Exclusive - The 2019 Mac Pro Launch Review!

Share
Embed
  • Published on Jun 13, 2019
  • The Pro Display XDR is UNDERRATED! ru-clip.net/video/ayrbWKSFN88/video.html
    My initial review of the new 2019 Apple Mac Pro! Got some exclusive time with the new Mac Pro which packs up to 28-cores, 1.5TB of RAM and 4 GPUs. Here's a breakdown of everything you need to know!
    Full Apple Mac Pro Specs:
    www.apple.com/mac-pro/specs/
    Couple quick notes on the Mac Pro video! ‬
    ‪That unreleased Canon 8K camera was capturing 8K Pro Res RAW with an Atomos recorder (not internally) ‬
    ‪aaand the FCPX was also 8K Pro Res RAW, not just regular Pro Res.
    Promise RAID MPX Module - www.promise.com/us/Promotion/PegasusStorage
    Andrew Dawson! mrandrewdawson
    www.soundeq.com/
    Dream Desk 6! ru-clip.net/video/40JpydYhikY/video.html
    Techno Eclipse! ru-clip.net/video/feu8nkx0zO0/video.html

    Ultimate Dream Desk Collection! ru-clip.net/video/Nm8Ms9m20_Y/video.html
    Don't buy this iMac ru-clip.net/video/alIPkkVhvwg/video.html
    I turned my Galaxy S10 into a Desk Setup! ru-clip.net/video/dEpHBK8ipdI/video.html
    What's in my Tech Bag 2019! ru-clip.net/video/0orbL_WNcWE/video.html
    Tech that made my iPhone better: ru-clip.net/video/LrcHHyMSVtY/video.html
    TLD Spotify Playlist! open.spotify.com/user/jonathan.morrison/playlist/3wmqwmIrP6MFizjiyM7k6y?si=x_rBjHbiQp2lFmyM5Qj5SQ
    TLD Behind the Scenes! bit.ly/TLDBreakdown
    Mobile users: ru-clip.net/channel/UCDlQ...
    Music via Musicbed: share.mscbd.fm/tldtoday
    My Audio Setup & Gear: ru-clip.net/video/v9hu-Avj2oE/video.html...
  • Science & TechnologyScience & Technology

Comments • 1 948

  • Jonathan Morrison
    Jonathan Morrison  6 months ago +179

    ‪Yo 🙋🏻‍♂️ couple quick notes on the Mac Pro video! ‬
    ‪That unreleased Canon 8K camera was capturing 8K Pro Res RAW with an Atomos recorder (not internally) ‬
    ‪aaand the FCPX was also 8K Pro Res RAW, not just regular Pro Res.

    • MaZEEZaM
      MaZEEZaM 2 months ago

      @JN VuC I only really want the case and then to build my own pc in it. Im guessing I probably cant even afford the entry level. I wish we could buy the empty case.

    • WoDABDC
      WoDABDC 3 months ago +1

      Yeah, 6 grand for this shit is way overpriced. Sure, audio pros may not need a high-end graphics card, but you're paying the price of it anyways. It's like buying a porsche, receiving a yaris, and going oh, I don't need the performance anyways.
      For 6 grand, you could build a PC with 4TB of Nvme storage, 8 TB of sata SSD storage, 10 TB of NAS HDD storage, DUAL 2080 Ti's, a 12-core 3900X, 128gb Ram, and a 10gb ethernet port.
      It's not, like some people here suggest, only overpriced in regards to storage.
      12-core 3900X v.s 8-core Xeon W-3223
      4 TB NVMe + 8 TB SSD + 10 TB HDD (22 TB total of the highest quality drives) v.s 256 GB SSD (unknown)
      2x 2080 Ti's v.s 580X
      128 GB RAM (2666mhz) or 64 GB (3600mhz) v.s 32 GB RAM (2666mhz)
      10gb ethernet port on both
      $5,900 - $6,100 vs $6,000
      The PC I built will completely demolish the Mac Pro in every single application. Or if you want to go pure workstation, you could get an RTX Titan or a Quadro P6000 instead of dual 2080 Ti's. The Titan will run you $500 more, and the P6000 will run you $1,500 more. Either way, it'll be anywhere from 2x-4x better in most applications for roughly the same price.

    • Jon Jon
      Jon Jon 5 months ago

      I miss you daddy. Please hurt me again.

    • Rogelio Tamayo
      Rogelio Tamayo 5 months ago

      Yeah the Mac pro is great

  • Ram Dahm
    Ram Dahm 10 hours ago

    Wow, like sli doesn’t exist at all

  • Xi Le
    Xi Le Day ago +1

    Apple just sent me an email to announce that *Mac Pro & Pro Display XDR will be available to order December 10, 2019.* I am very excited.

  • Delain124
    Delain124 3 days ago

    AMD Threadripper murders that Intel CPU.

  • gurun sahara
    gurun sahara 17 days ago

    stick to the Z. the Z from hp. 😎

  • The CheesyBagel
    The CheesyBagel 19 days ago

    but can it play minecraft

  • Xi Le
    Xi Le 19 days ago +1

    Apple does not say about 2019 Mac Pro supports how many 8K displays.
    Apple lists 3 different graphic cards, and the top graphic card supports for up to eight 4K displays,
    four 5K displays, or four 6K Pro Display XDRs 60 Hz on Apple website.

    • Xi Le
      Xi Le 19 days ago +1

      I hope when people get 2019 Mac Pros for editing & playing 8K videos at 60 Hz to the external high end 8K displays (LG 8K TVs) without lagging frames or audio out of sync.

  • Rodney James
    Rodney James 24 days ago

    Its design seems reminiscent of the very first Mac Pro.

  • Edward Balboa
    Edward Balboa 28 days ago

    Just buy the case

  • Gabriel Pdl
    Gabriel Pdl 29 days ago

    Wise words, good video..thanks.

  • Lisa Murphy
    Lisa Murphy Month ago

    So I'm trying to decide what new computer would be best for me. I'm about to start the production of 90 minute long animated movie. I prefer to work with Final Cut Pro but have used the old version for over ten years. Time to upgrade. So I would go for an iMac pro except that I would very much like to have the computer on the floor and just the keyboard mouse and display in front of me. I'm wondering if I can plug this computer into my giant Sony 83" 4k ultraHD tv. Can I use that for my computer's display and will it work alright? Do I need a particular graphics card for that?

    • Delain124
      Delain124 Month ago

      Then this won't cut it for you. You need a GPU that really is pro which this is not it.

  • presh xd
    presh xd Month ago

    Lol there's nothing exclusive about this, you're giving an in depth overview of a product you don't even have.
    Also the music producer dude is just rambling and talking nonsense(when talking about the price). You could get a really powerful 2080ti, core i9 pc for half the price of the entry level mac Pro, thats how overpriced it is.
    He's a rich music producer so ofc he can afford it, but it doesn't mean its worth it for other people need a machine for productivity as well.
    As for the raid thing, you could easily get a full tower case that can house a bunch of ssds and with 4tb ssds becoming a thing now, you could easily get 32gb of raid storage by installing 8 ssds' inside the case.
    As for using dual gpu setup.
    Idk who told you that you need thirteen fans to cool two gpus. Most gpus have two or three fans, so that's six total fans max to cool the two gpus not thirteen. Also Nvidia used to make dual gpu cards like a decade a go but quit because people weren't really interested in them and stuck to single gpu cards, causing poor sales numbers.
    And for the quad gpu thing, you could easily just get a higher end motherboard or server motherboard, those support up to four gpus or more, so it's not like apple are the only ones who can do it, windows and Linux machines have been able to run quad gpu configs for a while now.
    Nothing special, nothing unique, same old overpriced and overhyped tech.
    Yes the direct power delivery thing to the gpu is pretty innovative, I guess, but that's fixing a problem that doesn't exist, six pin connectors work just fine.

  • mariodrv
    mariodrv Month ago

    All you fucking idiots in the comments thinking this piece of shit is anything but an overpriced and underperforming pice of garbage deserve to be fleeced by Apple.
    Fucking morons.

  • mariodrv
    mariodrv Month ago

    No they didnt nail anything. The thing is an overpriced and underperforming piece of shit from a grosly anti consumer company.
    And you are an idiot for thinking this is a good product.

  • Bobtheconqueror 42
    Bobtheconqueror 42 Month ago

    Can you install windows on it

  • Durka Durka GoatHumpers

    November and still waiting.

  • Laurent de backer
    Laurent de backer Month ago

    While i agree completely with you jonathan, i think you are just bit too harsh over the fact that back in the days, we didn't have options like the iMac Pro etc... Of course, we didn't have an iMac Pro, but the Mac Pro from back then wasn't $5999 either. It was more around $3000 which is literally half the price. Now, i will be buying this Mac Pro, but i just wanted to mention that it's a bit too easy to say that we have options now. Rather say that this is just not the machine for you if you think this machine is too pricy, which is what you eventually said i think. Anyway, great video, i personally do more music production but i also do some web developing and graphic design, so i'm happy with this Mac Pro. Currently have the trashcan mac pro.

  • Max T
    Max T Month ago

    iToddlers never cease to amaze me

  • Filtiarn
    Filtiarn Month ago +1

    So I can put a Samsung SSD 970 PRO NVMe M.2 512GB in it?

  • RedblueRenegade
    RedblueRenegade Month ago

    Just curious, this may not be true, but can this new Mac Pro run high end games such as Tomb Raider on very high settings? I'm not gonna get this as due to the pricing, but it looks and feels very high end.

  • Alex Caminiti
    Alex Caminiti Month ago

    I run a Pro Tools HDX studio and could not be more stoked about what I'm seeing. It's great that Apple listened to us and ditched the trash can. My 2012 12 core is still rocking. Still running mavericks and PT 11. When the day comes, I will happily drop the cash for a new 12 core. 1.5 TB of Ram. LOL. That hurts my brain. Most people don't realize that Pro Tools caches session audio into ram, so that means that the Ram is playing back the audio, not the hard drive. The HDX card is handling almost all processing other than native plugs like most reverbs and delays... I usually come close to 75% of my system during my biggest sessions. This new mac pro with HDX will be more power than anyone could ever realistically need. That's completely aside from how awesome it will be to edit video. Really happy that Apple knocked this one out of the park. A lot was riding on their new Mac Pro and it's awesome that they are delivering. Thanks, Apple. You'll get six grand from me in a few years.

  • E L I T E O N T H E B E A T

    What i'd like to know is where can i buy some spinner wheels for this new mac pro? 😂 😂 😂 😂

  • E L I T E O N T H E B E A T

    Most the people complaining in the comments about this new mac pro don't have more than 1.5 tb of storage.....

    and built a "custom pc" for $500 so they can play minecraft.

  • Yszen I
    Yszen I Month ago +1

    "1½TB..." (of storage PFFTTTT That's loooowwww)... of RAM
    Me: wut

    • Ebola
      Ebola Month ago

      omg ikr lol

  • MVLGUS
    MVLGUS Month ago

    I work with Maya, so I may actually get this haha

  • - crescent -
    - crescent - Month ago +1

    The most expensive and beautiful cheese grater... that you can connect your laptop with

  • IdealSound & Performance

    all I care about is that they bring NVIDIA back so I can run my RTX in my current mac pro cheesegrater.. been stuck on windows since my 980 died. :(

    • IdealSound & Performance
      IdealSound & Performance Month ago

      And I am an audio engineer / producer as well, I love logic, all my production is on my OS X install, which technically I can use with my 8800GT but..PITA

  • noobsgopro535
    noobsgopro535 Month ago

    don't let this distract you from spending 6000+ for only a cheese grater and stand

  • That One Guy With A Moustache

    That’s some pricey af Mac and cheese

  • Random world
    Random world 2 months ago +1

    6000$ hmm nor worth

  • Rob Zombie
    Rob Zombie 2 months ago

    256gb of hard drive space? Did I hear that right?

  • 77xDivaOkurrr7ATSymbol
    77xDivaOkurrr7ATSymbol 2 months ago

    I wish genuine good luck to anyone that can afford to purchase this privately. I'll just be over here with the pocketed $10k+ I saved getting a PC that runs everything I need as well as I need it to for an 8k RED post workflow.

  • Xi Le
    Xi Le 2 months ago +1

    Can 2019 Mac Pro support the Phase One cameras that capture 12K video of 16 bits RGB (100 Million pixels)?

    • Xi Le
      Xi Le 2 months ago +1

      Digital video resolutions (pixels/frame) and colors (RGB/pixel) have increased exponentially:
      1080p of 8 bits RGB
      4K of 10 bits RGB
      8K of 12 bits RGB
      12K of 16 bits RGB
      16K of 20 bits RGB

  • OLDSKOOL978
    OLDSKOOL978 2 months ago

    I would recommend audio engineers look into RME. they use an FPGA to handle audio and it can make any potato a valiant engineering tool. that said, youd have to spend some extra cash to get things working. I myself use an hdspe AIO with an external clock source. I can open project that fail to open at some of the studios I work from. Apogee is good on mac, RME is probably the best though, they use some sort of voodoo.
    Ill probably have one of these to play with soon, excited to see how it stacks up to my next build.

  • Tom Witcher
    Tom Witcher 2 months ago

    Hey good vid just a clarification of fact regarding Protools. I worked at Chapman Recording and Mastering for about half a year (they put out Caribou Lou by Tech N9ne which is platinum and the whole Everready album). You do not need a pcie slot to run protools hd anymore, so pcie expansion is not huge for audio production. It never has been, but it was for protools for a period of time.

    And I want to clarify that NEVER EVER did we have to use different machines for different types of audio production. VO's, Music, Radio Ads, NEVER was a different machine used. Even the weakest machine could handle multiple vst's, tracks recording simultaneously, and offline bouncing. This engineer in your video must have had a VERY old machine if he is being truthful, or is getting a check for making these statements.

    Also applications like Studio one 3 are starting to compete with Protools mixing workflow. Which was Protools main selling point and still is for now..... Buy this if you can afford apple tax. An Imac pro would give you much more for your money if you want to go apple. But really, just build a windows machine if you want to save thousands and can watch a 20 minute video on how its done. Lastly Protools Expert has done a poll showing what types OS people have beeen using to make music it has been a dramatic flip from Mac to Windows in the past few years.

  • WOWCRITS
    WOWCRITS 2 months ago

    Apple got you trap into their ecosystem. They can charge you whatever they want now. It’s going to cost you more money to learn other ecosystem, so people or bots, ..pay the hell up. Apple OWNS you. ..LOL..

  • Outer Banks Productions Haber

    That's one informative review! Well done! I'm out of video now so my old 2006 tower is retired. I wanted to upgrade it in 2013 but felt the trash can pro was not worth it. All I remember is wishing that they had made a new tower and not a can. This 2019 Mac Pro looks stunning. Obviously Apple caught some crap from pro users who really need this. So instead of buying the trash can pro, I got a maxed out Imac in 2012. I was concerned with it being able to handle my video workflow but honestly, It all worked fine and still using it to type this. I did have a hard drive go and had to deal with getting the glued on screen off. That part of the imac is one of it's worst features. But other than that, I love it. Again, great review Jonathan!

    • mariodrv
      mariodrv Month ago

      No and wrong. They are upset because it overpriced and underperforming garbage with last gens tech from a grossly anti consumer company.
      You can get a faster machine with windows OR macOS for less then half its price.

  • Bank Got Beats
    Bank Got Beats 2 months ago

    I tired to export a 5 min 4k video using i7 6700k, Nvidia gtx670, 16gb ram and it took an hour to export. Imagine exporting 4 hours of 4k. My rig was $2000. Like Johnathan said time is money for creatives.

    • Delain124
      Delain124 29 days ago

      Get a better more powerful GPU. Right know more people who are into animation, CGI CAD, 3D, etc are using computers that work with Nvidia and now with Nvidia Quadro rtx.
      So they are either running any old Mac with an Old is that still supports Nvidia hooked up to computers running Windows and or Linux.
      No one will buy this.

  • superollie lucky to listen to me

    I need a new cheese grater

  • Dave Brody
    Dave Brody 2 months ago

    Yes. It's for pros. Not prosumers. Not vloggers. Not self-aggrandizing influencer-wannabes. Not trust fund kids. Pros. Apple, welcome home; we've missed you.

    • Delain124
      Delain124 29 days ago

      And the pros will not buy this. They will stick with what gives them the most options for there work which are computers running Windows or Linux. Let them pick the GPU they want between Nivida and AMD. It also lets them pick the CPU between Intel and AMD.

  • MaZEEZaM
    MaZEEZaM 2 months ago

    I REALLY want to buy the case itself.

  • David Chipps
    David Chipps 3 months ago

    Does APPLE recruit THESE GAP flunkees? I would never have someone buy a PROMISE PEGASUS 4 bay RAID when they really need the ARECA RAID with thunderbolt 3 for the new Mac Pro which has a dedicated processor on board (TRUE HARDWARE RAID) for about the same price. These APPLE DROIDS don't know what they are talking about. They don't do video except for these promo clips TIM COOK probably pays them for. You can get a system from 2011 MAXED out that is more than capable of doing 4K. WHY DIDN'T TIM COOK TRY two sockets on the new MAC PRO to alleviate costs? Steve Jobs sold a 4000 dollar RAID just ten years ago and it didn't SELL. I'm counting INFLATION in. DID YOU KNOW YOU CAN RUN AS MANY RAIDS OFF AS MANY THUNDERBOLT PORTS and then SOFTWARE RAID THOSE TOGETHER FOR MAXIMUM THROUGH PUT on your motherboard? You will get 1000Mbs threw put off just two THUNDERBOLT 1 ports RAIDED together which is more than adequate for 4K.

  • Augusto Espina
    Augusto Espina 3 months ago

    But can it run Crysis?

  • gtrmusic69
    gtrmusic69 3 months ago

    Or you could just use Reaper...
    I use Reaper every day on a 5 year old Windows computer.
    I'm currently working on a movie project that has 83 tracks. Yep! 83! and I have exactly zero problems.
    It's like I'm running Microsoft Notepad...lol
    I use some of the Reaper plugins but by far I'm mostly using the Waves Platinum Bundle.

  • dba chris
    dba chris 3 months ago

    No one is buying this

  • Cris5598
    Cris5598 3 months ago

    I’ll just wear steel toe boots if I seat next to it.

  • manolo42042
    manolo42042 3 months ago

    Mac Pro 2019 is the best machine!! Thanks apple!

  • PaPiRiCoSuAvE
    PaPiRiCoSuAvE 3 months ago

    $50K for a full setup mac pro with the pro display xrd matte finish including the maximum CPU, GPU, RAM , accelerator card, storage ...hmmmm ...56 Tflops combined between the 2 Graphics cards.... but can it run crysis...? with 28 Tflops of PF32 performance per card lol... you can run crysis at over 8K at 240 FPS with this beastly PC ...(and yes it is a PC...apple needs to stop referring its products as if its a different thing ..its not ....just because ferrari is 10s of thousands or millions dollar car...its still a car..like honda civic lol....) but its obviosuly taylored for those who have more $ and want more power ....ipad is tablet, macbook pro is a laptop, iphone is a smartphone, apple tv is a set top box, mac pro is a PC ....lol ....please apple stop referring to your products as if its a totally different thing lol ... 50K for a full setup mac pro and matter xdr display is a ctually when you think about it a bargain to those who used very expensive equipment that some parts cost ridiculously more expenive than the pro full set up but 50K is not cheap either but compared to what would prob cost over 150K minimum for the similar specs u get on a full setup mac pro it is a good deal....but to the average buyer this is pricey lol...but sure af would be worth it if used for at least gaming..in fact gaming on this kinda laughable ...this thing can do beyond gaming ..you cn make do music and movie industry stuff on this thing lol ii think totall if u was to max out all the specs plus the display xdr matter finish it might come out total to like 50K more or less ..i could literally upscale or make a shitty 1080 SDR movie into and HDR or should i say XDR 8K film with all the bells and whistles with this thing and it wouldnt take days or hrs ...but minutes to turn an lower res film to 8K in minutes ....id def put use to this thing ....id make my whole movie library to 8K XDR with this thing ^ ^

  • ICE
    ICE 3 months ago +1

    Can it run minecraft??

  • ANT1989
    ANT1989 3 months ago

    Ohhhh, so THIS is what's helping people create shitty music.
    I get it now.

  • Griffith Hoel
    Griffith Hoel 3 months ago

    It was very important to go back to the old large aluminum tower format.
    It is obviously large, heavy, and can't be moved easily.
    The benefits are enormous though. Excellent airflow throughout to keep it cool with lots of fans.
    Expandable like a PC tower for easily adding and upgrading all the components.
    I really hope they will manufacture such a high-end item in the USA.

  • Dude
    Dude 3 months ago

    Why is it a cheese grater

  • Robert Kisielewski
    Robert Kisielewski 3 months ago

    Jonathan.
    No question. this is a great most powerful machine, but ... sounds a bit like your narrative is bit bias towards Apple. Let me try to balance the scales.
    - cooling. This is going to be a dust magnet. I any decent environment you will be constantly servicing
    - what is the decent machine not too "pro" you know for decent amount of mulah ? mac mini ???? that the only one without screen :) in your logic there should be MAC ..replacement of mach mini MAcPRO 1.1 - 1.x ....
    - the proprietary port (WOW ...beast ...) what about PCIE 4 ??? is it too weak ?????? apple port is better ...for what ?? apple prove that they wont release upgrades for their video card ......
    remember the promise they made for mac trash ???? where are those upgrades for video ????
    - Windows 10 box ... either inter or ryzen ...can dance circles around that really sleek ...3 times the cost MAC PRO ...
    yes I think you can build professional grade machine 3 times cheaper ..then mac pro .. OSX is becoming weaker and weaker in their offering of sofware too ...
    final cut pro, rewamped ...(mixed fillings) aperture ..bye bye ...but you can run facetime and ios apps soon ??? wow ....


    having said that ...every fall I waited for apple to plow through innovation, excite me ... fill the void of my heart and offer something too look forward to ... but not for starting point of $6k
    but I guess youtube stars people making $10k+ a month ...no big deal ..coast elite, no problem ... new toys coming :)

  • Dumb man with his baby pics

    cheese shredder????

  • blurdreamer
    blurdreamer 3 months ago +3

    mac pro is like a dream sport car, you know you may never drive the speed, but it's great to have one. lol

  • Louis Marlowe
    Louis Marlowe 4 months ago +1

    Finally, a Tech RU-clipr covering audio production - the amount of RAM headroom is a game-changer for media composers.

  • mardrom
    mardrom 4 months ago +1

    Been waiting so long i nearly bought a PC. The thing that stopped me was i did not want to buy a huge box. Huge boxes is what PC’s are all about. So although this new Mac is beefy n cool. Uurrghh its a huge PC. And a huge price. “Oh No” was my first reaction. Now I’m wavering toward my first PC again. Im disappointed that that thing is just too big. Feels like theres pc people at Apple. I will be using my next computer when i decide for ZBrush. I need loads of CPU and RAM but i do not want a huge Clump anywhere near my desk. So Apple seem to be giving me a gentle nudge toward a PC which is the same ridiculous size and less money for more.
    Im disappointed.
    Can we install Mac OS on a PC i wonder now!

    • grunchi de trap
      grunchi de trap 3 months ago

      Lmao you can't pack this much power in a smaller form factor mate.

  • Manic Mania
    Manic Mania 4 months ago +2

    My PCs wheels broke so I’m expecting a lot more out of the Mac Pro wheels...😂

  • Dennis Lindberg
    Dennis Lindberg 4 months ago +1

    Every component looks so tight to each other. My concern is fan noise and high cpu temps.
    Becouse if I would buy a computer like this I don´t want it to sound like a wind turbine.

  • bonzology
    bonzology 4 months ago

    I can run 48 tracks with 6 instances of ProQ3 linear phase on EVERY single channel and not even scratch my Mac Pro 5,1 CPU's with 24 cores(2xhex 3.3 xeons), 64gb mem and Rx580. Again, this new machine is NOT for audio, its for absurdly high rez Video, anything els is a waste. (btw, the Avid Pro Tools HD pcie cards ARE the engine, the tower doesn't mean shit)