbeat.com/royalty-free-tracks/feels-like-a-comeback
    “Let’s Get It” by Eternity Bro, available at Premium Beat:
    www.premiumbeat.com/royalty-free-tracks/let-s-get-it
    “Escapade” by Vincent Tone, available at Premium Beat:
    www.premiumbeat.com/royalty-free-tracks/escapade

    [SOCIALIZE]
    themrmobile
    themrmobile
    themrmobile
    mrmobile.tech

    [DISCLOSURE]
    This post may contain affiliate links. See Mobile Nations' disclosure policy for more details: www.mobilenations.com/external-links
  • Science & TechnologyScience & Technology

Comments • 605

  • Jimmy Droid
    Jimmy Droid 13 days ago

    Excellent video man. One question. Can I sideload ebooks on this device?

  • samzx81
    samzx81 24 days ago

    Is that the popular idea? That seams retarded to me. I always thought that you use an e-reader because of it's display and that would rule out any Ipad!

  • Theo Smith
    Theo Smith 27 days ago

    I have a paperwhite and I love it. If I ever switch, it would be to something like an Oasis. Not gonna lie, I especially love the inverted colors, it makes it even easier on the eyes. I do wish it would have a nightmode, though.

  • Hà My Trịnh
    Hà My Trịnh Month ago

    This review is surprisingly good and helpful. Never thought I'd be impressed by a review. Keep up the good work

  • d3vill0ck
    d3vill0ck Month ago

    I own a Kindle Paperwhite 2 (because Paperwhite 1 doesn't have a backlight) and this thing is completely pointless.
    My battery is still 3-5 weeks
    I can read any book that this Kindle can read
    When will they stop? There hasn't been a significant breakthrough, no point in releasing new stuff...

  • Camille Lake
    Camille Lake Month ago

    Wow....that's a price.

  • Dawn Baltezor
    Dawn Baltezor Month ago

    Still rocking my kindle fire and I use the free calibre program to manage my 60,000+ ebooks so I don't have a big issue with storage space on my kindle or books disappearing from my amazon account for any weird reason. Don't know that the pros overweigh the price on this iteration to motivate me to upgrade when my kindle fire still works just fine. Maybe when my kindle fire dies but not before.

  • Thai Binh
    Thai Binh Month ago

    I have watched this review 5 times (maybe more). I bought the PPW months ago, after 3rd-watch. I just like this guy's voice.

  • Connor K
    Connor K Month ago

    I still don’t understand the Oasis, it has marginally more features than the paperwhite at 2x the price. For what? A bigger display and LTE? Pass

  • Mike LaFave
    Mike LaFave Month ago +1

    Many thanks. The Kindle default Home Screen was seriously annoying. All good now!

  • Johannes Wöhler
    Johannes Wöhler Month ago +3

    Paperwhite also has waterproofing, 2018/2019 version

  • Dan
    Dan Month ago +1

    The Oasis now sports a warm front-light

  • Shams Ul Haque
    Shams Ul Haque 2 months ago +2

    I got an iPad pro 10.5... Got all the ebooks on it? This oasis looks interesting.. Does anyone recommends to shift on this or not? Ipad or any other android device gives much more facilities? Worth spending? Apart from the distractions in the other tablets...

    • Shams Ul Haque
      Shams Ul Haque Month ago

      Ok please do tell about your experience

    • oATXo
      oATXo Month ago +1

      I just ordered oasis 3 yesterday i have ipad pro and i am type of person who reads without taking breaks i had somemuch eye fatigue with ipad that i cant focous anymore i will try this device and will see

  • I. George
    I. George 2 months ago

    you can find nook simple touch and glowlight for well under 50£ on ebay

  • I. George
    I. George 2 months ago

    the notion of a digital prison is an oxymoron too. stay away from kindle. do your research.

    • Stephanie Mann
      Stephanie Mann 2 months ago

      Kindles are great. Always back up using DeDRM and Calibre.

  • John Knight
    John Knight 2 months ago

    Text to Speech???

  • Monisha Gunasundari
    Monisha Gunasundari 2 months ago

    Hi. Kindly let me know a good tab for reading medical textbooks which is soothing to eyes, and gives good reading experience

  • Brian I. Jaimes-Keymolent

    Could you please review Onyx Boox Nova Pro pr Note Pro? pleaseeee that's better for reading pdf

  • prettylittleravenna
    prettylittleravenna 2 months ago

    I wish there was an ereader with this design and quality but which can read epub files

  • Joe Gates
    Joe Gates 2 months ago +2

    Amazon has added a warm light on the 2019 version. Hope you review it Mr. Mobile.

  • Muath s
    Muath s 2 months ago

    I decided not to buy but boy was he a great reviewer and content creator. Have a nice day man

  • Gray Ranger
    Gray Ranger 2 months ago +1

    Is it a good device for students? Can I get my college text books on it?

  • David W
    David W 2 months ago

    Decent coverage. The new Oasis solves the color temperature question but at a massive premium. The new Paperwhite solves the waterproof. Ugh, choices

    • Nicolás Durruti
      Nicolás Durruti 2 months ago

      Paperwhite.
      There's no reason to buy an Oasis other than the bigger display screen. Or flexing on bookworms... that will think you're trying too hard to pretend you're into books by spending that much money.

  • Rafael Nobre
    Rafael Nobre 2 months ago

    How can i put that comic on kindle, i guess its calvin and harold. What would be its extension ? thank you

  • Sam
    Sam 2 months ago

    I think I will buy the paperwhite instead. I used a normal kindle in college and loved it....read so many books on it.

  • MD Æ
    MD Æ 2 months ago

    Just wish the wikipedia pages on the kindle would navigate like the book pages. Looking up concepts with a single click is one of the biggest pros for kindle over normal books, just wish it could have a better interface...

  • red star
    red star 2 months ago

    great review man, love the style

  • Sojourn
    Sojourn 2 months ago

    Great review, thanks!

  • Harrison Hoffman
    Harrison Hoffman 2 months ago

    Lol bookworm's best bud! And I thought I couldn't love u even more!

  • Andi Bensisva
    Andi Bensisva 2 months ago

    is it reads Epub?

  • Rodney Fisk
    Rodney Fisk 2 months ago

    Good news! Amazon just introduced an IPX8 rated PaperWhite. Pretty much settles that...except the PW won't do sepia. So late night reading might not be as relaxing.

  • Martin Zanichelli
    Martin Zanichelli 2 months ago +8

    You forgot to mention if it is good to pick up women. The girl probably thinks I am smart if she sees me with one. It is easier than actually being smart, what is unreachable for me.

    • Patty J. Ayers
      Patty J. Ayers 2 months ago

      Pretty crafty idea for a guy who claims to not be smart. :-)

  • Qwarma Leon
    Qwarma Leon 2 months ago

    Still without the option of Immersion Reading

  • shanksmare8
    shanksmare8 2 months ago

    This is like listening to Patrick Bateman review an ereader

  • regreg ergerg
    regreg ergerg 2 months ago +1

    Wait there's no audio?

  • es darmon
    es darmon 3 months ago +2

    That connection you made between "overseas and water resistance" is another example of you being a very good writer.

  • USMC 7207
    USMC 7207 3 months ago

    Can you also turn pages by screen touch? I don't like the physical buttons..plus they would wear out over time

    • NETVO TV
      NETVO TV 2 months ago

      Larry Kellogg link?!

    • Larry Kellogg
      Larry Kellogg 3 months ago

      Yes, you can still turn the pages by swiping. I bought a stand that holds the Kindle over my head so I can read in bed without holding it with my arms and I turn by swiping.

  • Mango
    Mango 3 months ago +1

    For the price should be colored and faster processor.

  • Mango
    Mango 3 months ago

    many books have color pictures...so...

  • El Indigeno
    El Indigeno 3 months ago +1

    Do you have a video on Barnes and Noble Nook?

  • Sour Tejal
    Sour Tejal 3 months ago +1

    I'm fine... I have anybooks!!!

  • Indigo Black
    Indigo Black 3 months ago +3

    Thank you for your review it helped me a lot.

  • Kevin Loder
    Kevin Loder 3 months ago +3

    Do you expect a new Oasis this year? I just ordered my for $125 with trade in.

  • Kevin Bhasi
    Kevin Bhasi 3 months ago +1

    3:15 In my opinion, Likebook and BOOX handle PDFs better than Kindle, plus, they can still read content from services like Kindle and OverDrive through their respective tablet apps!
    3:45 That problem only exists on the iOS version, not the Android version.

  • Ivan Zapana
    Ivan Zapana 3 months ago +2

    I was about to buy Oasis, but I bought Paperwhite, very confortable and was a good choise 😆

    • Ivan Zapana
      Ivan Zapana 2 months ago

      @NETVO TV I guess is not good for comics, neither magazien, its perfect for books, you can check some other videos how people test the comics in a kindle

    • NETVO TV
      NETVO TV 2 months ago

      PartyUpLive is it too small for magazine or comic?

    • PartyUpLive
      PartyUpLive 3 months ago

      I LOVE my paper white. Small, simple, great battery life. I don't miss buttons at all.

  • Ajit Dubey
    Ajit Dubey 3 months ago

    Does Kindle only comes with black and white display, nit color?

  • google david
    google david 3 months ago +1

    REWIEY? THIS IS ADVERTISING

  • Paul MacDonnell
    Paul MacDonnell 3 months ago +3

    You should always turn airplane mode except when you're actually downloading stuff.

  • homebrewGT
    homebrewGT 4 months ago

    It used to be the only water resistant.... now we have paper white being water proof

  • Chadamook Mahittivanicha
    Chadamook Mahittivanicha 4 months ago +1

    The first few moments, the guy made me think of Tony Stark somehow..

  • Virrals
    Virrals 4 months ago

    reading on a kindle, any kindle, even the entry level ones, is far superior to using the kindle app on an ipad or other tablet.
    the screen is designed for reading whereas an ipad screen is designed mainly for video. it makes a BIG difference.

  • Carl Baumeister
    Carl Baumeister 4 months ago

    Nice vid. Yeah, it's a bit pricey. I made a mistake about 5 or 6 years ago when I bought a Nook. Not that it's been that bad, but I want something with a backlight so I can read in bed at night while my wife sleeps, and I've noticed AMZN offers a ton of books free that aren't available on Nook. In short, in the time since I bought the Nook, AMZN continues its march towards world domination, while Barnes and Noble sort of flounders, at least digitally. I'm more in the price range of under $150, or even $125. Any suggestions for someone like me who wants a Kindle with gentle-on-the-eyes page (my Nook provides that, too) backlighting, and a decent amount of storage?

    • ᴀᴀɪsʜᴀʜ ᴛᴇʟᴀᴅɪᴀ
      ᴀᴀɪsʜᴀʜ ᴛᴇʟᴀᴅɪᴀ 4 months ago

      I'd say get the kindle paper white. I bought it last year and have no complaints. It uses e-ink so its gentle on they eyes, and also has backlight so you can read in the dark, but the brightness isn't so much that it hurts your eyes.

  • Happy Life English
    Happy Life English 4 months ago

    The Kindle paperwhite is my new favorite, no matter what. amzn.to/2LDC8n2

  • Heidi S
    Heidi S 4 months ago

    I love my Oasis but the battery sucks. I charge it 3x a week

  • Conner Smart
    Conner Smart 4 months ago

    Now the paperwhite is waterproof imma get a paperwhite

  • randa abd elmoaeen
    randa abd elmoaeen 4 months ago +1

    Onyx or kindle?? I liked the stylus with the onyx

  • NETVO TV
    NETVO TV 4 months ago +1

    When will Oasis 3 release?

  • Inv8erZlM
    Inv8erZlM 5 months ago +4

    Well, I finally decided to get one of these and, honestly, I'm a bit disappointed.
    The aluminum feels cold, hard, and slippery. The asymmetrical design helps, but the edge kinda digs into my palm. I can't help but wish it were some type of rubber or something.
    I was surprised that the battery life is just bad for an e-reader. My first e-reader was the Nook Simple Touch, followed by a Kobo Aura One, a Kindle Paperwhite 3, and finally a Kindle Oasis 2. Right away I noticed how fast the battery drains in comparison to my other devices.
    What I do really like is the buttons. They're in the perfect spot and have just the right amount of click. They're fantastic!
    If the device were a bit cheaper I wouldn't mind, but at this price it should at least have great battery life. I know that the feel is subjective and many people seem to like it.
    I think I'm going to stick with the KA1 as my main reader and PW3 as my pocket reader. Maybe I'll try the Kobo Forma.

    • Abdulrahman BinFahad
      Abdulrahman BinFahad 3 months ago +1

      I Believe the Battery is Supposed to be working for over a month,
      if yours is less then it could a malfunction and you should Contact Amazon about

  • geekbaritone
    geekbaritone 5 months ago +3

    2019 version of paper white entry level is now water resistant.

  • Qasim
    Qasim 5 months ago

    You missed on dark-mode! That's one of the biggest reasons to go for the Oasis, isn't it...