You've NEVER Heard of this AMAZING Computer - Compulab Airtop 3 Review

Share
Embed
  • Published on Jun 18, 2019
  • Get a $20 Off Perk on the Massdrop x Sennheiser PC37X Gaming Headset at dro.ps/linus-pc37xc2
    Save 10% at Ridge Wallets by using offer code LTTJune at www.ridgewallet.com/LTT
    The Compulab Airtop 3 is completely passively cooled while sporting an Intel i9-9900K and an Nvidia Quadro RTX 4000... sounds toasty. Have Compulab actually managed to keep it cool?
    Buy the Compulab Airtop 3:
    From Compulab: lmg.gg/airtop
    Discuss on the forum: linustechtips.com/main/topic/1074029-my-favorite-desktop-%E2%80%93-compulab-airtop-3-review/
    Our Affiliates, Referral Programs, and Sponsors: linustechtips.com/main/topic/75969-linus-tech-tips-affiliates-referral-programs-and-sponsors
    Get Private Internet Access today at geni.us/7lLuafK
    Displate metal posters: lmg.gg/displateltt
    Linus Tech Tips merchandise at www.LTTStore.com/
    Linus Tech Tips posters at crowdmade.com/linustechtips
    Our Test Benches on Amazon: www.amazon.com/shop/linustechtips
    Our production gear: geni.us/cvOS
    Twitter - twitter.com/linustech
    Facebook - facebook.com/LinusTech
    Instagram - instagram.com/linustech
    Twitch - www.twitch.tv/linustech
    Intro Screen Music Credit:
    Title: Laszlo - Supernova
    Video Link: ru-clip.net/video/PKfxmFU3lWY/video.html
    iTunes Download Link: itunes.apple.com/us/album/supernova/id936805712
    Artist Link: soundcloud.com/laszlomusic
    Outro Screen Music Credit: Approaching Nirvana - Sugar High ru-clip.net/user/approachingnirvana
  • Science & TechnologyScience & Technology

Comments • 2 142

  • Linus Tech Tips
    Linus Tech Tips  Month ago +57

    Save 10% at Ridge Wallets by using offer code LTTJune at www.ridgewallet.com/LTT

    • King Andrew
      King Andrew Month ago

      You guys have amazingly skilled editors and you shouldn't be using Premiere. The edits look like crap. Have you ever tried Vegas? It's so much better and has GPU accelerated exporting. Premiere is a joke. Literally doesn't even have proper clip-to-clip fades, it looks terrible.

    • Notzach
      Notzach Month ago

      I really wish i could meet you some day Linus because i have learned soo many different things from you videos such as SLI, and you really did motivate me in learning soo much more about computers, i even helped my friend pick out parts for his next desktop. Btw, i Think you are hilarious when you are building a pc with a guest.

    • MrD3rpGaming
      MrD3rpGaming Month ago

      U CANT TELL ME WHAT TO DO

    • nigling
      nigling Month ago

      can i still pick up the old 1060 Airtop2 for reduced price?

  • Hulkeq2
    Hulkeq2 19 hours ago

    No.

  • Goreface69
    Goreface69 2 days ago

    Huh. Do canadians say "lower" like "power"??

  • mp3talon
    mp3talon 3 days ago +1

    i fucking love fanless it's the future

  • Leslie Savege
    Leslie Savege 4 days ago

    I do like that Compulab will install Linux, if you want.
    You are right, I can get better gaming computer for the price. The choices are limited, like I would want a larger hard drive than they offer.

  • Jeremiah Cone
    Jeremiah Cone 4 days ago

    Can i use my minifridge to cool my desktop

  • A G
    A G 5 days ago

    What was the ambient temperature in your testing environment?

  • Tsuge Tune
    Tsuge Tune 6 days ago

    atleast i have trident 3

  • 72Yonatan
    72Yonatan 6 days ago

    How much would that same unit cost without the game cards?

  • Andrew Bedford
    Andrew Bedford 6 days ago

    That is astounding, thats all I can say really.

  • Bender the Offender
    Bender the Offender 11 days ago

    This compulab should be the standard for cooling and upgrade-ability for desktops.

  • ajbfwb
    ajbfwb 11 days ago

    2:49 I thought maybe you were expressing solidarity with Matt Lauer, the disgraced NBC dipshit they canned a coupla years back.

  • John Kon
    John Kon 12 days ago +2

    I have a 3k budget for a new work/game station but, I would do 3500 for this. Hope there's a Ryzen 3rd gen model coming though. Even at the same price, should have 64gb memory included!

  • Brett Schmitz Stream
    Brett Schmitz Stream 13 days ago +3

    Make a video explaining main differences between rtx 4000 and rtx 2080 and generally what an rtx 4000 is used for

  • IKO Ledvina
    IKO Ledvina 15 days ago

    Where's thunderbolt? :

  • leo myers
    leo myers 16 days ago

    HE WAS WATCHING TROPHY TRUCK RACE 2.28

  • CalculatinGenius
    CalculatinGenius 16 days ago +3

    If i saw this thing and didnt know what it was, i would have thought it was a low power server or something, not a core i9 and quadro capable of pumping hundreds of frames

  • Andrew Stearns
    Andrew Stearns 16 days ago

    Any idea how this would perform on data science type workflow? This thing looks pretty slick.

  • Francisco Viper Díaz
    Francisco Viper Díaz 17 days ago

    Thunderbolt...

  • Friedrich Lee
    Friedrich Lee 17 days ago

    Compulab: exists


    Beefy air cooler: aM I A jOKe To yOu?

  • Michael Fisher
    Michael Fisher 17 days ago

    designed by a cat

  • btje vtje
    btje vtje 19 days ago

    Why does he keep saying 'lauwer'🤣 thats dutch for lukewarm

  • Andy Jones
    Andy Jones 21 day ago

    It's a super cool pc no doubt, but honestly I'm more interested in the engineering behind it. To have designed and made such a small form factor pc and yet still keep the main components easily accessible, I can't even begin to imagine how many hours of work was put into the design.
    To the engineers at Compulab who worked on this beautiful machine, seriously well done!

    • Compulab
      Compulab 21 day ago +1

      Thank you for your kind words. It took about 3 years of research and development to make Airtop1. Then another year of optimization for Airtop2 (squeezing more DDR slots and improving the HDD cartridge mechanism and create a dedicated thermal zone for storage devices). Airtop3 took another year - improving power delivery to support Core-i9 and researching advanced thermal interface materials to increase thermal headroom.

  • DSM DALLAS 2
    DSM DALLAS 2 21 day ago

    This would be stupid cool in an RV or VAN rigs etc. WOW

  • DSM DALLAS 2
    DSM DALLAS 2 21 day ago

    WOW! Nice

  • VPXM
    VPXM 21 day ago

    $3500?!... and you only get one graphics card, and no expandability?
    I hate commercials.
    Another fun fact. Most "scientists" I know, are some of the poorest people on this planet.

  • VPXM
    VPXM 21 day ago

    Cool idea. Fun fact. In ten years, your big rig will probably still run fine. The other, will turn into a pancake, from constant daily "80c" heat. But hey, some people can afford switching their PCs every couple of years.

  • 송J1N洪
    송J1N洪 21 day ago

    Once I finish Senior High school and finish college and once I get my first decent paycheck in the point that I can sustain myself decently, I am legit buying this machine straight up, and I bet by that time (Around 2025-2027) the specs are gonna be even more-amazing, if I could I would buy this, it's fanless, it's engineered well and built well, and it outpaces it's weight class by so much, and I was blown away by the fact that it was ONLY $3500, like seriously, I could buy a new Mac Pro and get half the performance and worse cooling and less ports and less upgradability at around that cost.

    I can see this machine powering loads of offices around the world.

  • Ian Oliver
    Ian Oliver 22 days ago

    I have heard of it, if you count the previous version. It was actually exactly what I expected this video to be about from the title!

  • Hi Neil of 'Cidi Al-Masry' Sidi Al-Masri Sandage

    5:00 ~ I hope to be wrong. But that will be future cutting edge for decades. #NTSM, #ISO anyone, anyone?

  • hateeternalmaver
    hateeternalmaver 23 days ago

    Just when it started to sound interesting you mentioned the price... x_x
    Of course... why wouldn't it... xD

  • fellpower
    fellpower 24 days ago

    Why this passive stupidity is there anymore? The Fans are soo cheap and quiet this time. And IF u break something, u have to pay for special boards and so on, soooo muuuuch money.

    Yeah, if u earn millions a year, like Linus - its nothing.....

  • Silverbreaker
    Silverbreaker 24 days ago

    ...and i thought that you have in canada plenty of space available

  • Tim
    Tim 24 days ago

    Put a fan on it and overclock lol

  • Adam Zawadzki
    Adam Zawadzki 24 days ago

    THE PRICE IS JUST CRAZY, why pay that much better off building just a normal gaming pc

  • CamoAssassin00
    CamoAssassin00 24 days ago

    Smaller is not better, end of

  • Classic Faz
    Classic Faz 25 days ago

    Just wait till the Chinese get their hands on this!

  • MultiWirth
    MultiWirth 25 days ago

    That looks like an Thinclient but it isn´t lol

  • Flufflebut
    Flufflebut 25 days ago +13

    Man I love fanless design. No worrying about dust, no fan noise, and one less moving part (fan) to have to worry about. Plus it helps when you live North of the Wall.

  • Yeatzee Guitar
    Yeatzee Guitar 25 days ago

    How the heck do they not have more than two graphic card options?!? 1660ti and RTX4000 does not cover much.

  • J.D. Abbey
    J.D. Abbey 26 days ago

    Banana for scale? Really?

  • Denver Donate
    Denver Donate 26 days ago

    For many years I used to upgrade my PC regularly but the value of everything I purchased seemed to drop like a brick the minute I made my purchase. I don't ever upgrade anymore unless I really require it.

  • DerpyDumpling601
    DerpyDumpling601 26 days ago

    It's magic...

  • Zackary Bennett
    Zackary Bennett 26 days ago

    Something neat I saw- apples to apples cheaper than their Airtop 2 builds.

  • Rafael Coleto
    Rafael Coleto 27 days ago +1

    Damn expensive, but very impressive!

  • Jarod Skaff
    Jarod Skaff 27 days ago

    I would've liked this PC if the Graphics card had Dual Link DVI-D instead of display ports barfing up the alley.

  • donny dutchmen
    donny dutchmen 28 days ago

    Why do they make these PC's so unrealistically expensive? If they want me to not build a PC myself, then give me a good financial reason for it. Maybe it's cooler, so what? And its on my desk.. so what difference does it make that it's smaller? I have no intentions of carrying it around. I know that maybe my complains are personally. But this thing has nothing better for me to offer than i could build myself, besides the temperature and size maybe. But that is absolutely not making me want to buy one. If they could do this in a laptop, yes!! That would be a big reason to buy one for me. I think they should have chosen the laptop market instead. Because that's the place where we really do need massive heat solutions!
    Conclusion:
    Indeed very impressive but a solution to a problem that does not exist.

  • Machine Mechine
    Machine Mechine 28 days ago

    If you love it put a fan on it.

  • Reprisal
    Reprisal 28 days ago

    Down vote for trash 18:9 aspect ratio.

  • Holret
    Holret 28 days ago

    6:46 And stop video and resume daily computer operations.

  • Diomedes Ignacio Domínguez Ureña

    Please, review the Lenovo Legion Y740 and Y540, specially the later.

  • Jimbob 2Hats
    Jimbob 2Hats 28 days ago

    Amazing, have been looking for something like this for aaaaages, was gutted when the inferno didn't go ahead - with the backing and proper (LTT etc.) community support they could hopefully start to bring the price down and really tap into the gaming market. You only really need the custom GPU (until we find out how to hack at home - new LTT vid?!) and CPU if you don't want to de-lid yourself. With dropping to the i7-9700 to save $200 and leaving the SSD, RAM and WiFi/BT to source yourself (for c. half the price) you can get a version with the Quadro RTX 4000 for $2,600 - now that's a tempting silent rig!

  • Mike Soda
    Mike Soda 29 days ago

    Still looks like a UPS lol.

  • Envyy
    Envyy 29 days ago

    For me to buy the airtop 3 I have to sell my dads $1000 gaming pc, my desk, my Xbox one and my mums hp laptop

  • Mihnea Lazăr
    Mihnea Lazăr 29 days ago +1

    Only a USB-C? That’s not cool

  • txshon Tseng
    txshon Tseng 29 days ago

    mac pro should be like this

  • Kie
    Kie 29 days ago

    I came sceptical I left impressed.

    • DOGMA1138
      DOGMA1138 28 days ago +1

      Where did you get my sex tape?

  • toronado455
    toronado455 29 days ago

    Thanks for reviewing this.

  • flexopuppy
    flexopuppy 29 days ago

    Be nice if you offered products for us Canadians.

  • Pianoboy913
    Pianoboy913 29 days ago

    You lost me at the end there

  • BITCOINFTW
    BITCOINFTW 29 days ago

    I would buy that in a second as a gaming rig if the front didn't look straight out of the 90s.Doesn't need RGB, just not....that

  • Jake Gregos
    Jake Gregos 29 days ago +1

    you can order it with a 1660Ti

  • Denshi-Oji
    Denshi-Oji 29 days ago

    Not for me, but I can see it does fit a market need. Not a bad PC.

  • Henrik Carl Johan Peltonen

    Editing on this was so seamless and pro that I had to comment. A+

  • C0ffee
    C0ffee Month ago

    My GE73 Raider VFR7 laptop screen hinge juste grip & broke. (never see this happen of any other laptop...). Whatever... If you plan to make a video DIY how to transform a gaming laptop in a "quiet" desktop computer... contact me 😔

  • Stef Ad
    Stef Ad Month ago

    Enough with the USB "Taipei's"!!!

  • RetroTechquickie
    RetroTechquickie Month ago

    "Workstation"

  • WupWup
    WupWup Month ago +2

    Honestly not that expensive imo.
    Did a quick build on their site to compare a "low end" version. i7 9700, 32 gb ram, 1TB nvme, gtx 1660ti vs roughly same parts in sweden (1660ti not for sale, switched to 2060).
    $1935 vs ~$1850.

  • Seagull 78
    Seagull 78 Month ago +5

    "Let's see if lightning can strike twice."
    Me, an intellecutal: Lightning actually strikes more than twice. It strikes all the time.

    • Seagull 78
      Seagull 78 23 days ago

      @beardalaxy it- the- the comment was a joke

    • beardalaxy
      beardalaxy 26 days ago

      the phrase refers to lightning striking the same place twice but okay

  • Matthew Doherty
    Matthew Doherty Month ago

    The CRINGE is real when the hit extreme, expensive PC with a HAMMER!

  • SnowMoonFang
    SnowMoonFang Month ago

    That's insane! they really thought of anything in making it!

  • Slytherin Reviews
    Slytherin Reviews Month ago

    now I want one of these even though it's going to cost me over $5,000 USD cause of my gaming and 3D Modeling that I do

  • AmrikOtw.
    AmrikOtw. Month ago

    Tell me y he look like mrsavage 5-7 years from now

  • Night Hawk
    Night Hawk Month ago

    Perfect living room pc

  • NWinnStudio
    NWinnStudio Month ago

    Tfw you aren't immediately sure if PC or UPS...

  • lordvesel
    lordvesel Month ago +1

    The “Neck Hammock” ad I got before the vid was the most hilarious thing I’ve seen in a while. Amazing.

  • audax989
    audax989 Month ago

    Would love to see a more consumer based model.

  • Double tap Productions

    Even if this ran cooler than a water cooled rig I'd rather have the water cooled beast lol

  • Cedric Villani
    Cedric Villani Month ago

    That's nice, actually there heat tests are with all SDD/HDD outside of the case(wink) so they stripped the casing off the Quattro to use the case as a heatsink ? I like this little guy and the fact it's not called a NUC or Cranny . Super quiet virtualization machine

  • Christopher Perisho

    You can tell this computer is for engineer types, I haven't seen a computer include RS-232 "Com Ports" in quite a while.

  • Sam Chitgopekar
    Sam Chitgopekar Month ago

    you could get this, a keyboard, mouse, headset, desk and a monitor for cheaper than Apple's new display...

  • Diversifried
    Diversifried Month ago +1

    just some small criticism here, nothing major. OPEN YOUR MOUTH WHEN YOU TALK. Talking through your teeth is a complete distraction bro. Keep up the great vids.

  • Lamron333
    Lamron333 Month ago

    Alex should be a "behind the scenes" person,... Please linus, hear my plea!

  • Cloneos
    Cloneos Month ago

    That sketch with Riley makes me want a spin-off of The Office set in the LTT offices

  • Gary Walker
    Gary Walker Month ago

    Cool. Genuinely cool. Site even recognises I need to pay UK vat when I spec up ...

  • hua zong
    hua zong Month ago

    Where is the PSU?

  • Wacky Wicket
    Wacky Wicket Month ago

    tl;dr unless you're living in the _a quiet place_ cinematic universe and want to play videogames, buy this PC.

  • Captn RAMBO
    Captn RAMBO Month ago

    😔 they want me broke

  • Matthew Cusanelli
    Matthew Cusanelli Month ago +1

    That is actually truly amazing. I really really hope to see more of this in the future.
    Also Alex is amazing as a host. Hate to say it, but i really prefer him over everyone else. All of the facts, none of the cringe.

  • Dennis Premoli
    Dennis Premoli Month ago

    why when we talk about amazingly designed and innovative designed pcs we tremble at the 3500$, but are completely fine with a 3500$ thermal throttling laptop by apple?

  • Central_Fire154
    Central_Fire154 Month ago

    Where's Linus?

  • reggiep75
    reggiep75 Month ago

    'Yeah dudes!! This is my new rig that doubles as a heating unit.... LEGIT!'
    I do suspect that some external fans and piping could well keep you warm.

  • Studio McCutch
    Studio McCutch Month ago +2

    Is there a noticeable speed difference with a 2018 Mac Mini, with one 16gb stick of ram vs two 8gb sticks?

    • Ali
      Ali 26 days ago

      Depends on your use. The 8GB of memory will only be slower if you have lots of programmes running or loads of tabs open on your browser. For most people 8GB is fine but the extra headroom with 16GB can be good if you multi-task a lot or run intensive programmes often.

  • Orkan
    Orkan Month ago

    i like the way that like, different writers are getting a chance to have face time on these videos. makes me happy

  • Nano Mine
    Nano Mine Month ago +8

    To be honest this is actually very well priced for what it is capable of.
    I would gladly pay the price if I needed something like this.

    • beardalaxy
      beardalaxy 25 days ago

      @Ali i just think it would be better if they had a base price that was a bit steeper and then relatively normal prices for the other parts

    • Ali
      Ali 26 days ago +4

      @beardalaxy That's always the case when you consider a prebuilt pc to a custom one. Considering the engineering that went into the design of this particular PC though, I think the price is pretty well justified.

    • beardalaxy
      beardalaxy 26 days ago

      if you go look at the part list though, a lot of it is pretty overpriced.

  • Henrik Tudborg
    Henrik Tudborg Month ago

    Hey Siri, more Alex please

  • Ronald Ong
    Ronald Ong Month ago

    love at first sight :)

  • mark grant
    mark grant Month ago

    I’ve been looking at fanless builds, I think we need a standard for big heat exchanges fitting in cases, and solid air vented cases. All the tech is here, just need to standardise and make up the parts. I think many people are in a position to be wanting to build a fanless workstation, and it is doable, you just hit a wall with parts, functionality, temps, size, logistical issues, which mean you end up compromising specs or adding advanced solutions to a costly build. But while this Airtop product is small and powerful, I think you could get the price down for a mid-range if it was standardised for off-the-shelf parts.

  • The Great Disillusionist

    That's actually quite impressive.

  • beluv
    beluv Month ago

    "Insert sponsor segue here."