Aldi/Workzone 500W palm router review

Share
Embed
  • Published on Dec 1, 2018
  • I'm back! this week I take a look at the Aldi/Workzone 500w palm router. I've had this router a good few months now, and as always I like to you my tools for a good while before I give any sort of review on them. Although I wont tell you that you should/shouldn't go out and buy one, what I will do is inform you of my experience's and views.
    -------------------------------------------------------------------
    Instagram @jamesmancave
    Contact - jmc.jamesmancave@gmail.com
  • EntertainmentEntertainment

Comments • 15

  • sankar narayanan
    sankar narayanan 5 months ago

    Do 8mm collet fits this router? Is this works good for slotting work?

    • James' Man Cave
      James' Man Cave  5 months ago

      It would fit yes, but I would say if using it for slotting work, make sure the base is clamped really tight. Had it a few times where the depth has dropped because the base has come loose

  • Phils Workshop
    Phils Workshop 8 months ago

    Good review James but I think the Katsu is far better all round for less than £40 you can’t go wrong plus you can either make your own base for sign writing or buy one also you can get a plunge base for it as well.

    • Phils Workshop
      Phils Workshop 8 months ago

      James' Man Cave ha ha love the comment keep making the glitter magic

    • James' Man Cave
      James' Man Cave  8 months ago

      @Phils Workshop I've now bought a load of AEG cordless tools, one of them was a trim router, (although I'm yet to use it) but I can't justify buying a 4th router 😂

    • Phils Workshop
      Phils Workshop 8 months ago +1

      James' Man Cave got one my self great bit of kit can recommend it

    • James' Man Cave
      James' Man Cave  8 months ago

      Thanks Barney, I can't comment on the Katsu, but it does seem that it gets very good reviews, and much more popular

  • Andy Marriott
    Andy Marriott 8 months ago +1

    Hi James I brought the same router a few weeks ago and I'd suggest you complain about the parts as mine came in excellent condition the only real issue I had with mine is the spanner being I feel far to thin and flimsy so I replaced the with a 17mm spanner from my many lose spanners I have floating around in various tool boxes nut otherwise as you said it feels good on the hand to use

    • James' Man Cave
      James' Man Cave  8 months ago

      Hi Andy, I'm not to worried about the accessories, I can't see my self ever using them. I think I may have given it a bit more of a negative review then I thought, because it really does work well for what I have used it for

  • SCRAP WOOD TO CRAFTWOOD

    I have seen quite a few not so good reviews on this aldi model james suppose it's ok for small jobs but I don't think it would run for long periods for doing carvings it would probably catch fire lol. I'll stick too my katsu I think

    • James' Man Cave
      James' Man Cave  8 months ago

      I did use it for one carving Warren, and it worked great, but yeah, the Katsu gets much better reviews then this

  • Strawbyte Workshop
    Strawbyte Workshop 8 months ago

    Great review. It is the accessories which let these tools down in the main. But I mostly use my palm router with shop made jigs rather than supplied fences. Looks good for the money. Cheers👍

    • James' Man Cave
      James' Man Cave  8 months ago

      Hi Karl, yes unfortunately they do usually let an otherwise reasonable tool down. It's performed well for what I have wanted it to do so far

  • Jetsetscotty
    Jetsetscotty 8 months ago

    Nice video. I suppose you do get what you pay for but at £25 it's a good tool for most people. I've been looking at the VonHaus Compact Palm Router 710W on the big auction site for £35 and it has a lot of good reviews.

    • James' Man Cave
      James' Man Cave  8 months ago

      What let's this down is tge attachments. As a router it actually works really well and I've made loads of stuff with it. However, I've also heard good things about the vonHaus/Katsu routers and almost 1 and a half times the power