AWAY Weekender Bag Review

Share
Embed
  • Published on Jul 5, 2019
  • Away Luggage - fbuy.me/mYL1l (this link should give you $20 off in the USA, and also gives me $20 off my next Away purchase lol)
    In this video I'm reviewing the ridiculously expensive AWAY Weekender Bag. This bag has been my weekend companion for several months now and so I thought I'd put this together to help anyone considering buying it. Enjoy xx
    💌 Sign up to my weekly email newsletter - email.aliabdaal.com
    🌍 My website / blog - www.aliabdaal.com
    🎙My weekly podcast - www.notoverthinking.com
    📸 Instagram - aliabdaal
    🐦 Twitter - aliabdaal
    📕 Facebook - aliabdaal
    📝My favourite iPad Screen Protector - Paperlike - paperlike.com/ali
    🎶 Where I get my music from (amazing for RU-cliprs) - share.epidemicsound.com/ali
    🎬 My online course on video editing - skl.sh/32TpEvm
    🎥 My RU-clip Camera Gear - kit.com/AliAbdaal
    Who am I:
    I'm Ali, a junior doctor working in Cambridge, UK. I make videos about medicine, technology, productivity and lifestyle design. I also have a weekly podcast with my brother (www.notoverthinking.com), and I write a weekly email newsletter that contains some quick thoughts + links to interesting things (email.aliabdaal.com).
    🌍 My website / blog - www.aliabdaal.com
    My most popular videos:
    - How I take notes on my iPad Pro in medical school - ru-clip.net/video/waR3xBDHMqw/video.html
    - How to study for exams - Evidence based revision tips - ru-clip.net/video/ukLnPbIffxE/video.html
    - How I ranked 1st at Cambridge University - The Essay Memorisation Framework - ru-clip.net/video/-46Vyiwat_Y/video.html
    - My productivity desk setup - ru-clip.net/video/rApxWtDIRAM/video.html

Comments • 132

  • SGT Phoenix
    SGT Phoenix 6 months ago +142

    You have forgotten the time stamps
    00:57 - Why get a weekend bag?
    02:41 - Away Weekender features
    08:10 - Is it worth the money?
    But maybe I am blind and did not see his comment.

  • housejunky777
    housejunky777 4 days ago

    #awaytravelbag sponsor this RU-clipr!

  • Max Martin
    Max Martin 6 days ago +1

    I just throw everything into an old H&M paper bag and hope it doesn’t tear.

  • aswardian
    aswardian 26 days ago +1

    Thank you Ali for saving my time choosing the right duffel bag.

  • Nick Hanif
    Nick Hanif Month ago

    Hi Ali, can you chime in on how this bag has held up in terms of durability or discoloring?

  • A1nettie 2.0
    A1nettie 2.0 2 months ago +2

    I couldn't help but to chuckle while you threw your clothes in and I was like wow! and wait theres no pants! LOL

  • Kulsoom Omar
    Kulsoom Omar 2 months ago

    Much as I love your tech passion and the way you share it to benefit others, why not explore life without a gadget? you said why would you spend a weekend without your laptop - please DO just that. One weekend gadget free. No laptop. No phone. No internet. And then share your experience. Seriously.

  • Kathleen Freitas
    Kathleen Freitas 3 months ago +1

    How easy do you find it is to clean? Also does it get dirty easily?

  • Lori Petrilli
    Lori Petrilli 4 months ago +1

    Can the Weekender go on top of the bigger carry on? Love your review..very clear

  • Yogesh Yogs Ram
    Yogesh Yogs Ram 4 months ago +2

    Thanks dude really helpful review your logic makes sense. Been looking for a bag like this for exactly the same reason

  • Ezzy N
    Ezzy N 5 months ago +1

    Can u review the luggage??

  • Selene Soto
    Selene Soto 5 months ago +1

    I love that. Spend your money where you want to spend your time.

  • pebble888
    pebble888 5 months ago

    Ali many thanks for this video. When you have time could you do a review of the Away carry on you have including how you pack it for a week+ trip please

  • misjade
    misjade 5 months ago +1

    Great advice ...didn't expect that from a product review video.

  • Andrea Aue
    Andrea Aue 5 months ago +1

    Enjoyed your review on the weekender. Did you ever do a review of the Away carry-on? Would love to hear your thoughts on that :)

  • Wish Perera
    Wish Perera 5 months ago +1

    Enjoy listening to your rational thinking ✨

  • Dominic King
    Dominic King 6 months ago

    I’ve ordered one of these! Thanks for this video!

  • Michael Nguyen
    Michael Nguyen 6 months ago +1

    cOOL bAG.

  • Umi Alam
    Umi Alam 6 months ago +3

    11:26 "I can chuck shi- stuff in my bag" 😂😂

  • Umi Alam
    Umi Alam 6 months ago

    Ali please do an anatomy video and save your fellow medic's lives

  • The Compass
    The Compass 6 months ago

    I have a question. Which would you prefer: digital textbooks or printed textbooks.

  • Jonathan Morales
    Jonathan Morales 6 months ago

    Check out the Private label NYC duffle bag. It is mainly for shoes but you can also put clothes. It has a laptop compartment. Honestly one of the best

  • Michelle Zachar
    Michelle Zachar 6 months ago +1

    The BEST piece of advice I received from your Away review is that The Weekender has the same capacity as The Carryon. Thank you for pointing that out!

  • Ishrat Hossain
    Ishrat Hossain 6 months ago

    Hello! Would you recommend a hard case for your MacBook or a fabric sleeve type cover??

  • Su7 FT9
    Su7 FT9 6 months ago

    Now I’ll spend more time packing

  • Justin Mercado
    Justin Mercado 6 months ago +13

    YOU ARE ONE OF THE WISEST PEOPLE I'VE EVER LISTENED TO/ WATCH NOT FORGETTING THE FACT THAT YOU ARE SMART TOO.

  • PB12345
    PB12345 6 months ago +3

    Best bag I ever bought cost me less than 10 euros. The Newfeel 55l duffle bag. It’s exactly carry on dimensions, weighs nothing and folds itself into its own pocket. I definitely recommend it as a lower budget option.

  • Ashish Tarasia
    Ashish Tarasia 6 months ago +2

    My handwriting is very bad and also I don't feel much comfortable while writing. Pls suggest me getting a good grip over the pen and my handwriting..

  • Harkirat Singj
    Harkirat Singj 6 months ago

    5:06 those are no show socks😂🤙

  • Ryan Davis
    Ryan Davis 6 months ago +1

    Did the Everywhere Bag interest you at all? I'm thinking The Weekender would be too large...

  • Brian Gutierrez
    Brian Gutierrez 6 months ago

    I'll give you $45 dollar if you send me an unwashed underwear. The red one would be nice. Make sure you do a heavy workout before.

  • Denisse Rosas
    Denisse Rosas 6 months ago

    Obviously I do not know if you really do not fold your clothes when packing, but I bet that if you do it, you will have twice of the free space 🤣🤣😅
    Also, I really liked the review and tbh I would like to have but I'm a broke student *LOL* T.T However, since I would like to travel, I will definitely get it in the future, it seems super convenient 👌👌

  • Killer K Boesen
    Killer K Boesen 6 months ago +1

    Can your Ipad replace a computer 2k19 edition.

  • Devanshi
    Devanshi 6 months ago

    HI! I tried the link however it just led me to the main page of Away and didn't add the discount to my page. Help? Thank you! :)

  • Faclon Bane
    Faclon Bane 6 months ago

    Ali please make the kindle video, I really want to know which one to buy!

  • Wajahat Shah
    Wajahat Shah 6 months ago +1

    Well done Ali

  • anwar mohamed
    anwar mohamed 6 months ago +1

    Hii . I am a medical student. Is stethoscope needed for me in first year

  • Che Spraos Romain
    Che Spraos Romain 6 months ago +5

    I think I have a bag review addiction

  • ecepps
    ecepps 6 months ago +2

    I prefer a cabin sized suitcase with easy access pockets and 4 wheels which is more versatile for travel in general and saves my back/ shoulder from pain with all the weight in the weekender hanging on a thin strap. Or invest in a well built travel backpack for the more active travelers.
    P.S. I don’t care if people think I cannot pack lightly as I am laughing from saving £250 and £XXX from physiotherapy fixing my back which could be better spent on experiences

  • koipen
    koipen 6 months ago +2

    You spoke in this video a lot about the benefits of travel; I can see that with domestic travel / train travel. But what about international plane travel? In that case doesn't one's personal fulfilment come at the cost of (extremely high!) carbon emissions, which would make it a costly activity and one which one would like to indulge in small quantities but not /as much as possible/? I'd be interested in hearing your take on this topic because it's a question I've been thinking about a lot and one to which I've yet to reach a satisfying answer for myself.

  • Ezra Varley
    Ezra Varley 6 months ago +2

    the weekender bag is 38.7L and the carry-on is 39.8L , the bag's have a 1L difference -- what is the need for the new bag Ali?

  • Fiza Zulfiqar
    Fiza Zulfiqar 6 months ago +4

    Pls do a collab with kharma medic, you both will rock it

  • Kezla
    Kezla 6 months ago

    For anyone on a bit more of a budget who wants bags with pockets, I highly recommend looking at the brand Kipling. They don't have specific shoe pockets per se, but come in a huge range of sizes and prints, and the material is showerproof. Plenty of pockets to put things in too!

  • Mohab Moatasem
    Mohab Moatasem 6 months ago +1

    Ali is the only person that can spend this amount of money on a bag and I’ll be like “yea that’s worth it “😂😂

  • Tinkuman28
    Tinkuman28 6 months ago +4

    Man you would make such a good salesman. You always make me want stuff that i know I don’t need haha.

  • guoen xie
    guoen xie 6 months ago

    Hi Abdaal
    Could you recommend some music when you feel unproductive xd.

  • Darity Valentina Croft Kharkongor

    You opening and closing the zip is a mood

  • Maya Jasmine
    Maya Jasmine 6 months ago +6

    Hi Ali, I'd really really love to see your review of the away suitcase! I want to get a suitcase because I'm moving out and the away ones seem very attractive...

  • Stouzough
    Stouzough 6 months ago

    Good perspective video. I enjoy the Filson bags in a similar size, made to last for life

  • Patrick Dizonz
    Patrick Dizonz 6 months ago +2

    you should have check out peak design 35 l duffel

  • JayJay9j
    JayJay9j 6 months ago +1

    Looks like an awesome on call bag

  • ThaRealCoyote
    ThaRealCoyote 6 months ago

    I’m a chemistry major but I still love ur videos convinced me to get a iPad Pro cause I’m so unorganized with paper notes lol

  • Alguien Mas
    Alguien Mas 6 months ago

    I love this man

  • Shueb Khan
    Shueb Khan 6 months ago +2

    What car does he have?

  • Toby Wilkins
    Toby Wilkins 6 months ago +2

    What size away suitcase do you have ali?

  • eden
    eden 6 months ago +3

    wtf u didnt even fold them and there is still so much space?? is that the tardis in bag form?

    • stormymac27
      stormymac27 6 months ago +1

      eden I think it’s the 21st century version of Mary Poppins’ carpet bag.

  • Wafaa Hassan
    Wafaa Hassan 6 months ago +1

    Please .I want to know the respectful internet websites you are used to use in the medical field
    Or you can kindly make a video in this topic

  • Ebiere Daunemigha
    Ebiere Daunemigha 6 months ago +5

    When are you going to release a “study with me video”

    • savvy s
      savvy s 6 months ago

      Ali Abdaal YES

    • Ali Abdaal
      Ali Abdaal  6 months ago +3

      Aiming for one next next week

  • Sudipta Barman
    Sudipta Barman 6 months ago +5

    Wow, didn't know a bag review can be this good😦💙

  • Sota Maehara
    Sota Maehara 6 months ago +5

    I bet you posted this conveniently just so that you could make that pun at the end 13:34