Garmin fenix 3 REVIEW - CrossFit Workout Test

Share
Embed
  • Published on Apr 4, 2015
  • CHECK OUT ON AMAZON ↓↓↓↓
    goo.gl/11PJPJ


    My second review test with the Garmin Fenix 3. This just might be the best GPS watch and best fitness tracker out right now (and it better be given the price). Probably not the best wearable for CrossFit, but if you mostly run, cycle, swim, and hike, and also do high-intensity training on the side, this is a great device for you!
    This device is absolutely incredible. It has built-in GPS, an accelerometer, barometer, altimeter, Bluetooth 4.0, Wi-Fi, and ANT+. It is water resistant up to 100 meters and can monitor basically all of your workouts. It has presets for cycling and running (indoors and out), skiing, triathlons, strength training, and hiking. It relays your phone notifications (sms, email, calls, etc.), calendar, weather, and the temperature. It can shows your historical workouts and activity data. I will definitely be using this thing as much as I possibly can. Possibly the best GPS sportwatch there is. Great device to help you get fit for the summer :)



    ▬ ADVERTISER DISCLOSURE ▬
    RizKnows purchased this product. We received no monetary compensation from Garmin to provide this video.
    In order make our business sustainable and keep our content free, we use affiliate links. That means if you make purchases through certain links at the top of the description of this video, we may earn a small commission (at no extra cost to you). We appreciate your support and we look forward to continuing to provide entertaining and helpful videos for you to enjoy.
    Read our full Ethics Statement here: rizknows.com/ethics










    ▬ RIZKNOWS DEALS APP ▬
    iOS - apple.co/2qaHgzI
    Android - bit.ly/2qIDD6I


    ▬ CONNECT ▬
    Subscribe: goo.gl/aTyGpN

    The BEST Deals: rizknows.com/deals
    Website: rizknows.com

    Twitter: rizknows
    Instagram: rizknows
    Facebook: rizknows
    Snapchat: snapchat.com/add/rizardofoz
    Periscope: rizknows






    ▬ CREDITS ▬
    Intro Song: "Cut and Run” Kevin MacLeod
    Link: incompetech.com
    Outro Song: "First Aid" by Letter Box
    Link: ru-clip.net/video/XBimPS3rago/video.html
    Future Tag
  • SportsSports

Comments • 124

  • mark peckson
    mark peckson Month ago

    Any new recommendations for a crossfit band?

  • FPrimeHD
    FPrimeHD 8 months ago

    I have a fenix 5x and do CrossFit all the time. I was excited to wear it and track during a workout, but as you state, it really gets in the way when doing lifting, etc.. I like to use wrist wraps as well when doing any over head lifting and that obviously makes it impossible to wear the watch effectively.

  • Rob Erickson
    Rob Erickson Year ago

    What did you set the watch to? I just got the Fenix 3 HR and I don’t see any weight lifting options

  • sadi ficil
    sadi ficil Year ago

    Great video. I have a Fênix 3 HR saphire and I Love this Whach. Thank you.

  • TheOneEd
    TheOneEd 2 years ago

    It looks like you're wearing the watch WAY too close to the wrist bone, this is uncomfortable and Garmin specifically says not to do that. Wearing it further away from your wrist will probably help a lot.

  • Ashraf M.
    Ashraf M. 2 years ago

    I'm really wondering how to add the crossfit app to my fenix 5 ?
    I have already a strength app ,, is it enough for a crossfitter ?

  • John Dignam
    John Dignam 2 years ago

    Great Post thanks for sharing, ✌️🤜💪

  • fluid authenticity
    fluid authenticity 2 years ago

    jeff how do you adjust the date on the fenix 3 hr?

  • Ryan k
    Ryan k 2 years ago

    I just wanted to say, Thank you sir! your videos helped me decide to purchase this awesome watch. I like the size, to me its light. Pretty happy so far. Great video Reviews! thanks again.

  • Tony Allen
    Tony Allen 2 years ago

    I know I'm a little late to the party, but I just got this watch with the Ant+ HR monitor, and it's a beast. This watch is phenomenal and I can't wait to use it to the max!!

  • James Dillard
    James Dillard 2 years ago

    I would love to see a review of Gym Pro 2 If you haven't done that yet. It would probably lean me towards the fenix 3 over the iPhone. My priority is a Gym tracker with cardio monitoring capabilities. There's auto Gym tracking app for the iWatch too but I'm not sure how well that one works either.

  • David Rodriguez
    David Rodriguez 2 years ago

    Had the word Crossfit.

  • Jay Castillo
    Jay Castillo 3 years ago

    What would you recommend for those who do dynamic lifts/crossfit?

  • Younes El bardi
    Younes El bardi 3 years ago

    Great watch indeed.
    But i think garmin could have merged the quatix and the d2 bravo and the fenix 3 in one watch and HR of course.
    That would be a super watch that does it all.
    Great review and videos man i love watching your channel. Keep it up. 👍🏼

  • Maryam A.
    Maryam A. 3 years ago +4

    Where can I get those apps? I can't seem to find them in the connect IQ store?!

    • Saulo Lauers
      Saulo Lauers 2 years ago +1

      Hold the Up Button, then press Settings, then press Applications, then press UP and Add new one. There is not a crossfit app, but you can use a cardio one or strenght one and even personalize its name to CrossFit.

    • Louis Gagnon
      Louis Gagnon 3 years ago +3

      Same here, I would really like to know how to have crossfit of strength as options in my list of trainings, none of them are showing and they are not in the store either...?

    • Maryam A.
      Maryam A. 3 years ago

      Crossfit & strength apps..

  • Marcin Rynkiewicz
    Marcin Rynkiewicz 3 years ago

    How you make crossfit and and strengh profile ?

  • Ali Kazan
    Ali Kazan 3 years ago

    Hello there. nice review. is there some other garmin that you would recommend for crossfit? or would raising the fenix 3 above the wrist bone solve the issue? thnx

  • Link ToMe
    Link ToMe 3 years ago

    For the life of me, I cannot find the strength training profile on the watch. I can't even find it on the mobile connect app to transfer to the watch. Running, cycling, all that outdoor stuff is there but strength training is not. How do you get it on the watch?

  • CatChaFreeMan
    CatChaFreeMan 3 years ago

    hi Riz! Would you happen to know how to get the Garmin Fenix 3 to track indoor cycling?

  • J.T. Minnesota
    J.T. Minnesota 3 years ago

    Creating Screens and Data Fields is an AWESOME CUSTOMIZATION TOOL! I bike to a local bodyweight station (pull-ups, push-ups, dips, crunches, etc) , do a workout with calisthenics & bodyweight stuff followed by more complex compound movements (burpees, baby!!!) & some sprints. A five minute cooldown, then bike home. The Fēnix 3 tracks the whole thing based on the data fields I CREATED! As a fitness creating, tracking AND motivational tool, IT IS F***ING AWESOME!

  • Globetrotter 4FR
    Globetrotter 4FR 3 years ago +1

    Have you tried the Forerunner 235? Would love to know how the puls tracking is compared. Mine is quite off sometimes :(

  • Thomas Kezele
    Thomas Kezele 3 years ago

    Hy, thanks for the video. Just wanted to check how did you get that CROSSFIT activity / app on Fenix3? I have mine for a bit over a year and never had that app available. I have something similar but does not count reps or something like that. Keep up the good work. T

  • Alex N
    Alex N 3 years ago

    cross shit

  • Peter T
    Peter T 3 years ago

    you must not own a dictionary... you need absolutely zero help looking up that PEC DEFINITION

  • Emmanuel Ike
    Emmanuel Ike 3 years ago +3

    Hey man which watch is best for crossfit and weight lifting?

  • Ray Thompson
    Ray Thompson 3 years ago

    Jeff im new to f3hr and need to know what app/widget your using to record/monitor cardio and weight training workouts im using the tri heart rate band equipment (workout appx time 2hr 4/5 times a week) im using is follows
    7min each on, 1. Stair Master 2. Ski Cross Trainer 3. Bike 5k 4. (15 mins Incline / 5 min Decline Treadmill) 5. Step 6. bike 5k
    Free Weights/Resistance Machine
    Dumber Shoulder press's training apprx 35mins 2. Biceps curls
    Legs Exercises apprx 7-10 mins , Abs and Rotation twists 7min
    Also i notice that rest time calories burnt 900clas and active is 1200-1300 my worry is the free weight training isnt accurate or im doing something wrong that said my Microsoft band 2 registered 1750 2000 calories burnt. I damaged my tendon in my left left leg so cant do a lot of exercise i would like cant bend the leg but its getting better.

  • Mo O
    Mo O 3 years ago

    what app did you use for your workout on the watch? Thanks

  • Chicken Lips
    Chicken Lips 3 years ago +4

    What an awesome park. IF we had one of those in south africa you would get killed on your first round of reps for the watch or gopro

  • Aileen Elliott
    Aileen Elliott 3 years ago

    hey rizknows, so i just bought a fenix3 and for the life of me i can't seem to figure out how to get crossfit app on my watch. I'm a big cross fitter and i would really like to have it on my watch. thanks

  • Amin Maalouf
    Amin Maalouf 3 years ago +2

    hi Riz
    I dont have the "Crossfit" training option in my workout list.
    How i can download it on the watch?

  • Tushar Bhatia
    Tushar Bhatia 3 years ago

    What activity do you start to record when you do a gym workout?

  • Andreas Xenophontos
    Andreas Xenophontos 3 years ago +1

    Hi Riz I love your videos. However can you guide me how can I create a gym workout?

  • Jasmin
    Jasmin 3 years ago

    Whats the best watch/tracker for more dynamic based workouts in your oppinion ? Blaze/ vivoactive / charge hr.... Besides the fact to get good heart rate monitoring and sleep tracking ? Thx

  • jimmy cychowski
    jimmy cychowski 3 years ago

    I'm thinking to get this cross weight training

  • Peg Brady
    Peg Brady 4 years ago +3

    Thanks for video, but the video was more or less watching you do a crossfit work out and not how to set up the watch, creating an app for one, two, the fields within that Crossfit app you had to manually create, thumbs down. I'll try and find some other video that walks us through that process.

  • Mirek Pyrsz
    Mirek Pyrsz 4 years ago

    How can I get crossfit app? Can I use it indoor? Or what is the best app to download for indoor using?

  • Bhargav Mehta
    Bhargav Mehta 4 years ago

    thanks rizknows. Can you tell us that does it connect to polar h7 hr (bluetooth) or just connect to ant+ straps plz reply

  • RIZKNOWS
    RIZKNOWS  4 years ago

    **NOTE: fenix 3 gets major software upgrade...adds golf support. www.rizknows.com/#!Garmin-announces-fenix-3-HR-releases-major-software-update/cu6k/568da2300cf217d8fb802f51

    • Tom Synnott
      Tom Synnott 3 years ago +4

      +RizKnows Great video, thanks Riz! Could you possibly guide me through creating a Crossfit workout on the fenix 3? Not sure what to turn off/on etc

  • Catarino Hernández
    Catarino Hernández 4 years ago +4

    +RizKnows, did your Fenix 3 came with the crossfit and Strength apps within? I´ve just bought my Fenix 3 and it does´t have those two. I´m trying to find them in the Garmin "store" via Garmin Express and I could´t find them...

    • XL Adventure Motorcycle Rider
      XL Adventure Motorcycle Rider 4 years ago

      +Catarino Hernández me too. Took my Garmin Fenix 3 watch to the gym and was like "what app do I pick?" I picked indoor running but it never showed my total calories burned.

  • luiz fernando fonseca
    luiz fernando fonseca 4 years ago +1

    RizKnows, how do you add Strengh app and configure layout screen for four fields in your Fenix3? Thank you

  • Emmanuel Ike
    Emmanuel Ike 4 years ago

    which watch is best for crossfit and weight lifting?

  • KirillElrond
    KirillElrond 4 years ago +1

    I just bought a Garmin Fenix 3 and there is no Strength activity on it!?! I've looked through the garmin connect store too. Am I missing something in the configuration somewhere?

    • KirillElrond
      KirillElrond 4 years ago

      +KirillElrond Never mind. Found it! Apparently you can't add activities via the android app, but on the watch in setup you can add more activity types including defining your own.

  • zacatecano1986
    zacatecano1986 4 years ago

    I have the epix but how do i create a custom app

  • zacatecano1986
    zacatecano1986 4 years ago

    how to do I add the strength and crossfit apps to my epix ? is it possible?

  • Russell Magsanide
    Russell Magsanide 4 years ago +9

    How do you add the crossfit app on your fenix 3?

    • Saulo Lauers
      Saulo Lauers 2 years ago +2

      Hold the Up Button, then press Settings, then press Applications, then press UP and Add new one. There is not a crossfit app, but you can use a cardio one or strenght one and even personalize its name to CrossFit.

  • Landon Brent
    Landon Brent 4 years ago

    How did you add crossfit to your activities?

  • Jiri Kanicky
    Jiri Kanicky 4 years ago

    Great device. I wish it has inbuilt HR monitor.

  • JR Wiggins
    JR Wiggins 4 years ago

    What app on the fenix 3 are you using to track the workout?

  • RIZKNOWS
    RIZKNOWS  4 years ago

    Hey people! Thanks for watching. I really hope you enjoyed this video. If you decide that you want to buy the fenix3 and you don't care which retailer you go through, please consider buying with my good friends at CleverTraining.com. They help keep RizKnows up and running. Here is the link: goo.gl/Zh1XKf

    • Riceee Balls
      Riceee Balls 3 years ago

      +Ruby Diansyah I am curious about this to. I am thinking about getting the Fenix 3 HR and will invest in the strap but am wondering what bands out there are actually good for weight training and cross fit like activities.

    • Ruby Diansyah
      Ruby Diansyah 4 years ago +6

      +RizKnows , any solutions for Strength Apps and Crossfit Apps in Fenix 3 ? I mostly use my fenix 3 for weight training.
      please do Fenix 3 - HRM strap tutorial video. I am new with Garmin stuff and I still can't track my workout result for weight training.

  • bobanyfingelf
    bobanyfingelf 4 years ago

    Riz - I love your vids - informative & to the point - keep posting bro. cheers. Bob.

  • aggropa
    aggropa 4 years ago

    Jeff,
    I have watched all of your video's about the Fenix 3, but I'm concerned as I intend to use it largely for dynamic full body workouts and obstacle course racing. Do you think the Epix, with it's square body and curved sides, would fit better on the wrist for this type of workout?

  • arif yaacob
    arif yaacob 4 years ago

    hi RizKnows how did u install crossfit apps on this device, i cant find it on connect IQ store

  • Contact SC
    Contact SC 4 years ago +2

    My Fenix 3 doesn't have the Crossfit or Strength workouts on it at all. How to activate/find these?

  • Peter Stevens
    Peter Stevens 4 years ago

    Great video review. Thank you

  • Morten Dall Darmer
    Morten Dall Darmer 4 years ago

    hi tank fore all the grate video on Garmin Fenix 3 :-) can you make a video ore write in comment some thing about 4 thing.
    1. The Fenix track my "active calorie burned" and they are sync to garmin connect. but can I get them out to an other system. I am using a danisk foot tracking program, and will like to have my KCAL sync over to that program, this program can sync with runkeeper, so if I can get the Fernix data over to RunKeeper, then I am home free :-)
    2. The Fenix 3 track my daily calorie burn, by counting steps and other activity. but but dos it split it up in "active calorie" and "inactive calorie" ore do it just show total burned calorie?
    3. In the Garmin Connect I can enter my height and weight and so on, but can I sync them with other system. I haw a smart weight from withings.com so I have my weight live every day. so it will be nice if the Garmin Connect can get my weight from withings.com
    4. Can you tell / show a little about the smart watch part of the watch, how dos is look when you receive a mail, sms, call, how well can you browse the calender, and so on. so can you review it as a smart watch?

  • ChiperZen
    ChiperZen 4 years ago

    Hi. How do you get the Crossfit apps? I unable to find in IQ store.

  • Lucas Lopez
    Lucas Lopez 4 years ago +2

    Hi. It seems that my Fenix 3 watch doesn´t have the crossfit or strenght app. Only running, bike, swimming. do you know what could be happening?

    • Saulo Lauers
      Saulo Lauers 2 years ago +1

      Hold the Up Button, then press Settings, then press Applications, then press UP and Add new one. There is not a crossfit app, but you can use a cardio one or strenght one and even personalize its name to CrossFit.

  • Nick De Martino
    Nick De Martino 4 years ago

    Hello Riz are you able to help me setup the cross fit app as mine doesn`t come preset in my fenix 3. Thank you.

  • Ricardo Valdepeña
    Ricardo Valdepeña 4 years ago

    Great review do you need a separate heart rate sensor or it has it built in? Thanks

    • jiggy meister
      jiggy meister 4 years ago

      @Ricardo Valdepeña You need to wear the HRM strap or connect to any other ANT+ heart rate sensor.

  • Avihay Goraly
    Avihay Goraly 4 years ago

    Hi Jeff, I started to do crossfit and weightlifting also and wanted to know i you could post the screen you use in the crossfit app in the watch.
    Thanks