Apple, Please Keep Doing This! - iMac 2019 Review

Share
Embed
  • Published on Apr 23, 2019
  • Lower your phone bill at linus.ting.com and get $25 in Ting credit
    Check out the Hot Dox Keyboard at hotdox.live/ltt-1
    Another year, another iMac, but this time we got a pretty big upgrade in CPU horsepower! Can the iMac tame the Core i9, or are we in for an epic burn?
    Buy an iMac from Apple: lmg.gg/8KVX5
    Buy a Core i9 9900K:
    From Amazon: geni.us/0KZO7
    From Newegg: lmg.gg/8KVXz
    Discuss on the forum: linustechtips.com/main/topic/1057571-apple-please-keep-doing-this-%E2%80%93-imac-2019-review/
    Our Affiliates, Referral Programs, and Sponsors: linustechtips.com/main/topic/75969-linus-tech-tips-affiliates-referral-programs-and-sponsors
    Get Private Internet Access today at geni.us/7lLuafK
    Displate metal posters: lmg.gg/displateltt
    Linus Tech Tips merchandise at www.LTTStore.com/
    Linus Tech Tips posters at crowdmade.com/linustechtips
    Our Test Benches on Amazon: www.amazon.com/shop/linustechtips
    Our production gear: geni.us/cvOS
    Twitter - twitter.com/linustech
    Facebook - facebook.com/LinusTech
    Instagram - instagram.com/linustech
    Twitch - www.twitch.tv/linustech
    Intro Screen Music Credit:
    Title: Laszlo - Supernova
    Video Link: ru-clip.net/video/PKfxmFU3lWY/video.html
    iTunes Download Link: itunes.apple.com/us/album/supernova/id936805712
    Artist Link: soundcloud.com/laszlomusic
    Outro Screen Music Credit: Approaching Nirvana - Sugar High ru-clip.net/user/approachingnirvana
  • Science & TechnologyScience & Technology

Comments • 3 641

  • ad mash
    ad mash 6 days ago

    is 21.5 inch imac to small?

  • V. Sriram Sundar
    V. Sriram Sundar 9 days ago

    Linus: Macs were not that expensive.
    Apple: *This guy found our secret let's release an all new stand that costs more than our new iPhone X*

  • V. Sriram Sundar
    V. Sriram Sundar 9 days ago

    If Apple implemented four thunderbolt 3 ports then you can hook up to two 5k displays just like the iMac Pro.

  • Shawn Matthews
    Shawn Matthews 12 days ago

    It would be awesome if Apple released an i9 8 core mini with 4 SODIMM slots to get that 128GB of RAM and put 2 NVMe SSD slots accessible from the outside in there, too. I’d bet it would fly off the shelves.

  • Robert Hornberger
    Robert Hornberger 17 days ago

    Such a hater! It’s funny! Glad you finally found some things to like about the iMac 🖥 ❗️

    • xOr
      xOr 12 days ago

      Robert Hornberger
      Logical =\= hater

  • EzbonGamer
    EzbonGamer 19 days ago

    Eyy I’m buying this bois

  • najibnk
    najibnk 28 days ago

    Linus Tech Tips: Apple, Please Keep Doing This!
    Apple: NO. do Better!.
    *release Mac Pro.

  • Earla Weese
    Earla Weese 28 days ago

    *STOP FUCKING TALKING AND **_JUST SHOW YOURSELF USING IT!!!!!!!_*

  • 4GuitarTrance
    4GuitarTrance Month ago

    Non-recycleable material?
    Please, just report what you're reporting on and leave the nazi-esque "eco" crap for the socialist morons who use verbal "enviro-terrorism" to frighten people into political and politically-correct fascism in order to try and beat us into world socialist submission.
    Apple... your employees are too politically-correct and left-wing silly enough as it is. So PLEASE... pack your wares the way you want to pack them and tell the enviro-fascists to screw-off!
    As for the author of this vid... stick to what you're reporting on and stop boring the hell out of those of us who know better with your eco-correct BS. Styrofoam and plastic flipping' rule... so get over your eco-preaching self!
    Aside from that, great vid, and thanks for the info!

  • ekphotography
    ekphotography Month ago

    Where I live there is no i9 option, only the i5 6 core 3.0, 3.1 and 3.7 ghz . I am about to buy a new iMac and was wondering if I use Davinci Resolve and mainly FCPX am I going to be OK with the AMD Radeon Pro 570X con 4 GB de memoria GDDR5. To buy the 8GB it is like almost 1000.00 more here and I did not want to pay that extra cost unless it is totally worth it. Can anybody let me know if they think it is worth the extra money for that graphics card option? Thank you very much!!!

  • Jonathan Bicalho
    Jonathan Bicalho Month ago

    Remember that the iMac pro is much more customizable than the iMac 2019. On the iMac Pro we can add 18-core Xeon processor, 256GB memory, 16GB video card, 4TB SSD plus other enhancements compared to the iMac 2019 So i would go for iMac Pro because i believe it is a working computer for over 20 years just customizing from time to time.

    • V. Sriram Sundar
      V. Sriram Sundar 29 days ago

      Lol I mistook your name for the tech reviewer Jonathan Morrison!

  • Eric Thompson
    Eric Thompson Month ago

    Swap the mouse for the trackpad in the config and get your own mouse

  • It’s Tamara sis
    It’s Tamara sis Month ago

    How much is this

  • Rizki Adi Nugraha
    Rizki Adi Nugraha Month ago

    As long as xcode doesn’t hang, I’m fine.

    • V. Sriram Sundar
      V. Sriram Sundar 29 days ago

      So you develop apps for Apple devices? What kind of apps?

  • Jake Derouin
    Jake Derouin Month ago

    “2005 network speeds”. I suffered through 16 years of my life with a 14 Mbps connection until switching to gigabit last week.

  • Bilbro-Swaginz
    Bilbro-Swaginz Month ago

    As of the release of the Mac pro this model no longer exists, Core i5 is the highest you can get with an iMac now, then Xeon with iMac Pro

    • Xmobile Slayerx
      Xmobile Slayerx 22 days ago

      Bilbro-Swaginz umm. No. That’s not right at all

  • michael p
    michael p Month ago

    I will wait until they change the bezels.

  • Daniel M
    Daniel M Month ago

    Great video.

  • Chris Wilson
    Chris Wilson Month ago

    I don't get why apple don't make the Mac a little thicker at the back and help with thermals... Who'd actually know if their new iMac was 2cm thicker than the last one.

  • Tyler Kandhai
    Tyler Kandhai Month ago

    Did you really complain about the packaging not being recyclable...? Really?

  • Yosef Roth
    Yosef Roth Month ago

    is this guy on drugs? lol

  • 릭뷰
    릭뷰 Month ago +1

    Why you ordered 2tb fusion drive? Everybody recommended ssd.

    • pocolashon
      pocolashon Month ago

      Apple is out of their minds with the prices of SSD's as well. 1TB SSD is +840 EUR (in comparison with the base 1TB fusion). 840 EUR! I have just upgraded my 2012 iMac with a 1TB Samsung SSD, I had to buy everything from tools to termo sensor and it came out

  • ridgero
    ridgero Month ago

    I am so glad that they used the 9900K!

  • Keanu Haumahu
    Keanu Haumahu Month ago

    I'm confused. Apple's website says you can only add 64GB RAM, however Linus and some other RU-cliprs say it takes up to 128GB. I checked my local apple site (im from Europe) and the US version but both say maximnal of 64GB on the 27inch specced out model.

  • Daniel Dougan
    Daniel Dougan Month ago

    I can't help but think that the people who would benefit the most from such a high-end config (much less the iMac Pro) would be better served by the real Mac Pro coming later this year and a separate display.

    Side note: Where are the 5K displays for us Windows folk?

    • Smorfar
      Smorfar Month ago

      Daniel Dougan LG Ultrafine and the new Mac Pro is definitely not for normal consumer.
      That thing is a beast on another level and surprisingly well priced too if you compare with HP and Dell servers.

  • Strikye B
    Strikye B Month ago +2

    but if they remove the headphone-jack they will have more space for powerful hardware.

  • plexx va
    plexx va Month ago +1

    Got my iMac from Amazon highly recommend if you are in the market for one amzn.to/2I9gMJ3

  • Bobby Brady
    Bobby Brady Month ago +1

    No one is forced to use the fucking included mouse!

  • Soldato Caparzo
    Soldato Caparzo Month ago

    Work of art

  • MarCuseusFX
    MarCuseusFX Month ago

    Yes, it's 5K. Perhaps you could use that information to once and for all actually learn what 4K is after all these years................
    **FACEPALM**

  • tihzho
    tihzho Month ago

    Why then does apple list an 3.7GHz 6-core 9th-generation Intel Core i5 processor for the iMac? Where's the i9?

    • Xmobile Slayerx
      Xmobile Slayerx 22 days ago

      tihzho click buy now and add it when they let you customize it

  • xCryzizZ Cruz
    xCryzizZ Cruz Month ago

    Spend 2700 usd on a pc you can't even game on? No thanks

  • John Smith
    John Smith Month ago

    this guy over reacting, acting... very annoying.

  • Amerco
    Amerco Month ago

    The bezel is so big, it looks very old for that price

  • bibikjebol
    bibikjebol Month ago

    as always, excellent review!

  • Christine Jessica Reyes

    0:39
    I heard hotdog

  • Donovan Crowie
    Donovan Crowie Month ago

    This is good for putting me to sleep

  • Steve V
    Steve V Month ago

    “a bunch of noise” - what language is that? It’s not English.

  • Sadpants McGee
    Sadpants McGee Month ago

    Who's brilliant fucking idea was it to put the charging cable for a mouse on the bottom of the fucking mouse?
    What they _should_ do, is make a "Magic Mousepad" that charges the next-gen Magic Mouse through induction.

  • Leroy
    Leroy Month ago

    How come the iMac is still very good but the MacBooks are so bad? I need a need a good new MacBook for my work not (yet) a new iMac :(

  • Josh Davidson
    Josh Davidson 2 months ago +1

    I strongly recommend SMCFanControl over MacsFanControl.

  • kayatwork. me
    kayatwork. me 2 months ago

    KF cpu IS BIG SUCKS for video Editing!!!! It is defective cpu.... !!!! in IMAC!!!! Defective CPU!!! For this money?!?!?!

  • Clive Flint
    Clive Flint 2 months ago

    The imac pro specs at 8:41shows 46 threads when it goes up to 36 threads

  • Dystar 924
    Dystar 924 2 months ago

    "And don't forget to recharge your own mental breakdowns from time to time..." 🗨😉🔋🖲⚠️♨️〽️

  • Arturs
    Arturs 2 months ago

    and if you order version with least ram it comes with it soldered :D

  • Spiral modding
    Spiral modding 2 months ago

    I don't need 5k

  • Brian Murillo
    Brian Murillo 2 months ago

    I will never use apple anything no matter how close they try to get to a PC.

  • Tim Birch
    Tim Birch 2 months ago

    My dad has a 2009 MacBook Pro that cost him $2800 when he was in editing school and he still uses that damn thing

  • denvera1g1
    denvera1g1 2 months ago

    9:03 That segway had me thinking Mack Weldon underwear

  • Jack
    Jack 2 months ago

    I’m glad you are out there. Again, thanks

  • Jack
    Jack 2 months ago

    You’ re a beast on this matter of RU-clip. Probably one of the best out there. I’ll get the new iMac 2019. Thanks

  • YxngFlex
    YxngFlex 2 months ago

    can you sent me gaming pc my pc so lagging only run roblox 12 fps

  • awesomeferret
    awesomeferret 2 months ago

    LTT: Shot on RED...but in incognito. Seriously though, why is the video quality so bad in this one? The colors are way off.

  • VIRAL_DNA / DNA64 Productions

    Thunderbolt 3 10G Ethernet Adapter *$148CDN* on Amazon
    www.amazon.com/OWC-Thunderbolt-10G-Ethernet-Adapter/dp/B07K7SMF89/

  • Peter Breis
    Peter Breis 2 months ago +1

    Only wish Apple would take the "If it ain't broke, don't fix it" approach to their software.
    It's 2019 and Apple's Pages, Keynote and Numbers haven't caught anywhere up to the iWorks '09 versions.

  • wO
    wO 2 months ago

    u stupid man. u dont get design.

  • SuffuFFaffiss
    SuffuFFaffiss 2 months ago +1

    It's a consumer product. NO ONE has anywhere near 10Gig speeds

  • ian walker
    ian walker 2 months ago

    Damn i mss my iMac so badly, i may actually get another.

  • Jenson Huang
    Jenson Huang 2 months ago +1

    How much did Apple pay you?

  • Jason MacDonald
    Jason MacDonald 2 months ago +1

    he also missed how much tax they charge you for a 2tb ssd, im also curious if you can swap that out yourself.... 4tb sammy is like $600-700 and if this machine takes NVME even better..

    • Juan Manuel Martinez
      Juan Manuel Martinez 2 months ago

      Not swappable, I would configure it with the base SSD instead of fusion drive and use thunderbolt 3 ssd's, not many people surely need huge gigabit+ transfer speeds for their workflows and it's much cheaper than paying the apple tax on SSD's (even though they're quite fast)

  • Blue Jays 11
    Blue Jays 11 2 months ago

    What is the app that makes your fans go full speed?

  • SavItheRavI d
    SavItheRavI d 2 months ago

    You can buy the same system for about 2000

  • Alex Maldonado
    Alex Maldonado 2 months ago

    the 1k dislikes were the windows addicts who hated apple

  • Bryce Steiner
    Bryce Steiner 2 months ago

    why use a mouse that charges from the bottom when the touchpad is so much better?

  • xXuidmod
    xXuidmod 2 months ago

    I would be interested if they just made the bezels slimmer. I would mistake it for a 2009 iMac easily

  • Voyage Fest
    Voyage Fest 2 months ago

    About the 4K i5 model? Is it justifiable for its price?

    • Crypto Insider
      Crypto Insider 2 months ago

      Only if you're a professional who does video/photo editing, a journalist who needs that large screen to check multiple sources simultaneously, or you produce music. Think about it in terms of what MacOS can do for your work.

  • Wysp
    Wysp 2 months ago

    Does apple even watch this?

  • Nina Nicole
    Nina Nicole 2 months ago

    You look like David Tennant with the accent , thanks

  • krish arts & photography

    Nice & Thanks :)

  • oddbmxer
    oddbmxer 2 months ago

    Is color grading of this video a bit off? Face seems a bit to red