Half in the Bag: The Last Last Jedi Review

Share
Embed
  • * we weren't really sponsored by Fandango...
    In this special episode Rich, Mike, and Jay talk about the Last Jedi. A movie that's complex, but subtle. Beautiful, yet awkward, clunky and unfunny. Good, yet very bad.
    Also while discussing the bombing raid on the Dreadnought. Mike talks about a Star Trek Voyager episode coincidentally called "Dreadnought". Please comment about that below... if you were cool enough to know that awesome fact!!!

Comments • 80

  • Oddivia
    Oddivia 16 hours ago

    iT's aBoUt fAmiLy

  • TheFuck6666
    TheFuck6666 19 hours ago

    Star Wars, Star Trek, Ghostbusters, Dr. Who, BattleStar Galactica, Terminator, Aliens, James Bond (maybe) seems like everything gets raped and murdered. Can't wait to see how they're gonna fuck up Indiana Jones and the MCU.

  • Mutineer
    Mutineer Day ago

    Dammit, Rich, these things are not "too smart for Star Wars". The seeds of what brought Star Wars down were planted in ROTJ when Lucas took a giant dump on the work of the people who tried to elevate the material in ESB.
    Stars Wars officially died in 1999. Everything that they have done since then has just been propping up the corpse and working the jaw in the name of milking a commercial product for all its worth.

  • Justin Miller
    Justin Miller Day ago

    "We don't have much to build off of in the Star Wars Universe."
    Seems to conviently forget there are literally hundreds of books, games, and comics that establish the universe. Oh right, Disney thought it'd be a good idea to kill them all. :/

  • 9206370
    9206370 2 days ago

    I love the last Jedi

  • Jonah The Jedai
    Jonah The Jedai 3 days ago

    Back for my annual review of my 3rd favorite Star Wars Film.

  • Banana Hammock
    Banana Hammock 3 days ago

    It's about family

  • aarondavid826
    aarondavid826 4 days ago

    "length is an issue" story of my life

  • Thiefbuddy
    Thiefbuddy 8 days ago +1

    Hopefully one day directors will realize that “subverting expectations” doesn’t magically make your movie or tv show good.

  • simo
    simo 8 days ago

    the dice thing was terrible. number 1 why were the dice made such a huge deal of? and number 2 weren't the dice tied into his ex from the solo movie? so why would leia want something that was tied to han's relationship with another woman?

  • Jared Lind
    Jared Lind 9 days ago

    35:59 This... this is prophecy.

  • Kevin Comer
    Kevin Comer 9 days ago

    The description of the new death star with the Jupiter spot always cracks me up

  • Timothy Grayson
    Timothy Grayson 11 days ago +1

    Well, this year's celebration can only include 10 guests because of a certain virus, yet another Stoklasan prediction come (somewhat) true

  • DJ Rashad Hayes
    DJ Rashad Hayes 11 days ago +1

    The Last Jedi is one of the worst movies ever written & filmed. And it was all Kathleen kennedy’s fault.

    • DJ Rashad Hayes
      DJ Rashad Hayes Day ago

      Andreas Is Stoopid blah blah blah lol. You’re an idiot. It’s one of the worst screenplays of all time. Rian Johnson doesn’t even have a knowledge about what the scientific definition of speed is lol. No understanding of physics. There’s so many errors of screenwriting continuity and missing plot points that makes the story absurd. I also went to film school u fuckin dingbat. Lol agree or don’t agree with my statement but don’t ever call me ignorant. Google me, clown lol. Also I just gave u the REASONS that the movie TLJ is ONE of the worst movies of all time. And that’s before I even take into account the gross disrespect of iconic characters, the arrogant gaslighting of hardcore dedicated fans, and another fundamental understanding of the universe that he was supposed to be writing about. Now peace be unto you. Allahu Akbar.

    • Andreas Is Stoopid
      Andreas Is Stoopid Day ago

      Its really bad. But to say that it is one of the worst movies of all time shows how fucking ignorant you are

  • Ross McDonald
    Ross McDonald 15 days ago

    The touching moment when Luke gave Han's dice to Leia. The dice that reminded Han of his other squeeze; Qi'ra, not Leia.

  • Reg Barclay
    Reg Barclay 18 days ago

    this movie was a real Moof Milker

  • Shayus Calgar
    Shayus Calgar 18 days ago +2

    Mikes reaction to this movie is heartbreaking... I think he loved Star Wars growing up, and now it is dead, and he has to do an autopsy, and spout funny witticisms while doing it...

    • Andreas Is Stoopid
      Andreas Is Stoopid Day ago

      He got his heartbroken when the phnatom menace was released so he is probably used to it at this point

  • Olufolarin Oduntan
    Olufolarin Oduntan 19 days ago

    The worst thing about The Last Jedi isn't particularly anything about the movie itself, it's the fact it killed all hype for the next movie going forward

  • Nunya Bizness
    Nunya Bizness 19 days ago

    If only Disney hadn't cut the EU. Yall keep saying it's "too smart for Star Wars" but Star Wars has done so many different things so well. KotOR 1 and 2 are amazing, Republic Commando is great, SWTOR has so many different storylines that work well, and so many books and stuff are great. The movies have always been the least interesting part of the universe

  • D G
    D G 22 days ago

    30:37 oh if you only knew what was coming back then hahah

  • Olufolarin Oduntan
    Olufolarin Oduntan 24 days ago +1

    See I don't believe The Last Jedi killed all of Star Wars. I think Star Wars would survive with Last Jedi. But I think it killed this trilogy to put it more accurately. It feels out of place and out of order and leaves no hooks behind and has such an unintentional finality to it that it killed the next installment before it was born.

  • Pixelchaser
    Pixelchaser 24 days ago

    please review the whole saga in a 2 hour special.

  • bulloran1965
    bulloran1965 25 days ago

    In the original E.U the Imperial Remnant are the faction formed out of the Empire. They are essentially terrorists who bomb and destory civilian targets in addition to military targets. Its kind of similar to how radical the First Order is but without all the frothing at the mouth. A subtle, toned down trilogy about that would have been great. There are plenty of neat ideas you could do with Star Wars in movie form. Hollywood is creatively bankrupt not Star Wars.

  • Kitt Spiken
    Kitt Spiken 26 days ago

    Read a fucking book Rich Evans, there's plenty of none stupid shit they could have done.

  • mousemuffins
    mousemuffins 26 days ago

    5:47 Hello, Mr. Plinkett!

  • Dan Everton
    Dan Everton 27 days ago +1

    These most recent movies is Kathleen Kennedy squatting and pissing all over Lucas' legacy, while smirking.

  • Ted Distel
    Ted Distel 28 days ago

    I still think Rian killed Luke off in post. Hamil complained quite a bit. Even calling his character "Jake Skywalker". Hamil's face and attitude before and after the premier says it all.

  • Nemo88881
    Nemo88881 29 days ago +1

    "grown-ups acting like children" -> kind of the zeitgeist right now

  • Relaxing Nature
    Relaxing Nature Month ago

    Luke used a force power called "doppelganger" ....when Luke remotely fought Kylo ..Luke produced a doppelganger of himself

  • Relaxing Nature
    Relaxing Nature Month ago

    KK is responsible for the rude scenes - green milk , flying leia poppins , Luke being defeated by Rey and Luke dieing ..were all KK's ideas which she insisted were put in the film

  • Michael Land
    Michael Land Month ago +2

    20:08 Rich Evans predicting the Mandalorian?

  • Marutgana Rudraksha
    Marutgana Rudraksha Month ago +1

    Sven Letter Media sent me.

  • Tony78454
    Tony78454 Month ago

    I hate the word "subverted"

  • BK Beatit
    BK Beatit Month ago

    I still enjoyed it
    Oh...and I liked the prequels(not trolling)

  • badeboom
    badeboom Month ago

    46:58 Nice china version you got there... ;)

  • Benjamin Rood
    Benjamin Rood Month ago

    It *is* grown ups acting like children.

  • Krieghart
    Krieghart Month ago

    The extreme opposite of shit is just another kind of shit.

  • FleshNFaith
    FleshNFaith Month ago

    The way he describes the cycle of celebration > watch movie > hate movie > celebration is pretty much identical to all the Sonic games.

  • hughjazz44
    hughjazz44 Month ago

    There's no gravity in space? What?

  • Bulfwyne
    Bulfwyne Month ago

    We didn't need to be reminded about what Star Wars was about for Force Awakens .... Makes Zero sense when Movie Company's think that fans and people who will go see the movie, are some how ignorant to the Star Wars Universe .... We don't need to set up anything BUT the bad guy and its motives/plot

    • Togg Tlas
      Togg Tlas Month ago +1

      They don't mean "remind people of what Star Wars is" literally but more in the sense of "remind people of what the magic of the original trilogy was". Force Awakens was 30 years after the original trilogy ended, there's a whole new generation that's never experienced them. And it paid off, Force Awakens was very well liked and one of the most successful movies of all times so.... But hey "iT mAkEs ZeRo SeNsE"

  • Oliver Hugaas
    Oliver Hugaas Month ago

    *BUILD DAMS*

  • Oscar Guerrero
    Oscar Guerrero Month ago

    43:24 "See you in two years for the next one, where they have to blow up a superweapon and Rey has to fight Kylo Ren again because they can't do anything new or interesting..."
    Well I'll be damned. Rich, Jay, and Mike predicted the plot for The Rise of Skywalker.

  • Jesse Lamont
    Jesse Lamont Month ago +1

    Have you guys looked at the TLJ poster yet? What a brilliant brilliant poster it is. Love this poster. Might be my favourite movie poster this year so far.

  • Blake W.
    Blake W. Month ago

    It’s taken me 2 years, but I realized after 2 years that Mike is drunk as hell. Jay and Rich may also be but Mike is drunk and I completely understand all of their opinions. I’m really drunk so I think i get it, everyone who’s not drunk can get drunk and then, only then, debate this.

  • Brandon Day
    Brandon Day Month ago

    Kylo was injured but he immediately beat Finn but not Rey who didn’t use the force

  • Šimon Dráb
    Šimon Dráb Month ago

    10:53

  • hangover89
    hangover89 Month ago +1

    "See you again in two years when they have to blow up a superweapon and she has to get into a lightsaber fight with Kylo Ren again"

    OOF

  • john mimbs
    john mimbs Month ago +1

    i know this is an unwelome comment because the movie in question was a travesty, but the bombers make sense because the artificial gravity gives them their initial drop speed and the law of conservation of energy means with no forces ie space acting to stop it . it will continue to move in the initial direction it was ejected from the ship in.

    • C.M. H.
      C.M. H. Month ago

      Yeah, these kind of complaints that are just pedantic nitpicks. The Star War’s mythos is chalk full of sci fi/fantasy elements that bend anything close to logic. Lucas has always famously modeled and informed the franchise off of WWII warfare, no matter how unrealistic the armaments and technology actually are-Giant tanks that walk on legs rather than treads or wheels. Spaceships that bank and maneuver as if in an atmosphere. Floating battleships that engage war in space as if there’s latitudinal/longitudinal directions. Massive explosions in outer space. Etc

    • john mimbs
      john mimbs Month ago

      it doesnt make the bombers any less stupid as they could easily just spring load the fuckers and shoot em out at the ships or idunno anything...

  • Stevie
    Stevie Month ago +1

    "If Mark David Chapman had a machine gun." LMAO

  • Chris
    Chris Month ago

    I think this movie truly broke Mike

  • Scott I'Anson
    Scott I'Anson Month ago

    SW 77 and ESB are the only two great films in the series.

  • Collin Yates
    Collin Yates Month ago

    21:22

  • In Zad We trust
    In Zad We trust Month ago +1

    I wish rian jhonson gets shit in his mouth by every subverted fan

  • sully 101
    sully 101 Month ago +3

    Disney star wars is not cannon , looper is an awful film , the last jedi is unwatchable .

  • Lucas Ferraroni DrSin
    Lucas Ferraroni DrSin 2 months ago +1

    This review is great. Second time watching, and I never intend to watch episodes VIII and IX again.

  • Kyle Jones
    Kyle Jones 2 months ago

    The massive drop off in money made from force awakens to the other movies is all you need to know.

  • ManapuaMan
    ManapuaMan 2 months ago

    Take a shot every time you say to yourself/ think “ I know right?”

  • ErgonomicChair
    ErgonomicChair 2 months ago +1

    Iunno I'd still say she is pretty mary sue in this one. But eh... we saw the result of what comes next. This one looks even worse because of the third one haha.

  • Rick Sanchez
    Rick Sanchez 2 months ago +1

    11:06 LMFAO

  • Nob the Knave
    Nob the Knave 2 months ago

    One day these guys will read some EU. And their minds will be blown.

  • Daniel Rodriguez
    Daniel Rodriguez 2 months ago +4

    I still fucking hate this movie

  • Oscar Guerrero
    Oscar Guerrero 2 months ago

    I overall liked the movie but yeah I agree with you guys on many of these things.

  • biscoloco
    biscoloco 2 months ago

    Whole movie was trash can’t believe you have a serious take and think this one is “alright” and are far less bothered by this than rogue one. Rian Johnson took a big dump on all the people who went to see that movie. How did you not think the Mary poppins Carrie Fisher scene and the light speed ramming weren’t the stupidest scenes in the whole movie?

    • Andreas Is Stoopid
      Andreas Is Stoopid Day ago

      Don’t be mad just because they are not as filled with fucking hate as you

    • Frank Merker
      Frank Merker 2 months ago

      rogue one is trash from a narrative and creative standpoint, it is just fanservice: the movie. I don't think they dispute that Rian Johnson took a dump on the fan base, which is clearly outlined in the Plinkett review. There are also far worse aspects of this movie than the Carrie Fisher scene in space lol

  • J M
    J M 2 months ago

    TLJ is like the format of this show.

  • Anthony Melson
    Anthony Melson 2 months ago +1

    32:18 love Jays awkward joke about awkward jokes. He’s so cute.

  • FatbopulosMikel
    FatbopulosMikel 2 months ago +1

    I...am Mike Stoklasa

  • nt78stonewobble
    nt78stonewobble 2 months ago

    In retrospect: Many poorly thought out and bad small subversions of expectations is not as good as 1-2 well thought out good big subversions of expectations.
    Previously in star wars, they were just movies, that kind of loosely resonated with real life (good vs. evil, personal growth and development) and the "plot twists" were "stunning and brave" in that regard.
    In this one introduced quite heavy "political themes" that are specific and directly applicable to real life, but they were never "stunning and brave" enough to eg. subvert expectations for those actually important and serious things... They only really used the "plot twists" to poke at what people liked about the originals... not their own new "agenda" additions.
    Put a bit differently... they poked at their fans like of these movies, but they weren't able to poke at themselves and what they themselves thought important to add to the movies.
    It's wasn't ballsy... it was actually quite the opposite...

  • Frank C
    Frank C 2 months ago

    I don't get how you guys liked this one but not 9

  • Bepartofmynovel
    Bepartofmynovel 2 months ago +1

    "Poe Dameron is the only character with an arc" Really?
    Finn begins the movie not committed to the resistance, ends up wanting to sacrifice himself
    Rose begins the movie as a Hero fanboy, ends up being a hero herself
    Rey begins the movie looking for her parents (in Luke), learns her parents don't matter
    Ren begins the movie being a servant to Snoke, ends up killing him and taking his place
    Luke begins the movie being a cynical hermit, ends up finding hope again and saves the resistance while apologizing to his nephew

    • Dagenspear
      Dagenspear 24 days ago

      @Bepartofmynovel what's the strong difference between that and where he was at the end of TFA?
      I think that's more her just getting to do something. As far as I remember Rose doesn't really have a strong character development. Though I wouldn't say her moment was strongly heroic as she wrecks Finn's vehicle or whatever in an act that could've gotten them both killed, but didn't I think based on the first order not being very competent in their goals. Considering Finn's vehicle was still running and he wasn't being hurt by it's energy I don't see why him hitting that thing wouldn't have done any damage.
      Luke character wise basically went back to the way he was before he gave up I think without much fanfare. And doesn't face consequences for his mistakes. He gets something he wanted, to die on the island I think while avoiding his problems.
      REN: I think his first scene has him attack Snoke. I don't see that as him going from serving him to killing him.
      REY: I don't think Rey shows much of any real attachment to Luke. Her being told that I think isn't much different than being told her belonging isn't behind her in TFA.

    • Bepartofmynovel
      Bepartofmynovel 2 months ago +1

      @Casey Sanders to quote Luke Skywalker from TLJ: "Amazing. Every word of what you just said was wrong."
      - Finn chose to risk his life, no one forced him
      - Rose became a key player in the Resistance (which we can see even in the minimum screen time they gave her in TROS
      - Luke saved what was left of the resistance without harming Kylo. He did what he could do - apologize to Kylo and hope that his apology would steer Kylo in a different direction.

    • Casey Sanders
      Casey Sanders 2 months ago +4

      Bepartofmynovel
      -Finn is forced to stay or be called a traitor
      -Rose doesn’t end up a hero, she almost dooms the resistance and sexually assaults Finn
      -Luke doesn’t find hope again, he literally doesn’t even try to save Kylo.

  • Harley Stout
    Harley Stout 2 months ago

    This is even funnier watching them speculate the next movie, after seeing the next movie.

  • David Yu
    David Yu 2 months ago +1

    Not sure what you find strange about a large gathering of adults cheering like Children. Have you seen sports? Soccer? Football? Basket? Same thing. People find something they like, and don't even do it, but they like it. Just like watching this here Review. It's the way of Life. The force if you may, is with us all. Ryan Johnsson, if you are reading this, I hate you so much.

  • Fernando Almanza
    Fernando Almanza 2 months ago

    Snoke was another wasted opportunity that rian johnson used to "subvert expectations" like luke tossing his lightsaber or try to kill his nephew by "pure instinct" or even worse using a force projection rather than face kylo ren in person just to die anyway

  • Santiago Munez
    Santiago Munez 2 months ago

    interesting how the reviews were becoming increasingly negative as the trilogy progressed 🤣 .. new trilogy sucks so bad as my English

  • charlesandhisworld
    charlesandhisworld 2 months ago +1

    luke skywalker in tlj was a rian johnson self-insert

    • Frank Merker
      Frank Merker 2 months ago

      That may have be his intent, but Snoke ended up being the real self-insert

  • Alan Provance
    Alan Provance 2 months ago +1

    Damn, I'm between 35 and 38 with a beard (not pictured)... this is literally the most I've ever been called out.
    I really liked TLJ, but Jay's on point.

  • Ficky Fatturrahman
    Ficky Fatturrahman 2 months ago

    35:52 Mike predicts the star destroyer in the Episode IX

  • Franklin Turtleton
    Franklin Turtleton 2 months ago +1

    People always forget that in TFA Rey was also injured. She was thrown 3 stories up into a tree and then fell on her face and is passed out in the snow for 10 minutes while wearing desert clothes.

  • redplague
    redplague 2 months ago +3

    Getting rid of Ryan Johnson was the worst thing Disney did. Ryan Johnson was the only person who had the bravery and writing talent to free Star Wars from its shackles. JJ Abrams is creatively lacking, hence why his Star Trek films are just recreations of past stories and characters. Star Trek hasn't had an original idea now for over a quarter of a century.

    • Andreas Is Stoopid
      Andreas Is Stoopid Day ago

      Yeah i have ro agree. If they make Rian direct the 2nd one you give him the 3d one as well

  • TheCosmicFireStar
    TheCosmicFireStar 2 months ago

    Weird looking back on this seeing the Sequel trilogy in retrospect.

  • Maclunkey1977
    Maclunkey1977 2 months ago +2

    As someone who loves Last Jedi, this by far is my favorite review.