A NEW Level of Gimmick? Gigabyte Aero 15 x9 Review

Share
Embed
  • Published on Apr 14, 2019
  • Check out a Joan Board and use code LINUS8 to get 8% off at bit.ly/Joan_8
    Use code LINUS and get 25% off GlassWire at lmg.gg/glasswire
    While everyone else has been making their laptops better, Gigabyte has been... adding AI?
    Buy the Gigabyte Aero 15 x9
    On Amazon: geni.us/XvxBgkK
    On Newegg: geni.us/NF6VH
    Discuss on the forum: linustechtips.com/main/topic/1054687-a-new-level-of-gimmick-gigabyte-aero-15-x9-review/
    Our Affiliates, Referral Programs, and Sponsors: linustechtips.com/main/topic/75969-linus-tech-tips-affiliates-referral-programs-and-sponsors
    Get Private Internet Access today at geni.us/7lLuafK
    Displate metal posters: lmg.gg/displateltt
    Linus Tech Tips merchandise at www.LTTStore.com/
    Linus Tech Tips posters at crowdmade.com/linustechtips
    Our Test Benches on Amazon: www.amazon.com/shop/linustechtips
    Our production gear: geni.us/cvOS
    Twitter - linustech
    Facebook - LinusTech
    Instagram - linustech
    Twitch - www.twitch.tv/linustech
    Intro Screen Music Credit:
    Title: Laszlo - Supernova
    Video Link: ru-clip.net/video/PKfxmFU3lWY/video.html
    iTunes Download Link: itunes.apple.com/us/album/supernova/id936805712
    Artist Link: soundcloud.com/laszlomusic
    Outro Screen Music Credit: Approaching Nirvana - Sugar High ru-clip.net/user/approachingnirvana
  • Science & TechnologyScience & Technology

Comments • 1 220

  • Hyunwoo Shin
    Hyunwoo Shin 16 hours ago

    please review Eluktronics mag-15.

  • **PreCIson FOrcE
    **PreCIson FOrcE 6 days ago

    this review is to early make sure when you do a review on aero 15 oled it is the one with the 2080 max q

  • Takato Minemoto
    Takato Minemoto 19 days ago

    Embrace my dongle, linus.

  • rahul chodankar
    rahul chodankar 21 day ago

    Tuesday morning Colton firing?

  • Parzival 333
    Parzival 333 Month ago +1

    2020 Gigabyte Aero: Notch Webcam

  • oneworldvideo
    oneworldvideo Month ago +3

    Effect at 2:07 is super slick!!!! Congrats to the editor! :D

  • Naresh Jhawar
    Naresh Jhawar Month ago

    You didn’t said all intel inside thing

  • pabloXL
    pabloXL Month ago

    So AI is just marketing for a fan/performance curve?

  • Fiizrp x
    Fiizrp x Month ago +1

    If you just wanted a creator laptop what would you go for ?

  • neosrt10
    neosrt10 Month ago

    So which is the fastest and best performing now that where in August 2019?

  • Crazy Boy
    Crazy Boy Month ago +1

    Scar lll vs aero 15 please!

  • Lancy10
    Lancy10 Month ago

    Simple don’t buy either if you have 2500 dollars buy a 1k desktop and a 1500 laptop

  • Anhi Pham
    Anhi Pham 2 months ago

    @Linus Tech Tips Can you do a review of the new Gigabyte Aero 15 OLED ? I want to use it for 3D-Animation and Rendering. I am not sure about thermal throttling in the new chassis with more air vents. There are versions with GTX 1660Ti and RTX 2060 and not sure which is better for my needs. Awesome Channel by the way!

  • Matin Far
    Matin Far 2 months ago +2

    Is it just me or are these new laptops getting ridiculously expensive?? The Aero is the cheapest of three shown in the video and it's $2400!

    • Ra awesome
      Ra awesome 28 days ago

      Well, it is an rtx 20 series

  • S D
    S D 2 months ago

    I'll choose Zephyrus S

  • Nicholas Bleker
    Nicholas Bleker 2 months ago

    Instead of a RTX 2070 Max-Q, I wish we had the option to have the GPU be a RTX 2060 instead, and that not being a Max-Q version. This would help reduce the cost of the laptop and make it more appealing to those that just want to have the ability to turn on ray tracing in their games, while not spending so much to get that ability. Sure you might loose out on a few frames and overall have a weaker performance then the more stronger GPUs, but I don’t anyone is gonna be complaining if whatever they’re playing is at a very steady 60fps or one that’s around that area with ray tracing on. Aside from that, this laptop might be my first upgrade from the Acer Nitro 5 laptop that I’m using now. That 94 WH battery and 1TB of storage is hard to turn down, especially when it is one of the only reasonably priced laptops out there to have this in it.

  • Tucker Karman
    Tucker Karman 2 months ago

    How does the processor do with a laptop fan on the bottom?

  • Levi Johnson
    Levi Johnson 2 months ago

    haha "Holy crap STOP DOING THIS" amen

  • NvrUseYur RealName
    NvrUseYur RealName 2 months ago

    The webcam's audio was CERTAINLY TRASH, but I didn't think the video looked all that bad, compared to webcams I've used in the past(which were pretty crappy). Then again, I don't use webcams much at all so... whatev.

  • Simon Vader
    Simon Vader 3 months ago

    Another bonus with this one I found was that it’s got a huge prime discount of $150. Holy crap!

  • Fandabidozi
    Fandabidozi 3 months ago

    shout out to basil

  • Jacob Mcdaniel
    Jacob Mcdaniel 3 months ago +2

    You should have just waited a month to review the overhauled design haha

  • -MAS-
    -MAS- 3 months ago

    After watching your video I've compared the three devices and ended purchasing the Aero 15-X9
    But I've paid around 2660$ :( in order to get it as I live far from the USA
    I've chosen the I7 processor as I don't think a unit this thin will be able to cool the I9 pretty well, so no actual gain.
    For the graphics, I think RTX-2070 is enough since I'm a developer and a casual gamer so no need to pay more for the RTX-2080.
    For the screen also I think UHD for development is not meaningful :/
    Finally for the performance!!!???
    I told you I'm far away from the USA so waiting for it to arrive in order to know :)

  • Save us M1SAKI
    Save us M1SAKI 3 months ago

    Didn’t even talk about build quality :/

  • RottenRyan100
    RottenRyan100 4 months ago

    Linus hates bezels....

  • arbington
    arbington 4 months ago +3

    “Dongle Embracer”
    Giggity.

  • DudeSkinnyTall
    DudeSkinnyTall 4 months ago

    So almost 2 weeks ago we get new i7-9850h etc officially released and why would I want a laptop full of last year gen. now?

  • Manoeuvre TV
    Manoeuvre TV 4 months ago

    Wish reviews showed the power adapter and total weight including the adapter. No point having a thin and light if the laptop has a huge ac adapter?

  • Buda Ultimate Gamer
    Buda Ultimate Gamer 4 months ago

    I Love your videos Linus !!!!

  • iDBS
    iDBS 4 months ago

    Add liquid metal on this laptop 😅

  • G
    G 4 months ago

    There is a possibility that there is a software application that provides the same features like the so-called "AI." Just wished I knew the name of such an app.

  • Sun NY
    Sun NY 4 months ago

    9:20 AERO have i9 not i7..

  • mjc0961
    mjc0961 4 months ago

    9:42 - You told us that was a dead meme in your 2060 review. I don't know what to believe anymore. 😭

  • mjc0961
    mjc0961 4 months ago

    Nobody uses the camera anyway. They always get taped over. Stop including them.

  • Will Nash
    Will Nash 4 months ago

    What do you think about the even newer version of the aero?

  • Stanislav Knyazev
    Stanislav Knyazev 4 months ago +1

    Its screen and quality is much better than razer blade has. Check out amazon reviews on real customers of razer blade - noise whine + shitty screen and shitty battery, no pros at all comparable to Aero. Also Dell design is garbage, no minimalism. So why you saying its better to buy razer/dell?

  • Fiction Fraction
    Fiction Fraction 4 months ago

    when u can afford a $2500 worth laptop! doesnt matter to pay few 100s for the logo

  • GΞNΛCIDΞR SHO
    GΞNΛCIDΞR SHO 4 months ago

    How is the MSI G6F3 8RC, i5 8th gen, GTX 1050 for gaming?
    Since it having like one fan so i'm kinda worried about it's cooling...

  • Matt Prior
    Matt Prior 4 months ago +1

    Laptops are too expensive... The end

  • TWR Electronics
    TWR Electronics 4 months ago +2

    Sorry but I'm going to say razer is the worst for reliability concerns. Are you part of the cult?

  • Jared Hernandez
    Jared Hernandez 4 months ago

    Is this a full 4 lanes Thunderbolt port?

  • foetor
    foetor 4 months ago

    Got mine x8 today and love it 😬

  • PRIMAX XYG
    PRIMAX XYG 4 months ago

    Love from indian bro
    I am watch video frpm when you have only 1000k subs

  • Alan Philpott
    Alan Philpott 4 months ago +1

    Love the way you can skip 10 seconds straight past the intro reel. Perfect intro length.

  • MaxSettings
    MaxSettings 4 months ago +2

    I always install a clean version of OS and setting battery/system to PERFORMANCE

  • Eric Lambert
    Eric Lambert 4 months ago +27

    I bought the i7 version one month ago, really happy with it, it just works perfectly for everything, and of course it's a beast in gaming.

    • Robert Kristian Zambrano
      Robert Kristian Zambrano 11 days ago

      @Banisteriopsis Caapi basically the best, it has a 94wh battery.
      not gaming nets you 7-8 hours so pretty fucking good.

    • Banisteriopsis Caapi
      Banisteriopsis Caapi 20 days ago

      How is the battery life? I’m thinking of getting one

    • krishnavamsiii
      krishnavamsiii 20 days ago

      @Eric Lambert hopefully my unit will not have any manufacturing issues lol

    • Eric Lambert
      Eric Lambert 20 days ago +1

      @krishnavamsiii no problems except control center software that won't work when not plugged but this is minor.

    • Eric Lambert
      Eric Lambert 20 days ago

      @Remso yes same here, they have to fix the control center software

  • Alkhemist 95
    Alkhemist 95 5 months ago

    Yeah. Keep reading, you dink.

  • syam babu
    syam babu 5 months ago +1

    make a pop up camera like in the new phones.

  • HateG Plus
    HateG Plus 5 months ago

    Sha-see not cha-see

  • Cam Mewton
    Cam Mewton 5 months ago

    you're pretty brave, turning your back on that pissed off AI

  • Franklin Castillo
    Franklin Castillo 5 months ago

    ru-clip.net/video/ZZLz7GDBcnw/video.html

  • Henry xxA
    Henry xxA 5 months ago

    Mine only hits 100 FPS csgo. Please help

  • Tolipop Jia
    Tolipop Jia 5 months ago

    Wonder if the source of the zebra crossings video could be provided?

  • Anon Commenter
    Anon Commenter 5 months ago

    But the AI is in the software...

  • Eccomi
    Eccomi 5 months ago

    i dont really get the price argument. if you already spend almost over 2500$ on a gaming laptop, what are 200$ then?

  • frederick8o8
    frederick8o8 5 months ago

    Is it me or audio is slightly off?

  • Hype Lyric
    Hype Lyric 5 months ago

    Hey I want to get my first gaming laptop but I’m don’t understand if it’s good or not I found it in amazon could you make a review for it or reply to me here type this in amazon search bar thx! Acer Predator Helios 300 Gaming Laptop PC, 15.6" FHD IPS w/ 144Hz Refresh, Intel i7-8750H, GTX 1060 6GB, 16GB DDR4, 256GB NVMe SSD, Aeroblade Metal Fans PH315-51-78NP

  • Lefteyehawk
    Lefteyehawk 5 months ago

    if this is an AI, what is the MSI Afterburner, etc., you can even overclock with this tools

  • Kurtis Depauw
    Kurtis Depauw 5 months ago

    I never have any idea what in the hell Linus is talking about, yet I'm constantly driven back to just simply listen and wish I were more intellectually inclined.

  • Chris Lighthall
    Chris Lighthall 5 months ago

    Linus when are you going to review a nose hair trimmer? jk