Pocketbook Inkpad X Full Review

Share
Embed
  • The Pocketbook InkPad X is the first 10.3 inch e-reader the company has ever produced. This is a pure e-reader and gives users the ability to read comics, manga, newspapers, magazines and PDF files.
    This review gives you a sense on if this device is right for you or not, but we believe Pocketbook has a winner here, dispute the price.
    You can order this right now from the Good e-Reader Store for $425
    goodereader.com/blog/product/pocketbook-inkpad-x

Comments • 42

  • Isn't Great the Universe?

    It seems too sluggish. Just paying $150 more you can get the onyx boox note 2 (which I bought a few days ago) with android 9, lighting fast note taking ability, and ten times higher performance of computation.

  • New_IndieGame_Developer

    this thing looks stinking... the size is appealing but that speed man... if it was just 100% faster... then this would be bought instantly. Guess wait for another couple of years >

  • Некий
    Некий Month ago

    В этом мае буду покупать себе данную книгу. Если кто-нибудь, через некоторое время, захочет узнать мой отзыв, то ищите меня в вк. С радостью вам отвечу.

  • Tinas Askus
    Tinas Askus Month ago

    they ar slow as hell, bought inkpad 3 but some books doesn't shows corectly, the device stucks in doing somthing for a few minutes... these ereaders is terible

  • Lasse Vetland
    Lasse Vetland Month ago

    Is it possible to read Kindle books on this device?

    • Olli Bobo
      Olli Bobo Month ago

      Just convert them with calibre

  • Alexander H.
    Alexander H. 2 months ago

    Scribbling on the epubs - the ONYX boox note 2 last firmware update introduced the option of scribbling on epubs and even on reflown pdfs, and it works really nice. Anyway, if you are inerested in scribbling, you need to go for a wacom enabled ebook for sure.

  • bratecyo
    bratecyo 2 months ago

    seriously? where is normal wide side margins for fingers?
    and yes, it's so sloooooooooooow. 2*1GHz + linux = fail? Waiting ver.2020

  • mrjohnnybond
    mrjohnnybond 2 months ago +1

    Wouldn't you want to show us how actually reading a book goes on this device instead of showing the stupid browser and note taking? I would love to see page turn latency and things of the likes. Very disappointed.

  • 5pmHazyblue
    5pmHazyblue 2 months ago

    2:03 Does reMarkable not do this too?

  • Gatis Zvejnieks
    Gatis Zvejnieks 2 months ago

    Can you do extended review and comparison to inkpad 3. It looks that the only hardware difference is screen size and material plastic vs glass. Can inkpad x withstand some lite bending or drop?

  • Emily Herbert
    Emily Herbert 3 months ago

    Your business is a scam and you lied to me.
    GIVE ME A REFUND

  • Vatin 64
    Vatin 64 3 months ago

    This Pocketbook Inkpad X or Onyx note pro?. Looking for the best 10.3" ereader

    • Sloppy Toons
      Sloppy Toons 2 months ago

      Vatin 64 can’t speak for the inkpad, but I have the Onyx and i don’t have many complaints. I wanted it mostly for the note taking and sketching capabilities. So if you don’t need that I can’t help. If you do, the Wacom digitiser is what you want that the Onyx has.

  • ザパートクリストファー

    This is mainly an e-reader, not a note-taking device. And it serves this single purpose well. Viewing PDFs works well too, both in portrait and landscape mode. It has an auto-rotation sensor. It opens .acsm DRM-protected epub and PDF purchased/downloaded from Google Play Books without any problems. There is no need to use Adobe Digital Editions, one can just put the .acsm file into Inkpad X directly. Plus the auto-synchronisation of Inkpad X with Dropbox means that one can simply buy ebooks from Google Play on the usual main computer running Linux, save the downloaded .acsm files into a dedicated Dropbox folder and the Inkpad X will pick those files up automatically. You just need to input your Dropbox account into Inkpad X.
    Inkpad X gives one a distraction-free reading experience. The 227-only DPI resolution is absolutely not a problem at all. I do have an old Kobo with a 300DPI 7.8inch screen for a comparison. There seems to be no discernible difference between 227 DPI on Inkpad X and 300 DPI on a Kobo device, at least my eyes cannot see much of a difference. Fonts and graphics in PDFs are displayed beautifully.
    Just a remainder, this is not a note taking device. For note taking Remarkable or Supernote or Onyx Boox Note 2 would be the obvious choices. But for distraction-free reading Inkpad X works out very well. Plus it is much lighter than Note 2 or other note-taking devices. Holding it in one hand for long periods of time is not a problem.

  • Vatin 64
    Vatin 64 3 months ago +2

    Is it the best 10.3" ereader?. I want just ereader. Is it ok for pdf?. 👏

    • Maks
      Maks 18 hours ago

      i had an old pocketbook touch (very old one), for pdf's it was a "meh" experience. Now, getting inkpad 3, it's just perfect. Not only it's newer and has better specs, but what plays a huge role in pdf reading: it's almost 8". If you're mostly interested in pdf's, get the biggest screen possible, trust me! Now, having inkpad 3 im thinking of getting inkpad x, also ;p No idea if it's "the best one", but for pdf's: the bigger screen you have, the better reading experience! Of course, all ive said is not only narrowed to pocketbooks. Ive only had them, so im using pocketbook as an example.

  • Peter Zwameter
    Peter Zwameter 3 months ago

    I don't get all the negativity towards this product.
    It has its advantages, but downsides as well. Two sides of the same coin.
    If you are an avid reader, you prefer e-ink for reading only over LCD, OLED or AMOLED anytime.
    It's large, good for people with bad eyesight or if you don't like to turn the page to often.
    Just to remember, more text on a page is actually a good thing. It gives you more of a real book feeling than a tiny screen.
    So it's more of a stationary device than a portable one. More likely a couch thing. Still portable enough though. We are talking about half letter respectively DIN A5. If you would read a magazine, you would mock the tinyness of it.
    Pricey mabe so, but for the first commercial reader this size (10,3"!) not so much.
    The only real downside is the speed, or the lack of it.

  • NReluctant
    NReluctant 3 months ago +3

    I honestly didn’t know there were other eReaders than the Kindle, Kobo, and Nook. Thanks for opening my eyes 😱

  • BOX FR
    BOX FR 3 months ago +4

    Today it is without *"Hi, this is Peter"* and we go straight to the point ?
    - For the same price, I can buy an Onyx.
    - Pocketbook system is very poorly optimized for dual core.
    - System too poor application quality.
    I like design,
    but not at this price. THX Peter.

  • Ivor John
    Ivor John 3 months ago

    its just too big! a kindle at 6 or 7 inches is about perfect for me i dont need something at 10+ inches to carry around. so what ever the plus sides might be they are all negated by it being no where near a "POCKET" device. guessing the name is a misnomer

    • Ivor John
      Ivor John 3 months ago

      @Casey Wilder i do read pdf files on my kindle thank you. most books though come in different formats. when i go places with an ebook i want it at a good size. if i was looking at 10+inch i would just get a reader app on a normal tablet

    • Casey Wilder
      Casey Wilder 3 months ago +4

      It sounds like you've never tried reading a PDF file on a 6 inch device before. I'm currently debating if I need a 10.3 or a 13.3 inch device since I read about 200-300 pages of PDF files each week and hate printing them and I get headaches on a tablet/computer

  • vee tour
    vee tour 3 months ago +1

    Needs to be better in speed, and much lower in price to be considered.

  • Fred Funn
    Fred Funn 3 months ago +11

    That's not a PocketBook; it's a BackpackBook.

  • Don't be dead
    Don't be dead 3 months ago +4

    $400+?! Wth?!

  • Angie P.
    Angie P. 3 months ago +4

    $425 for this? The refresh rate is horrible, makes me nervous.

  • Sarthak Nawal
    Sarthak Nawal 3 months ago

    We need smart book and and smart chapter.
    One device replaces all your book

  • Harchain Mander
    Harchain Mander 3 months ago +2

    Buy a kindle

  • Karl Jo
    Karl Jo 3 months ago +2

    At that price, why not buy an ipad instead? E-ink good for your eyes? Come on, if you want to protect your eyes, don't read at all or listen to audio books.

    • Casey Wilder
      Casey Wilder 3 months ago

      @Karl Jo regardless, reading is always going to cause some eye strain, but I'm also a very slow reader. Reading 200 pages of PDF files can easily take 15+ hours a week. 15 hours on a screen, even with my blue light filtering glasses, is a lot of screen time. Add in the time I'm on my phone and the time I'm on Excel or reading charts or something online. Then lastly add the occasional gaming into the mix and I easily spend 60+ hours a week in front of a screen. It's absolute hell on my eyes, and anyone's for that matter. If I can reduce my 60 hours down to 45, it's a significant amount of eyestrain off my plate. E ink hasn't bothered me much at all in the past unless the font is too small. I can read books on my Kindle for 5-10 hours with the occasional break for bathroom or a snack and not ever feel like my eyes need a break. 30 minutes on a computer monitor and I need to walk away for 5-10 minutes.
      Like I said, we all have different lines of work and this niche product is absolutely a life saver for the right people and an overpriced piece of excessive technology for others. I'm still debating if this will be a purchase for me, but I will be buying a 10+ inch e ink display device sooner than later. I'm tired of printing them out just to be read one time and thrown away. I probably spend the price of this device in a year on paper/toner, not to mention the occasional laser printer replacement, which also isn't cheap (this device would reduce my printer wear and tear, also). I understand it's not for everyone, but this is a very real need for a select group of people.

    • Karl Jo
      Karl Jo 3 months ago +1

      @Casey Wilder If you read 300 pages of paper book, you'll get eye strain. The problem is reading small print strain your eyes, not e-ink or LED light.

    • Casey Wilder
      Casey Wilder 3 months ago +3

      The PDF files that I read on a very regular basis (almost daily) have tons of complicated mathematical expressions, charts, etc. These things don't translate over very well. Not to mention, there's not a huge market for people reading and recording audio for the 2019 world economic outlook from the IMF, for example. It's a niche product, yes. You're clearly not the target market.
      This is targeted at financial professionals, lawyers, doctors, scientists, doctorate students getting ready for their thesis, etc--those of us who read 200+ pages every week of PDF files and get eye strain on tablets and hate going through a pack of copy paper and toner a couple times a month.

    • ACHLUOPHOBIC SPARK
      ACHLUOPHOBIC SPARK 3 months ago

      Karl Jo Compared to a iPad, it is way safer for your eyes in the long run. If you want to use your eyes while reading, yes.
      Going by that logic:"Why the need to having a Seat belt on while driving? Better use public transportation!" Am I right?!
      C'mon, your solution may not be the solution for everyone. If you only read 1-20 pages on the iPad, it should be fine, everything else is harder on your eyes, the more you read, compared to e-Ink, that's a fact.

  • Richard Hildreth
    Richard Hildreth 3 months ago +1

    My first ereader was an REB (RCA) 350. It weighed about a pound, has a monochrome crystal display, and a modem that required you to plug into a wall jack to download books. You could write directly on the screen with the stylus.

  • B A
    B A 3 months ago +3

    Why are all these Chinese no name brand e-readers so dang expensive compared to like Amazon pricing?? You'd think pricing would be competitive... I just bought a 7" Oasis for $120 32gb 9th gen. Yeah I'm sure it's lacking features that after on this but there's probably good things the Oasis does that this can't perhaps... I don't see how an extra 3"of screen size is justified for an extra $300 price tag... Especially from a no name company. I know how the experience is when buying a better known brand e-reader... But I have no idea the experience of these devices.
    I mean it seems like they're just charging alot more because there's not much competition and it's like a niche market. I mean how much does it really cost these companies to produce one of these?

    • B A
      B A 3 months ago

      @Casey Wilder And you work for or sponsored by who? haha "Casey Wilder"... I think they're all overpriced tbh, even amazons...but especially all these half asses chinese versions that are coming out as of late. It just seems like an area where tech isn't being innovated much, but at a snails pace to milk the consumer. And prices are kept high

    • Casey Wilder
      Casey Wilder 3 months ago +3

      1. Swiss, not Chinese
      2. Oasis is list at $250. You got a used one. This would be cheaper used also once it's got some age.
      3. 10.3 inches is almost 50% more screen real estate than the 7" Oasis
      4. There are tons of file formats that Kindle won't read without being converted. An extra step.
      5. Kindle lacks cloud storage for books and files not purchased from their proprietary environment--the average user will spend more money with Amazon, buying books, maybe Kindle Unlimited, Prime, etc--they get more from you elsewhere typically.
      6. You clearly don't read PDFs very much because the Oasis gives me a ton of eyestrain trying to read technical PDF files.
      7. You don't sound like the target market for this product or it would scream "buy me" at you.
      8. I find your comment extremely condescending and egocentric (as in you did very little to none of your own research, and you just spouted off a snarky remark that was strictly based off of your feelings with virtually no quantitative reasoning or founding behind it).
      9. You probably haven't noticed devices like the 13.3" Sony one or the Onyx one that are $700+
      10. Think about flat screen TVs. I haven't priced them in a couple years, but jumping from a 42" to a 70"+ was like going from $400 to $1500+ (much more drastic than a 275% increase in price versus the 80% increase from $250 to $450.

    • B A
      B A 3 months ago

      @ACHLUOPHOBIC SPARK Ok...well most of them are chinese companies... ANyways, I still don't understand why the price is so high on them other than maybe because its a smaller niche market? Or maybe because its just got that "new tech" price tag

    • ACHLUOPHOBIC SPARK
      ACHLUOPHOBIC SPARK 3 months ago

      Pocketbook is based in Lugano, Switzerland. It is a Swiss company! Quality before quantity I guess.

    • Angie P.
      Angie P. 3 months ago

      @christian emden This isn't true. I've been reading on a Paperwhite for about 2 years and I have never bought a single book.

  • Iosef Shipherman
    Iosef Shipherman 3 months ago

    Looks like a piece of garbage. It can't be compared to any reader with a wacom layer.

  • Square Breaker
    Square Breaker 3 months ago

    it works but not very useful if you ask me . Shit is 2 mofo slow.

  • Ryan
    Ryan 3 months ago +2

    Inkpad X looks promising. Can you demo reading other file types? Especially via a cloud service, eg put a docx or rtf file in Dropbox then read that on the Inkpad X?
    ...
    I would like to get an ereader for work documents and I've tried this on Kindle Oasis and it's not really a good choice due to screen size and poor formatting. If the Inkpad X cannot do this then it looks like a Boox Note 2 or Max 3 might be a better choice.

  • Simone Camanini
    Simone Camanini 3 months ago +39

    It's only me or a lot of this Pocketbook devices are, even for an e-reader, extremely slow when responding to an input or a command?

    • Erik Bjørnøy Olsen
      Erik Bjørnøy Olsen 3 months ago

      I have an inkpad 3, and yes it is very slow to use. It`s ok for reading, but it did test my patience when configuring it and updating the software.

    • fatweeb
      fatweeb 3 months ago +1

      They're clunkier than a Kindle for sure. Page turning when reading ePub is fine though (after the initial load).

    • LuLuBaby
      LuLuBaby 3 months ago +2

      These devices are not yet ready

    • Davina Rivinos
      Davina Rivinos 3 months ago +3

      Especially for $450!!

  • Estudantes da Bíblia Bereanos

    How much are thy selling for in the US?

  • Aivar Surva
    Aivar Surva 3 months ago +1

    Hello. Is it possible for this device to make bookmarks for PDF files? And for example to go on a certain page by typing its number?

  • Hamed Abdy
    Hamed Abdy 3 months ago +12

    I think this one is too slow.

  • ACHLUOPHOBIC SPARK
    ACHLUOPHOBIC SPARK 3 months ago +5

    So it is basically the same as my Pocketbook InkPad 3 just Bigger? Neat. :)

  • Jagdeep Singh
    Jagdeep Singh 3 months ago

    I want this now, but i could possible get this when I have a job , but will I have time to stare it slowly refresh. Maybe tech will get super fast.

  • FulciLives
    FulciLives 3 months ago +11

    I think most people will be using this to read text and maybe PDF files but it seems like you blew past the text only section. I would have liked to see more stuff there. Show us all the options like justify vs left justify etc. and maybe comment on your thoughts with it, compatibility, etc.

  • Данчо Димитров

    would be nice to see how it flips pages in the new cbz cbr formats

    • Данчо Димитров
      Данчо Димитров 3 months ago

      @djazz yes, they added support with the 5.20 update, some devices have it but mine hasn't yet, so I'm trying to find information

    • djazz
      djazz 3 months ago +1

      New cbz/cbr? Arent they just zip/rar files with images?

  • gkseifert
    gkseifert 3 months ago +1

    There seems to be a very large Rorschach ink blot on the screen that is very light gray (almost unseeable) normally which goes almost to black when refreshing the screen (see 4:36 on). Is that noticable in real life? Not impressed.

    • gkseifert
      gkseifert 3 months ago

      @Drunk Back That is probably it. I had not thought of that. Thanks!

    • Drunk Back
      Drunk Back 3 months ago

      That looks like a reflection/shadow from the camera over the device.

  • Johnson Lease
    Johnson Lease 3 months ago

    It's not the only 10.3 Eink reader with a front light. Onyx Boox released one with warm and cold front light earlier this year. Check the Boox Note pro.

    • Hosam Mansor
      Hosam Mansor 3 months ago

      @Johnson Lease agree with most of your comment except not every e ink device is automatically an ereader , take for example the Dasung monitor an e ink device that is not an ereader by any means .

    • Johnson Lease
      Johnson Lease 3 months ago +1

      @Hosam Mansor I don't think "reading oriented' is a selling point. Any e-ink device is automatically a reader. You have to add some new features to sell. Boox note pro is a e-reader. I think most people use it to read PDFs. It's cool that it has note-taking functionality but its core features is the big screen with a front light.

    • Hosam Mansor
      Hosam Mansor 3 months ago

      Hello
      You didn't pay attention to what he said , he underlined 10.3 inch devices that are not note taking oriented .

  • ahpoiseheh
    ahpoiseheh 3 months ago +8

    Really nice device, but man: that MONSTROUS screen lag in ANY interaction with the device... my god. I know I’m comparing apples and oranges oranges, but from an iPad Pro user (with 120hz refresh rate and 9ms pencil lag) this seems perfectly unusable. Couldn’t stand any kind of note taking here: it’s like early 2000s technology.

    • christian emden
      christian emden 3 months ago +1

      The screen lag is horrible period. I have owned multiple e ink devices and this is not the normal and expected behavior.

    • Ryan
      Ryan 3 months ago +1

      If keyboard input was faster it could be more useful... It's annoying that certain features are so slow you can't really use them very much.

    • ACHLUOPHOBIC SPARK
      ACHLUOPHOBIC SPARK 3 months ago +2

      It's just like an extra feature, it is made for reading purposes. So the Screenrefresh is reasonable for e-ink.

    • VIPUL TIWARI
      VIPUL TIWARI 3 months ago +2

      @MaXtorStrike it is used for reading purpose only and the refresh rate on any e ink display is like this only

    • MaXtorStrike
      MaXtorStrike 3 months ago +2

      Agree, this screen lag is massive for me to justify the buy.