The Lighthouse - Movie Review

Share
Embed
  • Published on Oct 25, 2019
  • Thanks to Skillshare for sponsoring this video. Receive a 2 month free trial by going to skl.sh/chrisstuckmann6
    Chris Stuckmann reviews The Lighthouse, starring Robert Pattinson, Willem Dafoe, Valeriia Karaman. Directed by Robert Eggers.
  • EntertainmentEntertainment

Comments • 4 377

  • Alfonso Villanueva Estrada

    Oh my god this movie was so disturbing and weird, I don't know how Chris liked it so much even people on the theater started leaving becuase this movie its just hard to watch, didn't even like it.

  • Justin Gary
    Justin Gary 2 hours ago

    Let Neptune strike ye Dead Winslow! HARKKKKKKKKK HARK Triton Hark below bid our father the Sea King rise from the depths full foul in his fury black waves teaming with salt foam to smother this young mouth with pungent slime to choke ye engorging your organs till ye turn blue and bloated with bilge and brine and can scream no more only when he crowned in cockle shells with slithering tentacle tail and steaming beard take up his fell be-finned arm, his coral tonged trident screeches banshee like in the Tempest and plunges right through your gullet! Bursting ye a bulging blackguard no more but a blasted bloody film now a nothing for the harpies and the souls of dead sailors to pick and claw and feed upon only to be lapped up and devoured by the infinite waters of the Dread Emperor himself, forgotten to any man to any time forgotten to any God or Devil forgotten even to the Sea for any stuff or part of Winslow even any scantling of your soul is Winslow no more but is now itself The Sea 😤😁😂🤣😂😂😂💯💯💯💯💯💯🔥🔥🔥🔥🔥🔥

  • The Big One
    The Big One 3 hours ago

    Chris Stuckman loves to eat beans. And that’s how the band “The Airborne Toxic Event” got its name.

  • S G
    S G 4 hours ago

    Could be a Torantino film.

  • Michael Fiorelli
    Michael Fiorelli 5 hours ago

    I love it and I hope it wins cinematography

  • XRJ92
    XRJ92 6 hours ago

    I just rented this from Prime Video and watched it. It's strange. Very strange. But good. Pattinson and Dafoe are outstanding. How this was only nominated for the cinematography (well deserved btw), but neither of their performances were is mind-boggling to me.

  • Bandit
    Bandit 6 hours ago

    I like this director, both his movies are set in New England where I'm from and he really knows his stuff regarding the woodsman/seaman culture. Super cool to see it on the big screen.

  • Renee Lasswell
    Renee Lasswell 21 hour ago +2

    I have at least 5 different interpretations of this myself. The Greek mythology interpretation is pretty blatant but I think it's more layered than that. Robert Pattinson's performance was absolutely amazing!

  • Officer K
    Officer K 21 hour ago +1

    I'd give both of Eggers' films A+'s

  • masusockvevo
    masusockvevo Day ago

    Honestly, it was ok.
    Not sure why I dont love it like everyone else, but I would still give it a high rating.
    Id say 3.5/5 stars.

  • Joseph Falco
    Joseph Falco Day ago

    I liked that is was in black and white, I liked where the movie was going but I totally didn't understand the ending.

  • Ryan Luetzow
    Ryan Luetzow Day ago

    Was the Greek mythology thing you said referring to Pandora’s Box?

  • stona rissa .
    stona rissa . Day ago

    I know wat critic not 2 believe..... Boring movie......😔😔😔😔😔😔👎👎👎👎👎👎

  • stona rissa .
    stona rissa . Day ago

    No monsters no action no killing.. Sounds very boring...😔😔😔😔

  • Skeletal33
    Skeletal33 Day ago

    I thought The Witch was far superior in a narrative sense, but the acting/direction/visuals are outstanding.

  • DudeZ
    DudeZ Day ago

    The Lighthouse was amazing. Thanks for the recommendation.

  • Alex McKinley
    Alex McKinley Day ago

    This film is about guilt. The island represents guilt that one can't escape. Dafoe is the representation of Patterson's guilt, it nags, questions, condescends and if you bury guilt with alcohol it will come back and if you try to actually bury it, the light(house), truth, will kill you. Just my interpretation.

  • Davy Crockett
    Davy Crockett 2 days ago +3

    This movie was made for people who think they’re “smart”. Visually cool, and that’s about it. The Witch is 10X better

    • Arimaster
      Arimaster 3 hours ago

      this is the worst take ever bro. I mean come on, there are so many themes and theories for what the metaphors could be (repressed sexuality, Prometheus, Christianity), and the story STILL works as a straight-up tale of a guy going insane (based on a real life story of three lighthouse keepers who disappeared w logs that recorded storms that never happened)

    • QCream
      QCream 23 hours ago

      Thanks for this. I think I’ll pass. Lol. Hate these kind of “horror” movies

    • ISAACK darkness
      ISAACK darkness Day ago

      Nah is ambiguious but is far more than the witch miles better

  • Indrid Cold
    Indrid Cold 2 days ago +3

    Wow, man. I just finally got around to viewing this film. It is beautiful, the acting is superb, but the script! It’s all over the place! It makes me so sad, because I was so excited for the potential in this one. It seems like there were at least three major plot devices Eggers wanted to employ, but either failed to do so, or aborted during filming, including one where Dafoe and Pattinson are the same person. After watching some behind the scenes, reading the actual script, and watching commentary with Both actors as well as Eggers, it’s clear that they really didn’t know what the hell they were ultimately going for. Personally, that always bugs me, when a writer/Director doesn’t have the balls to just commit fully, and instead leaves all these open ended narrative paths, none of which ever lead to anything but a dead end. It’s just a cowardly approach that leaves the audience with an incoherent narrative, even with repeat viewings, and shields the writer/director from the pain of potential criticism, and allows them to sit back and safely say to the audience that it’s up to them to determine what it means. Unfortunately, that’s just the way most “ART” works. Whether it’s film, or music, or visual arts, it’s usually just someone’s jumbled up random thoughts, meaningless lyrics, and sadly, the average audience still eats it up as if it’s deep.
    I’m sorry, but I just see zero genius in Robert Eggers. And, I realize it’s a low blow, but I cannot stand his stutter. I believe it’s because it just further establishes and exacerbates his chaotic psychology, and his obvious underlying anxiety toward committing, even to his own thoughts/words during a conversation.

    • Jay Sony
      Jay Sony 3 hours ago

      Indrid Cold Daaaaang oh shit he went in

  • originaozz
    originaozz 2 days ago

    I still don't get it entirely, but really enjoy the experience. The scene that scared me wasn't the violence the weird ones, it makes me cringe in a good way.

  • look down
    look down 3 days ago +1

    My girlfriend said that good time was arguably the best performance from Robert Pattinson

  • Jose De La Luz
    Jose De La Luz 3 days ago

    I remember a movie about 2 lighthouse keepers that went insane. It a couple years old maybe older... Not a very original movie.
    Oh yeah, The name of the movie was called The lighthouse.
    Is this a remake?

    • Ali Ramirez Ruiz
      Ali Ramirez Ruiz Day ago

      Totally different movies. This is not a remake. This one is actually great

  • James
    James 3 days ago

    I wish I enjoyed it more than i did, might have to rewatch

  • Manav Dhawan
    Manav Dhawan 3 days ago +1

    I was upset that this movie didn’t get that many Oscar nominations. Both Pattinson and Dafoe give great performances and both deserved Oscar nominations, especially Pattinson who I think gave one of the best performances of the year.

  • M Kinney600
    M Kinney600 3 days ago

    Terrible movie , I was disappointed

  • Alvaro DeG
    Alvaro DeG 3 days ago

    This movie was messed up.

  • Dog Wizard K9
    Dog Wizard K9 3 days ago

    I was disappointed how I didn't like this movie much. The acting, music, setting, and filmography was fantastic but it just became super weird. It was weirder and more confusing than "Midsommar". I honestly don't know how you liked this film THAT much.

  • Jorge Edmundo Mendoza Araujo

    WHAT?!!!

  • Tamir .H.
    Tamir .H. 3 days ago

    Why is this movie so good, I don’t get the hype..

  • Jimmy Klorol
    Jimmy Klorol 3 days ago

    I just finished watching it. Don’t know if I’ll ever understand this film and what the maker wanted to show us. I love it tho. It’s like a better version of the shining. The acting is great. It’s not afraid to put u off. And it’s not afraid to show u something weird. The movie shows u how much we need other people. U need friendship and u need love. In the film Winslow is horny and can’t satisfy his lust and this causes even more stress to him. He’s all alone. His only friend is a cliche sea captain with memories of things no one should see. The captain takes pleasure from the lantern. It was gifted to him by the sea and he guards it with his life. As Winslow goes insane it kind of snaps the captain back to reality. He can’t be the one to be crazy. There’s a crazy man in front of u and u can’t be the crazy sea captain cliche. U have to act. The captain just tries to survive as the film goes on. Winslow is trying to find purpose in his surroundings. He’s trying to find a mystery in a boring situation. There’s nothing to entertain him so he invents a conspiracy. It isn’t all intentional tho. It’s subconscious. He dreams of the mermaid. A fairy tale creature. He tries to find interest in a shitty dull and overly ordinary situation. I love this film. It proves u can make a film out of anything. But it’s great because it’s layered. What I just said is a single piece of a miasma or different evidence and opinions and comprehensions.

  • off the rocks
    off the rocks 3 days ago

    MONKEYYYYY PUMPP

  • J
    J 3 days ago

    I feel like no one knows what’s going on in this movie but say it’s awesome anyways. I just don’t get it lol.

  • Ender Dávila
    Ender Dávila 3 days ago

    Great performances, not a great movie. Sucked hard. And, yes, I was bored most of the time.

  • ShadowT23
    ShadowT23 3 days ago

    Damn I agree, one of the best movies I've ever seen

  • Diego Lima
    Diego Lima 4 days ago

    As a Lovecraft fan, the end was not puzzling at all to me.

  • elledy92
    elledy92 4 days ago

    HAAAAAAARRRRRKK!!!

  • rchavezj
    rchavezj 4 days ago

    No Oscar nomination for the best picture.....

  • Elmalah 21
    Elmalah 21 4 days ago

    Prometheus lighthouse

  • sole
    sole 5 days ago

    The best Pirates of the Caribbean movie

  • Just Another Human
    Just Another Human 5 days ago +2

    Loved some of the Greek mythology in this. You either got it or you didn't. It's absolutely excellent. So tense and generally so well done.

    • Julian R
      Julian R 3 days ago

      I’m not sure if I did? My best two theories are either something to do with Calypso’s island or a punishment in the underworld.
      What’d you come up with?

  • Craigslist Reply
    Craigslist Reply 5 days ago +1

    the lighthouse is a story of 2 dudes, trapped in an island, in desperate need of a lady

  • Jah Jah
    Jah Jah 5 days ago

    Thank you so much for recommending this. I just watched it and am now screwed up for life I think. :)

  • Miguel Pabello
    Miguel Pabello 5 days ago +2

    Robert Pattinson and Adam Driver need to work together in a movie helmed by a director who knows his/her stuff. These guys are some of the best young actors working today.

  • Modern Warrior Systems

    Chris, you need to watch The King. On Netflix. I want to hear your review on it. It is really good. And Pattison is good in it.

  • Drake Fierge
    Drake Fierge 5 days ago

    I just saw this recently. Oh my God, it's an incredible film! I don't disagree with anything you said. I think your point about the pacing is especially important. You brought up how it is dense while not being above a silly fart joke, I think the pacing is the most important ingredient, because it keeps - what could turn into a dry difficult movie to watch - flowing.

  • Rex67Diego9 fandub
    Rex67Diego9 fandub 5 days ago

    Eh, i did find it pretentious thinking back on it.

  • kevin simpson
    kevin simpson 5 days ago

    kmt , the only thing this movie was is disgusting ! i can't see how someone would like this much more like it that much

  • Weston Buhler
    Weston Buhler 5 days ago

    Thanks Chris! and also Horror movies need more fart jokes

  • Neither Saint Nor Sinner

    Joker and The Lighthouse are my two favorite movies of the year, and the best movies I’ve seen in a while. Both are worth repeated viewings, in my opinion.

  • Shane E
    Shane E 5 days ago

    Wtf is it about i dont wanna even know

  • farmerfren
    farmerfren 5 days ago

    Do you have to fucking add the world fucking to every other fucking sentence?

  • Esteban Vazquez
    Esteban Vazquez 5 days ago +3

    Ye fond of me lobster ain’t ye

  • Mat Gordon-Smith
    Mat Gordon-Smith 6 days ago +1

    After watching this, I’m now afraid of seagulls. And foghorns. Probably foghorns more

  • Aswaldo
    Aswaldo 6 days ago

    Willem dafoe clearly didn’t watch infinity war

  • Roland Ramirez
    Roland Ramirez 6 days ago +3

    I wish I could’ve watched this at the theater. The closest showing was five hours away

  • Adriana Pignolo
    Adriana Pignolo 6 days ago

    Overrated. Not bad, but veeeery overrated.

  • Kemuel Sinahon
    Kemuel Sinahon 6 days ago

    it is not a normal movie.... I am still disturbed by the ending until now...

  • Caligula6 Shoshon
    Caligula6 Shoshon 6 days ago

    This movie was such a let down. It wasn't horror, it wasn't fantasy. It was two guys getting drunk and turning on one another that climaxes to nothing. It ends like a wet fart that Defoe let's out. Such a let down compared to the prior films.

  • 200mphz06
    200mphz06 6 days ago

    This movie was trashy and boring. Don't waste your money renting this tripe. I wasted my money because of your review. Thanks.

  • Kacem
    Kacem 6 days ago

    The worst movie i ever seen in 2019