You've NEVER Heard of this AMAZING Computer - Compulab Airtop 3 Review

Share
Embed
  • Published on Jun 18, 2019
  • Get a $20 Off Perk on the Massdrop x Sennheiser PC37X Gaming Headset at dro.ps/linus-pc37xc2
    Save 10% at Ridge Wallets by using offer code LTTJune at www.ridgewallet.com/LTT
    The Compulab Airtop 3 is completely passively cooled while sporting an Intel i9-9900K and an Nvidia Quadro RTX 4000... sounds toasty. Have Compulab actually managed to keep it cool?
    Buy the Compulab Airtop 3:
    From Compulab: lmg.gg/airtop
    Discuss on the forum: linustechtips.com/main/topic/1074029-my-favorite-desktop-%E2%80%93-compulab-airtop-3-review/
    Our Affiliates, Referral Programs, and Sponsors: linustechtips.com/main/topic/75969-linus-tech-tips-affiliates-referral-programs-and-sponsors
    Get Private Internet Access today at geni.us/7lLuafK
    Displate metal posters: lmg.gg/displateltt
    Linus Tech Tips merchandise at www.LTTStore.com/
    Linus Tech Tips posters at crowdmade.com/linustechtips
    Our Test Benches on Amazon: www.amazon.com/shop/linustechtips
    Our production gear: geni.us/cvOS
    Twitter - linustech
    Facebook - LinusTech
    Instagram - linustech
    Twitch - www.twitch.tv/linustech
    Intro Screen Music Credit:
    Title: Laszlo - Supernova
    Video Link: ru-clip.net/video/PKfxmFU3lWY/video.html
    iTunes Download Link: itunes.apple.com/us/album/supernova/id936805712
    Artist Link: soundcloud.com/laszlomusic
    Outro Screen Music Credit: Approaching Nirvana - Sugar High ru-clip.net/user/approachingnirvana
  • Science & TechnologyScience & Technology

Comments • 2 317

  • Linus Tech Tips
    Linus Tech Tips  5 months ago +78

    Save 10% at Ridge Wallets by using offer code LTTJune at www.ridgewallet.com/LTT

    • Jupiter Aurora
      Jupiter Aurora Month ago

      here my latest gen laptop burn like 100C i can boil water and cook food also

    • Jakub Komorowski-Marcjan
      Jakub Komorowski-Marcjan 4 months ago +2

      How is that thing actually supposed to be a wallet, it only holds cards.

    • King Andrew
      King Andrew 5 months ago

      You guys have amazingly skilled editors and you shouldn't be using Premiere. The edits look like crap. Have you ever tried Vegas? It's so much better and has GPU accelerated exporting. Premiere is a joke. Literally doesn't even have proper clip-to-clip fades, it looks terrible.

    • Notzach
      Notzach 5 months ago +1

      I really wish i could meet you some day Linus because i have learned soo many different things from you videos such as SLI, and you really did motivate me in learning soo much more about computers, i even helped my friend pick out parts for his next desktop. Btw, i Think you are hilarious when you are building a pc with a guest.

  • Trollololol
    Trollololol 13 hours ago

    They use what is called the "stack effect" to cool the PC. The cooler at the bottom of the PC the better the effect would be.

  • Fonzie Bulldog
    Fonzie Bulldog Day ago

    Looked similar in size like the great Asus G20CB.

  • SolidSonicTH
    SolidSonicTH 4 days ago

    This is nice. Tech is advancing so deliciously.

  • xupPer22
    xupPer22 5 days ago

    Amazing engineering work done. However, I'm still skeptical about the cooling performance, I'm not impressed when anything is tested in America. I'd like to see how it does even on idle in a SEA country.

  • alexandru florinescu

    This guy is cool. He does not have the experience or passion of linus in his voice and it is normal, but anything better than that luke guy.

  • Sad Little Pepe
    Sad Little Pepe 12 days ago

    ridge wallets arent actually that bad wow

  • Zes
    Zes 12 days ago

    no suhc thing as do or not, do any nmw s ok

  • Tedd Jasiczek
    Tedd Jasiczek 13 days ago

    That is a sexy af pc

  • Anakin White
    Anakin White 14 days ago

    I’m not a fan of that

  • presh xd
    presh xd 17 days ago +1

    Lol for 3000 this is half the price of the "entry level" mac Pro

  • Trevor
    Trevor 21 day ago

    Sounds like something else "creamed" during this review... ;) ;) 2:37

  • TimeSnake
    TimeSnake 23 days ago

    Wow, actual innovation.

  • rickieinzigartig
    rickieinzigartig 25 days ago

    looks good! I see in the case is no airflow what about the cpu and gpu vrms?

    • rickieinzigartig
      rickieinzigartig 24 days ago

      @Compulab i Love it 😍

    • Compulab
      Compulab 24 days ago +1

      GPU VRMs are thermally coupled. No need to cool specifically CPU VRMs and RAM. Chipset and storage devices are thermally coupled.

  • fernando salazar
    fernando salazar 25 days ago

    But can it run crysis

  • David Kuhry
    David Kuhry 25 days ago

    I wonder if you could grill a panini on it while gaming.

  • Olamajosta
    Olamajosta 27 days ago

    Well i9-9900k and a quadro speaks for itself when it comes to price

  • elias zerano
    elias zerano Month ago

    I wonder why anyone built miniatur sized passive cooled computers whereas the airflow would be a lot better with a bigger housing ...

  • Jupiter Aurora
    Jupiter Aurora Month ago

    awesome machine.

  • TheDonorak
    TheDonorak Month ago

    they have a model with the 1660ti and an i79700 now still comes out to around 2,749.00 USD not terrible but over priced still

  • Jakov Horvatić
    Jakov Horvatić Month ago

    This is one the best reviews on this channel! Kuddos!

  • Thudi guy
    Thudi guy Month ago

    but we cant upgrade this thing like console shite

  • MrClanCularius
    MrClanCularius Month ago

    Has any of the lover-boys here have this PC? I have it. It makes an incredible coil whine noise. I couldn't keep it at my desk. I've checked with the support and there is nothing but a workaround at the moment (which didn't help me at all). fit-pc.com/wiki/index.php?title=Application_note_-_Airtop3_reducing_audible_noises

    • MrClanCularius
      MrClanCularius 8 days ago +1

      @Kevin Kibiego Other than coil whine I have no issues. I don't play games though. It's a headless linux server for me. It remains always cool. Running 24/7.

    • MrClanCularius
      MrClanCularius 8 days ago +1

      @c99kfm Cheers for the tip I'll try.

    • c99kfm
      c99kfm 26 days ago +1

      @Kevin Kibiego I got a 9700/1660 Ti combination, and thermals are not an issue. As mentioned above, I've had to fiddle a bit in the BIOS to get it as quiet as I want, but thermals have always been excellent.
      They ship it with dual power bricks and recommends both for a 1660 Ti configuration, but as the only thing that will happen if power delivery is insufficient is the computer rebooting, I've run it like that - with no reboots and no issues. Of course, I only have two RAM sticks and one M.2 drive.
      That means even game-wise, we're dealing with sub-250W heat dissipation - which the Airtop seems to handle without even a slight problem. While running benchmarks, there's a noticeable air stream shooting up from the sides, as evidenced by the included spinner shown in this video. This keeps the temperatures quite manageable, with no moving parts and no noise from the cooling.

    • Kevin Kibiego
      Kevin Kibiego 26 days ago

      @c99kfm @MrClanCularius how would you rate it all round? I'm looking at the 1660ti configuration but I'm worried about the temps over a period of time.

    • c99kfm
      c99kfm 26 days ago +2

      They've added to that page since, in response to questions from me - there is still coil whine, but it's no longer "clicky" and inaudible a foot away, when earlier I could (barely) hear clicks from two meters distance. Their custom BIOS allows an amazing amount of tuning, and their tech support has been invaluable in helping me get everything working just the way I like it. Talk to them, I sure they can help you, too!

  • Dorido Lee
    Dorido Lee Month ago

    2:31 Stadium truck?
    liked

  • Matthew Smith
    Matthew Smith Month ago +1

    It is basically a desktop radiator heater

  • The Audacity
    The Audacity Month ago +1

    That's cheap considering you can buy from Apple for a lot more and get less..

  • JuicyGamer Lol
    JuicyGamer Lol Month ago +1

    Me: I need this
    Price: $1,687.00 (Canadian dollar)
    Wallet:HELL NO

  • fainting__goat
    fainting__goat Month ago

    I'm really not one of those guys who gets off knocking Linus, but I'd watch this channel much more if Alex did all the speaking.

  • bear532
    bear532 Month ago

    I’ve had a similar but better idea for a while now, nice to see that some part of concept works as well as I hoped for. Can’t wait to build it.

  • troy b
    troy b Month ago +1

    "Enough form-play" 😂😂
    That man deserve a raise after that 1 liner.

  • Ali Akin vlogs
    Ali Akin vlogs Month ago +1

    Invisi case

  • psylentdeath
    psylentdeath Month ago

    I just watched this a second time. Cuz, whatever. Did you see how dirty Riley's light switch was??? LOL Whats with that?

  • Paul Allegretto
    Paul Allegretto Month ago +1

    WTF happened to your light switch at 4:13? It looks like a gravity-defying Rc car peeled wheels on it?

  • matt winward
    matt winward Month ago

    Please do a DIY version of this computer. Even if it was entirely impractical for normal people to do, it would be incredibly fun to watch one be put together.

  • Nolan NOSUCHTHiNG
    Nolan NOSUCHTHiNG Month ago

    I must say thank you very much for this video this will be my new workstation as well. ..I'm an audio producer.... no fans equals heaven

  • Nolan NOSUCHTHiNG
    Nolan NOSUCHTHiNG Month ago

    stretches it legs lololol

  • 88Spint
    88Spint Month ago

    A small radiator that double as a computer strong enough to "work" on. Man that would be awesome right about now as winter is coming and the landlord is being cheap on the heater.

  • 2nde06 BOUNAJMA Mehdi
    2nde06 BOUNAJMA Mehdi Month ago +1

    Best pc ever !!!

  • prival fang
    prival fang Month ago

    *most solid.

  • Lex Macintosh
    Lex Macintosh Month ago

    Hot air doesn’t rise, it displaces more dense (cooler) air.

  • Code-Wise
    Code-Wise Month ago

    Actually, they are called industrial computers. They are sealed and have multiple industrial connectors built-in. Like rs232/485. They are intended to work on environments where humidity, dust and gases are highly concentraded. You can have one of those at home but their mainly purpose is for heavy duty environments and to be turned on 24/7 365.

  • amf85
    amf85 2 months ago +1

    You can get a similarly sized, equally quiet MSI Trident with the same components for half the price. Pass.

  • Alwin Tom
    Alwin Tom 2 months ago

    1:38 Fans are also using convection to cool. And so does water cooling.

  • jazzmickge1
    jazzmickge1 2 months ago

    Can it grate cheese? Sorry Apple! I can see why you love it. Unlike Dell PC's, at least it has decent upgrade options. It shows REAL 21st century innovation. Sadly, its costs enough that it's design would have to heat your home as you would have to cancel your heating bill to pay for it.

    • jazzmickge1
      jazzmickge1 2 months ago

      NTA - I love the fact that pretty RGB nowadays is just for Ego support and not Power. Real PC enthusiast and gamers will realise that they will get more from this system. And without wasting energy on lighting.

  • The Unboxing Experience

    Anyone have $3,500 to spare?

  • Dick Sapp
    Dick Sapp 2 months ago

    Nice commercial, Guys! Keep up that great work! Thanks for including several commercials within your commercial as well! Thaaaaaaaanks!

  • Panda Digital Love
    Panda Digital Love 2 months ago

    Should really highlight it as house heater for winter.

  • Panda
    Panda 2 months ago +1

    Can you please make a Video, testing what happens when you put in a 2080 ti or maybe a 2070

  • JJR
    JJR 2 months ago +1

    the segway is as slick as the case

  • Joel Doxtator
    Joel Doxtator 2 months ago

    So what we are looking at here is a laptop without a display that uses desktop components, basically.

  • subberwizzard
    subberwizzard 2 months ago

    ah yes the office 3:55

  • John Buick
    John Buick 2 months ago +1

    3500 dollars is nothing. Back in '94 I bought an Acer laptop that didn't even have a DVD or sound for 5700.

  • Mason
    Mason 2 months ago

    Ok now make it $2500 cheaper

  • Vũ Đức Anh
    Vũ Đức Anh 2 months ago

    What is the background music 0:46

  • Shakib M
    Shakib M 2 months ago

    It's a gaming router guys

  • Jordan Brown
    Jordan Brown 2 months ago +2

    VERY impressive little machine. Can't wait to see what else this company comes out with.

  • Deadhorse
    Deadhorse 2 months ago

    those headphones are amazing especially since you can just buy new cables if the cables break no need to solder anything just plug n play

  • Kevin Burrell
    Kevin Burrell 2 months ago

    Video gets messed up at 0:40

  • WalkinOSF
    WalkinOSF 2 months ago

    I think this might be inspired by this guys work. He's designing fanless PCs since 00'. Here's a video about his build:
    ru-clip.net/video/swav9Z1a5-g/video.html

  • Mark Bisson
    Mark Bisson 2 months ago

    I want one. I have thirty-five dollars, all I need is 99 more thirty-five dollars.