Apple Watch: CrossFit Workout - REVIEW

Share
Embed
  • Published on May 8, 2015
  • APPLE WATCH ON AMAZON ↓↓↓↓
    amzn.to/2cQjLXf

    ▬ ADVERTISER DISCLOSURE ▬
    RizKnows purchased this product. We received no monetary compensation from Apple to provide this video.
    In order make our business sustainable and keep our content free, we use affiliate links. That means if you make purchases through certain links at the top of the description of this video, we may earn a small commission (at no extra cost to you). We appreciate your support and we look forward to continuing to provide entertaining and helpful videos for you to enjoy.
    Read our full Ethics Statement here: rizknows.com/ethics


    ▬ ABOUT THIS VIDEO ▬
    CrossFit workout test with the Apple Watch. In this video, I test the accuracy of the optical heart rate sensor for cross-training.
    Overall, it did hold up well during my test. The Apple Watch is definitely a better running tool than CrossFit tool, but with an external HRM you should be just fine. Unfortunately, you will be 100% tethered to that phone (unless you use the Apple Workout app). Since I'm pretty much always bringing my phone running with me, having a companion on my wrist to consult for distance, pace, heart rate, and duration is nice, but this won't at all be the case with CrossFit.
    So would I buy this thing? Well, I did, but the verdict is still out on the Apple Watch. I will be posting a full review as well as a review from a fitness perspective.
    Will this be one of the best smartwatches? Yes, definitely. Will it be one of the best activity trackers? Possibly. I'm still thinking pure play devices do it better.


    ▬ RIZKNOWS DEALS APP ▬
    iOS - apple.co/2qaHgzI
    Android - bit.ly/2qIDD6I


    ▬ CONNECT ▬
    Subscribe: goo.gl/aTyGpN
    The BEST Deals: rizknows.com/deals
    Website: rizknows.com
    Twitter: rizknows
    Instagram: rizknows
    Facebook: rizknows
    Snapchat: snapchat.com/add/rizardofoz
    Periscope: rizknows



    ▬ CREDITS ▬
    Song: “Magic Mountain” (by Jahzzar)
    Link: goo.gl/i4TnLJ
    *I looped and edited this track. Not the original version.
    Future Tag
  • SportsSports

Comments • 67

  • Steeve Thibodeau
    Steeve Thibodeau 4 months ago

    Why dont you strap it to your forearm? I have the polar oh1 optical hrm and its top notch.

  • Manuel Orbea Otaola
    Manuel Orbea Otaola 11 months ago

    The issue here is how to wear any of this smartwatch when exercising cleans or snatch in which you need to protect your wrist...

  • Magnus Hedemark
    Magnus Hedemark Year ago +1

    I had problems with Apple Watch accuracy until I switched to a hook & loop type wrist strap. Now it's spot on. I can get the strap tight enough for an accurate capture.

  • Huck Walton
    Huck Walton Year ago

    Update the video... it’s the first thing the comes up in search. Waisting my time.

  • mendel lopez
    mendel lopez Year ago

    does your review still applicable considering the update of OS4 which includes the "HIIT" activity option?

  • Khyra A
    Khyra A 2 years ago +2

    I can't wait to get one these watches I currently own a fitbit

  • André Menezes
    André Menezes 2 years ago

    I hate using a chest strap. It's either too loose and moving or tight and annoying me with breath motions

  • Smith
    Smith 2 years ago +4

    AHHHH Stabilize your stuff in post. GAH

  • Frankie Calizan
    Frankie Calizan 2 years ago

    What camera is that?

  • Tony Allen
    Tony Allen 2 years ago +1

    I'm a fan of Apple products, but for wearables, I haven't made that jump yet due to lack of battery life. I once was a Pebble enthusiast, but now I have a Garmin Fenix 3, and currently use the HR Ant. More accurate heart rate tracking, whenever I transfer between strength training, CrossFit WODs, etc. heart rate is always spot on.

  • Danielle Lloyd
    Danielle Lloyd 2 years ago +1

    This review makes me feel better in knowing that I'm not the only one with these issues. I've had an Apple Watch 2 for nearly a month now and have been quite frustrated with how it's been measuring my crossfit and HIIT workouts (at times it'll read below a 60 BPM when I feel like I'm maxing out and take 1-2 minutes to register a change in BPM, which isn't that great for interval workouts). Isn't the whole point of a sport watch to use it as an alternative to a chest strap?? Thanks bunches for the review.

  • Edve Ga
    Edve Ga 2 years ago

    Hello, is Apple watch 2 compatible with Polar stride sensor?

  • Carlos Eduardo Curado
    Carlos Eduardo Curado 2 years ago

    hey man, does this Accessory solves the problem that apple watch have with measuring the HR in crossfit workouts ? www.twelvesouth.com/product/actionsleeve Do a review !

  • Max Schmeling
    Max Schmeling 3 years ago

    so what would be the perfect watch for crossfit?

  • Irsac Molles
    Irsac Molles 3 years ago +6

    It is an current contest, this season Apple Watch is available..
    twitter.com/b539t/status/758902964022972417?pidid=5b1bef
    Decent deals that this source have here!

  • thomas griswold
    thomas griswold 3 years ago +7

    Pretty dependable source to entry your odds for receiving Apple Watch!
    + sites.google.com/site/GetApplleWatch/?1276434 +
    Trustworthy place formerly, pretty satisfied bought one of them 2 weeks ago

  • Yessica Ayala
    Yessica Ayala 3 years ago

    Also polar beat app if downloaded is a good secondary application. You can pair it with your polar H7 under strength training mode. Not just Underarmour

  • Eduardo Mv
    Eduardo Mv 3 years ago

    Good for mountain bike

  • ballinboylbc
    ballinboylbc 3 years ago

    ugh i bought this thing specifically for crossfit and i was wondering why it didn't match with my Mio

  • pah haw
    pah haw 3 years ago

    Apple watch doesn't accurately track HR even for cardio workouts; it is durable and comfortable, but if you really want to get an accurate HR read, it's not a good sport watch. I have found FitBit wrist HR to be more accurate than Apple watch, e.g. when compared to a chest strap HR monitoring device, but for now, the chest strap is still the gold standard if you want accuracy.

  • sam hoskins
    sam hoskins 3 years ago +5

    I assume this place is a bargains in order to try our look for the Apple Watch, you might wish to try it also.
    sites.google.com/site/getapplewatch

  • sama salman
    sama salman 3 years ago

    should I take my phone with me to the gym for the apple watch to count my calories ? and if yes , should I have my phone in my pocket or can be at a distance like a table or my bag ?

  • Dennis Kristensen
    Dennis Kristensen 3 years ago +2

    Have you retested this after the recent updates that should have made it way better?

    • Dennis Kristensen
      Dennis Kristensen 3 years ago

      +pah haw But a lot of it also feels like it's down to the 3rd party apps really lacking good W-OS2 updates... Endomondo, Nike and other nice workout apps on the iPhone, doesn't use the features and API's of Watch OS2 and aren't even able to use the heart rate sensor. Really a disappointment, but might be tougher to code for the watch than expected? Or else it doesn't make any sense for the big players to stay out

    • pah haw
      pah haw 3 years ago

      +Dennis Kristensen from my experience, even after OS updates, Apple watch is not better in the HR accuracy department!

  • Lolindgren
    Lolindgren 4 years ago

    Which app do you mention which track full body workout? Did not catch it.

  • Jeremy Eden
    Jeremy Eden 4 years ago +3

    20 years ago there were less fitness offers, less clubs & less fitness watches but even less fat people. Today the more the offer the more the number of fat folks.

    • Jeremy Eden
      Jeremy Eden 3 years ago

      @AirlineInsider you seem like a frustrated fatty. lollllll

    • AirlineInsider
      AirlineInsider 3 years ago +1

      +jerryx2000 Shut the hell up. How are you contributing to this conversation?!

  • Knot J.
    Knot J. 4 years ago

    I was wondering if the Apple Watch can pair with Scosche Rhythm+ or Mio Link? and have you tried using it with the VimoFit app?

  • Braydon Snoddy
    Braydon Snoddy 4 years ago

    Hey I do CrossFit at a local gym and also use the Apple Watch as my fitness device. I wanted to let you know that my screen has a few hairline scratches on it from doing muscle ups and just bumping equipment in the box.

    • Braydon Snoddy
      Braydon Snoddy 4 years ago +1

      +RizKnows ok thanks! I'm bought a screen protector and it works great!

    • RIZKNOWS
      RIZKNOWS  4 years ago

      +Braydon Snoddy I usually take off for workouts with MUs

  • Jeff Shapiro
    Jeff Shapiro 4 years ago

    Ideally it would be great if you listed the heart rate monitor and or have reviews of which works best for Apple Watch too? Thanks!

  • Adi Goldstein
    Adi Goldstein 4 years ago

    How come is a sport watch and there isn't a way to view your hear rate zone in percents ?

  • Richard Burns
    Richard Burns 4 years ago

    Cross fit is for wankers and pussies

  • Johnny Boy
    Johnny Boy 4 years ago

    Thanks for the review, it uses the same light sensors as fitbit's charge HR which I have and done lots of testing with a strap. It's only good for steady state cardio, where your heart rate slowly goes up and remains pretty constant through out. Any thing like HIIT, Sprints, Sports, Weights or Crossfit it doesn't work. I think it due to the sudden spikes in HR which makes these goes haywire, half the time the charge HR doesn't read anything. Maybe one day they'll get there but it seems this light technology just doesn't cut it.

  • jondoc72
    jondoc72 4 years ago

    excellent video, thanks
    I use my apple watch sport for running and I also noticed the reading been too low in some occasions
    also sometime it takes up to a minute to read

  • Danny Guerra
    Danny Guerra 4 years ago +1

    Wow...finally a channel that makes the types of reviews I've been looking for...great videos, man...one more subscriber

  • No Name
    No Name 4 years ago

    So you think the 42 would feel just as good lifting/doing push-ups?

    • RIZKNOWS
      RIZKNOWS  4 years ago +1

      @Twohex flex Definitely

  • phsycology
    phsycology 4 years ago

    Hey, would you be able to do a review of the Watch doing more weightlifting (i.e. slower movements rather than the faster-paced crossfit)? e.g. squats, deadlifts, overhead press, curls, that sort of thing.
    I feel (or rather hope, given that my preorder is due to be shipped soon) that the HR monitor might hold up better in that situation

  • CH L
    CH L 4 years ago

    U could pair the HRM to the watch.

  • Naim Nader
    Naim Nader 4 years ago +1

    Thanks for this review video

  • Jason U
    Jason U 4 years ago

    What's your number one watch for crossfit. I currently have the Fitbit charge hr. Looking into gps watches, any recommendations?

  • ospreys48
    ospreys48 4 years ago

    Thanks for the review. Since you do mention the mio product i quess its ok for me to share some refreshed feedback now that i have owned and worn daily my mio alpha 2 for over a week. Keep in mind i wear my mio alpha 2 very snug but not constricting 2 finger widths up the arm from the wrist bone. I also shaved that area. I experience the following problems during weight lifting: (results were compared with a polar chest strap/polar ap combo)
    1. BPM does not rise when constricting my muscles. Once constricting stops the bpm will jump up like a rocket but will still be at least several bpm than actual.
    2. There is a 2-10 second delay in bpm increase even when not constricting.
    The mio alpha 2 is otherwise very accurate when compared with a polar chest strap.

  • marlon paris
    marlon paris 4 years ago +10

    What's the best fitness tracker for Crossfit or strength training

  • Dale Jayne
    Dale Jayne 4 years ago

    I was wondering if you could do a comparison sometime of the calories burned by activity using various devices. Like say the calories burned during a run or crossfit using a garmin, fitbit, applewatch, etc. I've noticed that the apps that the various devices use give very different calories burned for the same activity. I was wondering if you had any thoughts on that matter. Like last weekend. Went for a run, used my garmin vivoactive with schosche rhythm plus for HR. Also wore my fitbit surge and my mio fuse. All the HR data was very similar. However, calories burned that were calculated ranged from a low of 350 (garmin) to a high of 570 (mio app).
    thanks,
    Dale

    • RIZKNOWS
      RIZKNOWS  4 years ago

      @Dale Jayne Great question. I will see what I can do about this. I always tend to believe the lower numbers. 570 is a lot of calories to burn.

  • Gravage Hulk
    Gravage Hulk 4 years ago +4

    I feel like none of the fitness watches are really aimed at crossfit/weight lifting. They all seem to be geared specifically toward cardio workouts. It's a huge missed opportunity in my book, regardless of how hard it may be to track them accurately. Weight lifting is my primary workout, with cardio secondary and I would love to have a device that tracks it all accurately.

    • clonmult
      clonmult 4 years ago

      @Will Frame I'm also glad that @RizKnows mentioned rowing - I do a LOT of that (and a little bit of crossfit type stuff) and there isn't an optical on the market that'll accurately track such workouts. I used a fitbit for general activity tracking, and fall back on a Polar HRM for workouts.

    • Gravage Hulk
      Gravage Hulk 4 years ago

      @Damien333 yeah, because pen and paper tracks your heart rate during your workout and estimates calories burned, right?

    • Marco Tolman
      Marco Tolman 4 years ago

      @Will Frame This might be what you're looking for: www.atlaswearables.com

    • Damien333
      Damien333 4 years ago +2

      @Will Frame Pen and paper is the 'device' you are thinking of ;)

    • RIZKNOWS
      RIZKNOWS  4 years ago +1

      @Will Frame Agreed

  • User One
    User One 4 years ago

    can you please do the cardio in terms of jog

    • RIZKNOWS
      RIZKNOWS  4 years ago

      @User One I can just tell you that from what I've seen, it's just fine for walking/light jogging and cycling.

    • User One
      User One 4 years ago

      Like test it to chest strap while walking about 3 miles per hour, which is for me the high end for the maximal fat burn zone (134bpm) and which would be probably the same for ppl 20-25 yr, its the main reason i would buy a fitness tracker, then i can ditch needing a treadmill at the gym

    • RIZKNOWS
      RIZKNOWS  4 years ago

      ?

  • AndrewTGreen
    AndrewTGreen 4 years ago +10

    Makes me want this thing even less.

  • Kyle Dot
    Kyle Dot 4 years ago

    Dope vid. can't wait to see your full review.

    • Kyle Dot
      Kyle Dot 4 years ago

      @RizKnows ha I bet man but I'm sure you'll figure it out though. Is the 38 really that small? I'm thinking of getting one but not sure how it'll fit me. @RizKnows

    • Kyle Dot
      Kyle Dot 4 years ago

      @Kyle Hamilton @RizKnows

    • RIZKNOWS
      RIZKNOWS  4 years ago +1

      @Kyle Hamilton Thank you sir! This is a tough product to review -- taking a lot of time to reflect :)